We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare. Worst experience of my life!! AVOID!!!”

Hanoi Golden Time Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Golden Time Hotel
Ranked #107 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare. Worst experience of my life!! AVOID!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This hotel almost ruined my trip. Friends of ours were approached by someone from the hotel and agreed to stay there - another group of us then met up with them. We booked a Halong Bay cruise through the hotel, with a price guarantee by the tour guide. When we came back from the cruise dissatisfied and attempted to negotiate on the price we were met with rude, defensive behavior. We decided not to spend the next 2 nights at the hotel but when we attempted to check out we were physically threatened - with management attempting to lock us inside the premises. They ended up charging us for the 2 nights we have stayed, the cruise and the 2 nights we didn't stay. But when your in a life threatening situation like that you just want to get out of there as soon as possible. We left in shock and decided to leave Hanoi immediately and traveled straight to the airport. Please for your own sake do not trust them!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanhuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    14
See reviews for
3
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The staff at the Golden Time Hotel in Hanoi tried to scam us from the very beginning. They lied to us about being affiliated with Sinh Cafe (a reputable tour company) so that we would book an extortionate tour to Halong Bay with them. We realised it was a lie, and booked our tour for much cheaper elsewhere, and when they realised that we did not want to book with them they told us we had 5 mins to pack our bags and leave and refused to give us our passports back for a long time, laughing at us and being really horrible. We are 3 young girls from England and all we did was not let ourselves be scammed. We had other bad experiences in the one night we stayed here but the guidelines of this post stipulate that reports of violent activity will not be published.
Please stay away!!

  • Liked — Free internet access
  • Disliked — The degrading way we were treated by staff
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vietnamobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

One big scam. They work together with cheating taxi-drivers and Airport touts.
Different additional charges when checking out. Very agressive reaction, when you refuse to book your Halong bay or other trips at the Hotelreception.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unpolished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Beware of the Golden Time Hotel, the staff are all scammers.

Be careful when somebody approaches you from inside the airport and offers hotel transfers. Chances are they are connected with hotels who are stealing guests from other hotels.

Upon arrival in Hanoi, we were approached by a guy who offered transfers to our hotel Golden Sun Hotel. Upon reaching the city, the taxi stopped in a very narrow street, then a guy entered the van and talked to the driver in Vietnamese. Then the guy said his boss called to say that our hotel is fully booked and that they will transfer us to a sister hotel the GOLDEN TIME HOTEL. I was furious and I was asking the guy why they gave our bookings away when we have made our booking 1 month ago. He just kept saying not to worry coz they will transfer us to another hotel that is nicer than our hotel and that they will give us discount. So the taxi took us to the GOLDEN TIME HOTEL.

Upon arrival at the hotel the frontdesk guy started asking how long we will be staying in Hanoi and where we booked our Halong Bay tour, were we will be staying for the rest of our stay in Hanoi. We got irritated with his questions so we said can he check us in now since we are tired from the flight. That’s when the frontdesk guy started saying that he will give us discount and deduct the deposit that we made. So we showed him our voucher that says we are fully paid. And after seeing the receipt the frontdesk guy pretended to call somebody on his mobile, then told us that his boss called again to say that the Golden Sun will be able to accommodate us now.

That’s when it finally sinked in that they are trying to steal our booking from the Golden Sun, and that they are scammers.

Then we demanded that they take us back to Golden Sun, so they hailed a taxi and assured us that the hotel will pay for the taxi. Upon reaching the Golden Sun the taxi was asking for the payment and said that the GOLDEN TIME didn’t pay for our fare. After hearing our story, the Golden Sun Hotel paid for the taxi and confirmed that we have been cheated by the GOLDEN TIME hotel.

So BEWARE OF THE GOLDEN TIME HOTEL HANOI, they are cheaters.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioj_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hanoi Golden Time Hotel in April 2009. The rooms are acceptable, the beds are not the most comfortable, but it is clean, has air con and en-suite bathroom. It is situated in the Old quarter and very central for shopping, sight seeing etc. Breakfast is included in the rate, which is very reasonable. The biggest plus for us was the excellent travel advice and service they were able to offer us. They planned a 10 day trip very effeciently and at an extremely reasonable rate. Everything was spot on, and it certainly made our stay in northern Vietnam. We did not have to worry about any arrangements. We were able to safely leave luggage at the hotel when we went on overnight visits out of Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southAfricaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Golden Time Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Golden Time Hotel

Property: Hanoi Golden Time Hotel
Address: 6C Duong Thanh Street | Hoan Kiem Dist. Hanoi VN, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing