We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French cuisine excellence in Hanoi”

La Badiane restaurant
Ranked #55 of 2,418 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Founded in December 2008, La Badiane -French for Star Anise spice- is heralding its claim to be one of the best restaurants in Vietnam, dedicated to fusion of flavors and international gastronomy. As reference, La Badiane is rated top 500 Restaurants in Asia by The Miele Guide, has been recommended by The New York Times, and has received 5 consecutive Certificates of Excellence by Trip Advisor -since 2011. Indeed, with more than 300 upvotes as “EXCELLENT”, La Badiane knows a high rating deserved to top-end restaurants. Yet, if most is about tastes, fusion of flavors and international gastronomy, great attention is also constantly paid to the quality of the service provided as well as to the overall atmosphere, so guests have a unique culinary experience by enjoying every aspect of their meal. When coming in, one’s attention is instantly caught by the multitude of perfumes & aromas flowing out from the open front kitchen. The entrance corridor planted with harmonious luxuriant vegetation leads you towards the heart of the restaurant, and its glass covered patio. Surrounded by carefully chosen leaf plants, walls predominantly white, and large B&W photo portraits, the place provides for a true feeling of calm and elegance. The combination of tablecloths, two-color curtains, and the green vegetation gathers all conditions to let guests’ visual and gustative senses fully express themselves. The attentive and discreet lightening in the evening makes it very romantic, and live classic music concerts every Wednesday evening levels-up La Badiane restaurant to turn it into a complete place. On the upper floor, two rooms available provide for perfect intimate spaces, appropriate for guests either looking for privacy, or mid-size groups wishing to enjoy a private lunch or dinner on a special occasion. As opposed to the ground floor and its B&W photos, the first floor presents large-size color portraits. A must-see.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went to Badiane twice during our holidays in Hanoi.
Even though we were enjoying street local food we needed a respite after 10 days in Cambodia and Vietnam.
We did dinner first, which turned out to be a very pleasant meal. Only marred by the fact we got a table in the outside court which was a bit hot and lacked character for this type of restaurant. It was a pricey meal (around $160 for family of four). Still worth it every penny.
Lunch was an even better experience. They offer a set lunch menu which is better value than dinner with same quality. This was a smashing meal. The interior is really charming, very well decorated.
Service outstanding.
I would no doubt come back to La Badiane if i were to visit Hanoi again.

Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBadiane, Manager at La Badiane restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Jose Luis G,

La Badiane and I have been pleased to welcome you and your family at La Badiane twice, and it was a pleasure to listen you speak french as my spanish is a bit rusty. And I thank you for taking time to share your whole experience of La Badiane on TripAdvisor.
We offer both dinner menu and lunch menu and for those two we try to keep a high quality for food and service at different price and quantity. I am happy that you enjoy your both meals and your kids their Tagliatelles Carbonara. For the table outside, i am sorry that is altered a bit your experience, as all our table inside with A.C was already booked.

I will be pleased to welcome you and your family at La Badiane for your next visit in Hanoi.

Best regards,
Nicolas Miloe,
Manager, La Badiane Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 338 of 927 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We learned of this restaurant from trip Advisor and our hotel vouched for its quality. We were very pleased with our three course meal - a wonderful blend of flavors. Spices and textures used especially well. My only problem was I ate too much! Would love to visit again on my next trip to Vietnam!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBadiane, Manager at La Badiane restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Smilintraveler,

Firstly thank you to taking time to share your dining experience at La Badiane on Tripadvisor. The Chef will appreciate that you have enjoyed his dishes creation and blend of flavours, spices and texture, as they are really important in his cuisine.

We will be pleased to welcome you at La Badiane for your next trip in Vietnam.

Regards,
Nicolas Miloe,
Manager, La Badiane Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I and my wife came to La Badiane as a suggest from theW and we were totally happy. I chose Memory of love for our anniversary.

Happy with the ambient, the food and useful staff.

FYI, dont forget talking to the chef, he's nice and will give you good advice for pairing wine ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBadiane, Manager at La Badiane restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Nam V,

We have been pleased to welcome you and your friend at La Badiane. Thank you to take time to share your experience on TripAdvisor as your review is useful to us.
La Badiane and his staff are happy that you enjoy your food and the service and we will keep going this way.

We are looking forward to welcome soon at La Badiane.

Regards,
Nicolas Miloe,
Manager, La Badiane Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this restaurant on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and because we wanted some European flavours on our plate that night. We weren't disappointed and came away with very full bellies. We didn't even make it to dessert!

I ordered foie gras two ways and that was an absolute delight - even my husband who does not like the stuff was stealing mouthfuls off my plate! My husband had a salmon starter which was yummy and we both had the duck with pea puree and duck fat potatoes for main. *drool* Our son had a steak which the waitress suggested he have with fries rather than the fancier menu version and that was much appreciated. The steak was well cooked and kept him happy.

Generally, the service was very smooth and conscientious. The only quibble I'd mention - and it's just a suspicion - is that we were put in a small, somewhat isolated room and I'm guessing that was because we had a child in tow. I know restaurants face a difficult issue here - one diner's treasure is another diner's brat - but it certainly reduced the potential ambience of the evening for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBadiane, Manager at La Badiane restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear VenturerSydney,

I was pleased to meet you and your family and we are glad that you came to La Badiane for dinner. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor as your comments are really important to us.
The Chef and his staff will know that you, your son and husband have really enjoyed their meal and even success your husband to try the Foie Gras which is a must at La Badiane.
About the ambiance and the fact that you came with your son, there were no intention to separate or isolate you from other guests, as La Badiane is Child Friendly and we purpose french fries, carbonara, bolognese,.., to satisfy kid's palate. Actually in July it is quiet and some days we have a few guests and they choose where to have a seat, outside or inside in one of the 3 rooms with A.C.

La Badiane is looking forward to have an other opportunity to welcome you and offer a nice dinner ambiance.

Nicolas Miloe,
Manager,
Labadiane Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Calm place in a busy city. Good variety of excellently cooked food which is French influenced, but always with a dash of Vietnam, bien sur.

Thank pagoda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBadiane, Manager at La Badiane restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Pagoda2014,

La badiane would like to thank you to take time to share your dinner experience at La Badiane on TripAdvisor.
The Chef, Benjamin Rascalou, have created his menu from his french formation and allied to his 12 years of living in Vietnam and his love for spicies from all around the world.

We are pleased you have enjoyed your dinner and we hope to welcome you soon at La Badiane.

Nicolas Miloe,
Manager,
La Badiane Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Badiane restaurant also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to La Badiane restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing