We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and very good Location”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antique Hotel
Ranked #139 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Safe and very good Location”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

DP MEIDINE from FRANCE ( period 27 -> 30 of JAN / 2013 )
Hello travellers !
The climate in Hanoi in this period was wonderful , agreeable for me and Gia Bao Grand Hotel set me feel more at my ease .
My room was Royal Deluxe, room # 301 was spacious , clean and comfortable , decor was beautiful . A/C, water, shower,\ & WC run well. Hotel was noiseless. Breakfast Buffet was very basic.
Location: from hotel , by walking 5 min. you will reach to Hoan Kiem lake and 10 min you will reach to Ancient Quarter , it is safe to walk around in this area.
Highly recommend Gia Bao Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dongpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    106
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
46
83
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Really nice hotel, we stayed for 2night. The location was excellent 5min walk from the lake. The staff were fantastic, really helpful.

I don't agree with the one of the poor review give to this hotel, we originally told the hotel we were going to check in at 23:00 but we arrive at 1am, we rang ahead and the staff were good enough to waited up till we arrived and even arranged some food for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishanthaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel and were really happy with the service and level of accommodation we received. The rooms were very well kitted out with fridge, kettle and a TV. Staff are very friendly and helped with any information you may need about places to see in Hanoi or for booking taxis or onward travel. The location is also really great within a few minutes walk from the Hoan Kien lake and the water puppetry theatre. Breakfast was simple but good and we would definitely be back next time we visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I made my reservation has been confirmed by them, but when I got to my host they said the hotel was full, apologized and wanted to take me to another hotel. I declined the offer and I even tried another hotel and asked for my money back. The manager though educated could not explain what happened. I got a bad impression and I think that the most absurd thing that can happen in a hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank SamBarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in Hanoi, about 5 mins walk from the lake, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the accom was nice, clean and large.

I would recommend the Gia Bao Grand for a stay as it was definately good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krismac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great little hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi. Just a short walk to HoanLake. Our room was the Presidential suite on the top floor and was huge by hotel standards.The room had every thing in it you would ever want and the price was great, Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it.The staff were friendly and very helpful.Money changing was nearly compatable with the banks so saved a lot of running around.Great little supermarket (very small) just outside the front door which sold beer and soft drinks ect. Would stay at this hotel again if in Hanoi

Room Tip: For a few dollars more you can have a huge room with all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redsquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are so many hotels in this area, i had already stayed at their sister hotel, just down the end of this street, this is only a small hotel, however the rooms were of great value and had all one required.The thing we liked was the position, it was close to everything and such a short walk to the lake , with so much shopping in the near area..the staff were all so friendly and went out of their way to help.. yes we will stay here again...also a great pick up service from airport cost $20

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t0macti0ndivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.0 mi away
Antique Hanoi Hotel
Antique Hanoi Hotel
#310 of 580 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quoc Hoa Hotel Hanoi
Quoc Hoa Hotel Hanoi
#138 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#164 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#107 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
#157 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Property: Antique Hotel
Address: 23 Lo Su Street, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Gia Bao Grand Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel consists of 38 elegant rooms and conveniently situated in the heart of Vietnam's capital, just 2 minutes walks to famous Opera House and 5 minutes walks to the legendary Hoan Kiem Lake, in the of business districts is ideally for business and leisure guests alike. The Conifer Restaurant showcases both international and Vietnam cuisine utilizing regional ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing