We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked in and out in 60 seconds”
Review of Hanoi Flag Tower

Hanoi Flag Tower
Ranked #40 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This place was built between 1805 and 1812 under King Gia Long and is over 2 centuries old. It resembles an old stone fortress and has steps leading to the top where one can get a good view of the city. There are old cannon sitting at the base of the place at grand level.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Walked in and out in 60 seconds”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As a keen photographer I had seen some great pictures from this museum. I bought my ticket, paid the extra 20,000vnd for my camera, walked in only to be told to put my camera bag in a locker! Consequently I refused, tried to explain it had my camera gear in it, they were not interested. So I asked form my money back and left.

Helpful?
Thank ChilliLOUNGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    167
    120
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Just a flag tower, but very symbolic”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yes, this is just a old flag tower, but this is very symbolic of Hanoi and remind you of the Hanoi's old time. Just drop by and see on the way to the places around. I love this place. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unimpressive flag tower”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Once you've looked at the unimpressive flag tower, walked up it and then wandered around the old military weaponry below it's time to head home. There isn't much else to do and a visit should take little longer than thirty minutes. If you are interested in old military weaponry from the Vietnam War and have already visited the War Remnants Museum in Saigon then the collection here will be underwhelming. However, only here can you find the actual tank that famously smashed through the gates of the Independence Palace in Saigon, now the Reunification Palace, signally the end of hostilities between North and South Vietnam. This is this attractions saving grace in my eyes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KingyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of good places for kids in Hanoi”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Couple of days ago, I visited this tower and the millitary museum just next to the flag tower. The tower is practically located inside the garden of the museum. During this season, fall, the weather is so good to take kids outside. In this sense, it is the perfect place for kids. There is nothing inside the tower itself, but kids really likes to climb the compact stairs to the top and enjoy the scene from the tower. Futher more, there are some exhibitions like airplanes, weapons used and taken during the past American war outside the museum. They are interesting enough to attract kid's attentions. Definitely it's free.(Of course, there is the admission fee for the museum itself.) One more information you shouldn't miss. From the flag tower, you can see the old citadel. That is the imperial citadel of Thang Long, which is one of the world cultural heritages. This place is worth of a visit. It's serene and beautiful to take a walk. The museum and the citadel, both have lunch break. If you want to visit those places, check the time and days before heading there. They are closed 1 or 2 days a week.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just a flag tower”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Its just a flag tower and you can see it when passing by on a cab. Not worth visiting alone unless you visit the surrounding attractions. Be careful when you take cabs around the area as we were cheated by one. Make sure you take the reputable ones such as Hanoi Tourist and Malinh.

Helpful?
Thank SamsulAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi Flag Tower also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Flag Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing