We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Badiane

La Badiane
Ranked #46 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Created in December, 2008, by three French friends, Minh Spielmann, Benjamin Rascalou & Anthony Balenci, La Badiane -French for the Star Anise spice- is heralding its claim to be one of the best restaurants in Vietnam dedicated to fusion of flavors and international gastronomy. Surrounded by harmonious leaf plants, & walls predominantly white alternating with carefully chosen vivid colors, the place provides for a true feeling of calm and elegance, which gathers the best conditions to let your senses express themselves. When coming in, an open-sky corridor planted with luxuriant vegetation leads you towards the heart of the restaurant. One’s attention will be instantly caught by the multitude of perfumes & aromas flowing out of the open front kitchen. Then, depending on your mood & weather permitting, you can have your meal in the airy Patio, calm, convivial & surrounded by photographic art works. For a more intimate setting with warm colors you can choose one of the three air-conditioned rooms located between the ground and the first floor. At la Badiane, all is about food but there’s also great attention paid to the service and the overall atmosphere, so that we make sure you enjoy every aspect of your meal. La Badiane, top 500 Restaurants in Asia by Miele Guide and “Certificate of Excellence” by Trip Advisor in 3 consecutive years 2012, 2013 and 2014 will never fail to satisfy you. Moreover, at this very same “picky” travel community, there were more than 300 upvotes as “EXCELLENT” for La Badiane – a formidable rating which can only be seen for top-end restaurants.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I read reviews on trip advisor and thought we would give it a go and we were amazed by the food here. Best French restaurant we've been to, the food was sublime and the service excellent. If we're ever in Hanoi again we're definitely coming back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexpetrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    219
    77
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“why is this restaurant only ranked 6th in hanoi???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

i wasn't expecting this small, unassuming restaurant to serve the best french food in all of vietnam, but it does. my fiancé, who's very fussy with his food (a chef) agrees.

service was tip-top. we got a glimpse of their kitchen and despite being busy, it's still very clean.
however, if you're looking for a restaurant that's beautifully decorated then this restaurant is not for you. it's an old house converted into a restaurant, and their ambiance is not their main selling point. but we came here for the food, not for the lighting and the furnitures so we have no complaints.

i do not agree with some of the reviews here stating that this place is expensive. with the quality of the dishes they prepare for you, i think their prices are not only reasonable - it's actually inexpensive!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divainthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth The Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Am somewhat surprised by the number of reviews either mentioning or complaining about the perceived high cost of La Badiane. We just returned from an exquisite meal at La Badiane with five friends and while the cost was relatively high for Vietnam, it was more than reasonable for the quality. Our cost was $48 per person which included appetizer, wine, beer and desert for a meal that each of considered world class. The atmosphere is not the greatest, but the food is.

On a side note and as an alert, we tried to make a reservation to return on our last night in Hanoi, but could not as the La Badiane is closed on Sundays. We went to the Green Tangerine instead, and it was fair at best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidgpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“High expectations not met.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tried this place for lunch ($15 for starter+main++dessert) but mainly disappointed with the food. Presentation was excellent but the flavours fell short. Service was the highlight of our meal.

Crab roll - our 2nd favourite amongst the dishes we tried (despite the thousand island dressing sauce used as a garnish).
Duck rillette - good example of the dish
Curry mussel - this dish didn't come together for either of us as the sauce was too thick and flavours muted. Really needed some acidity.
Beef carpaccio - solid but not exceptional dish. Would be interesting to see more imagination with local ingredients to bring a new twist to this classic
Sea bass - didn't expect this to be battered and deep fried. Fish didn't smell fresh.
Caramel banana - caramel sauce was overly bitter (the ginger didn't help)
Pudding - expected something creamier but ended up with a fried pudding cake. Flavours were ok.
Gelato - alright

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for intimate dinner dates / special occasions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The pro's:

FOOD:
The food was beautifully presented! The dishes looked more like works of art than food!
Among the 6 of us, 3 ordered the 6-course "degustation" menu (that got us a complimentary bottle of champagne), 2 ordered the 4-course menu, and 1 had a vegetarian lasagna.

We were all very satisfied with the presentation and the taste of all the dishes! The portions looked small but with 4-6 courses, as well as complimentary bread, we became full very quickly. We found all the dishes (especially the desserts) to be wonderfully delectable!

The wines (we ordered a red and a rose) were quite good, too!

SERVICE:
Attentive staff during dinner. They spoke good English!

The con's:

SERVICE:
I arrived 15 minutes earlier than our reservation time of 7:30pm. The waitress got me seated quickly, but then she disappeared, not asking whether I wanted to see the menu, or a drink, etc. It was quite strange! Our table was upstairs and there was no wait staff in sight, so after waiting around for 10 minutes, I walked downstairs to ask for a menu and order myself a drink. It was not a busy night, either!

This is the only "con" with the regards to the service, though. The rest of the night, our waitresses were very attentive.

DECORATION:
The downstairs section near the washroom has a cafeteria-feel to it. It's surprising as I would've expected much better decor for an expensive restaurant. The photos on the wall look like Instagram photos taken by a kid, which is just bizarre given the high-class French feel they're going for.

WASHROOM:
There is only 1 unisex washroom. The good news is that it is clean.

AMBIANCE:
Our table was upstairs in a very stuffy room. I suppose it was cold so the small windows were closed. Half way through dinner, it got so stuffy that we turned on the ceiling fan!

The room is small and would be ideal for an intimate dinner date.

OVERALL:
Due to the high price, I would only come back here for special occasions and perhaps on a weekday, not a weekend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surgasempurna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Badiane also viewed

 

Been to La Badiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing