We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #99 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Happy in Hanoi”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Great staff helped to make our stay memorable. All were very obliging and helpful. The breakfast was good - as were all meals at this hotel. Definitely would stay again,

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    473
    121
    22
    6
See reviews for
116
362
94
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This hotel is a good friendly hotel two minutes from the train station which is excellent if you are going onto Sapa by train. A tip for that is to make sure you have a sleeping cabin in the middle of the train carriage as we had one at the front right over the wheels going there and didn't sleep a wink. On way back we were in the middle and slept like babies.
We exchanged currencies from us$ to Dong on four occasions. Twice the lady at the front desk, when challenged about the rate said the currency rate had changed overnight and that they had not yet updated the Board! On challenging her this morning 15 nov, she backed down and paid over the extra 100,000 dong.......only $5 I know, but it is theft nevertheless. I did not challenge her the first time, so presumably she pocketed the money for herself.
Another thing to be aware of is agree taxi fare before you go into it as some move the meter by honking the horn.....seriously!
Having said all that Hanoi is a brilliant place to visit as is Halong Bay.
Ps if you want to sunbathe and swim you can pay $15 to use Hiltons facilities

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHLG, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your alarming experience in changing foreign currency at the hotel. Thorough investigation has revealed several breaches of the strict procedures in place at the hotel for changing foreign currency. The purpose of the exchange rate board displayed prominently at the counter is to ensure the awareness of the guest about the current daily exchange rate for total transparency for the guest and to be used as the exchange rate by the cashier. For every transaction, a detailed foreign exchange voucher must be prepared and signed by both parties. I have discovered this was not done in your case.
It saddens us to discover people you work with everyday are not as honest as you thought. It goes without saying that the employee is no longer working at the hotel.
I would like to sincerely apologise for the incident which certainly does not reflect the values of the people working at Mercure Hanoi La Gare. I also want to thank you for bringing it to our attention so we were able to put a stop to it. I truly hope it is not the only memory you will remember from the Mercure Hanoi La Gare and from this lovely city of Hanoi.
Yves Subsol - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

After arriving and being told there was not a bed in the place for us we were not very impressed. They upgraded us to a better hotel across town for the night, then back to the La Gare for our second night, for which we were upgraded.
We used the hotel as our base as we went to Sa Pa and Halong Bay. It was an easy walk to the station and when we got back from Sa Pa before 5am the gave us a room and breakfast that day no problems.
The staff were always helpful.
Our best find though was the Quan An Ngon restaurant, down Ly Thoung Koet Street and first left, great food, great atmosphere and the staff even helped us out when we were eating our food the wrong way on our first day in Vietnam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed for 1 night at Mercure La Gare. Booked through Accor website, paid 90 Euros with BF. You can get it a bit cheaper from other webites however.

Rooms: Very nice, clean, modern. It is a bit on the small side, but ample space. Comfortable beds. Really, everything was tip top.

Location: About 45 minutes by taxi from Hanoi Airport. About 10 minutes by taxi from old town.

Breakfast: This was one of the worst breakfasts ever! Don't even consider adding breakfast to your bill. The selection is minimal and most "cold" food, like meat and cheese is laying uncooled and didn't look very appealing. If you step out of the hotel and go to the street on the left and on the first cross road, you see a bakery, selling good stuff. Recommend to go there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Overall I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were really new and modern. The shower was excellent. Room service was the best food I had in Vietnam! The staff were friendly although they weren't too helpful in giving us with ideas of what to do in Hanoi. The hotel is fairly centrally located about 20 min walk to the main city area. I would stay here again but the price may be the deciding factor (ie if I get a good deal, I'll stay again - otherwise I may try elsewhere)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis8035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station but somewhat further from the old town (17 minutes walk or 5 minute taxi ride). The hotel is a modern building, clean and the staff is helpful and well trained. The hotel is definitely 4-star worthy. Only con during our stay was a rather disfunctional wifi (which is not free of charge by the way). We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but once lunch. Good cuisine at a very reasonable price. Would i ever return to Hanoi, I would certainly consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mordecai_beisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We booked a 3 night stay at the Mercure in April after a bad experience at another hotel. It was such a pleasure staying here. Staff is polite, helpful and attentive, rooms are gorgeous - really spacious with a big comfortable bed, the location is great too - away from the suffocating businesses of old quarter but still within walking distance of sites and restaurants. When our TV broke down they fixed it immediately and left us a note saying it was fixed. They gave us a delicious birthday cake and card which was a nice touch. After spending the day walking around, I really looked forward to coming back to our room and relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel - it's affordable but luxurious. I'd definitely stay here again. They just get it right, they get what makes a good hotel and I can’t fault it in any way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekouSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#80 of 591 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#84 of 591 in Hanoi
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#101 of 591 in Hanoi
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#73 of 591 in Hanoi
1,148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 591 in Hanoi
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Property: Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing