We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French Meal”
Review of La Badiane

La Badiane
Ranked #47 of 2,293 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Created in December, 2008, by three French friends, Minh Spielmann, Benjamin Rascalou & Anthony Balenci, La Badiane -French for the Star Anise spice- is heralding its claim to be one of the best restaurants in Vietnam dedicated to fusion of flavors and international gastronomy. Surrounded by harmonious leaf plants, & walls predominantly white alternating with carefully chosen vivid colors, the place provides for a true feeling of calm and elegance, which gathers the best conditions to let your senses express themselves. When coming in, an open-sky corridor planted with luxuriant vegetation leads you towards the heart of the restaurant. One’s attention will be instantly caught by the multitude of perfumes & aromas flowing out of the open front kitchen. Then, depending on your mood & weather permitting, you can have your meal in the airy Patio, calm, convivial & surrounded by photographic art works. For a more intimate setting with warm colors you can choose one of the three air-conditioned rooms located between the ground and the first floor. At la Badiane, all is about food but there’s also great attention paid to the service and the overall atmosphere, so that we make sure you enjoy every aspect of your meal. La Badiane, top 500 Restaurants in Asia by Miele Guide and “Certificate of Excellence” by Trip Advisor in 3 consecutive years 2012, 2013 and 2014 will never fail to satisfy you. Moreover, at this very same “picky” travel community, there were more than 300 upvotes as “EXCELLENT” for La Badiane – a formidable rating which can only be seen for top-end restaurants.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent French Meal”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We found this place by accident at 10pm when we arrived in Hanoi, and they very generously left the kitchen open a bit longer for us so that we could have dinner there. We sat upstairs in a private room, and it was wonderful.
Everyone's meal was cooked to perfection.
The duck, beef and prawn lasagne in particular were superb.
Definitely worth a visit, much pricer than your traditional restaurant in Vietnam, but worth every cent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 145gemmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    226
    77
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Simply Divine With A French Colonial Twist”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After a fantastic meal at the Green Mango this restaurant was recommended to us by them. It was a sumptuous treat. Everything was delicious, the presentation was perfect and the service was impeccable. Particularly recommended is the duck which was extremely tender. The decor is also very refined and welcoming with the tables arranged in assorted rooms so there is quite a high degree of privacy. We visited on our last night and it was a fitting finale to an awesome holiday in Vietnam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea-Young28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool take on French cuisine”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was glad that this place put some Vietnamese influences into their French food. The duck confit I had came with rice, various vegetables and a slightly tangy sauce, which made for an interesting combination I hadn't seen before. The other dishes were flavourful and well presented too. The set meals are good value for visitors, considering a three-course meal like that would probably cost twice as much back home and the portions would be smaller. The ambience is laid back and not snobbish, always a pleasant surprise in a French restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The reviews I read are true”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I was a little skeptical but after I tried the food, wow.... it's fantastic. Everything was great but the duck breast..... so tender and the sauce was perfect. Worth every penny. I'm so glad we tried it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good French food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We enjoyed our French cuisine in this elegant restaurant. Attentive service, high quality food and relaxing environment. Glad we came to this restaurant and it was a memorable experience. We thought the beef was the most delicious dish of all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SimoneYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Badiane also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to La Badiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing