We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #99 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed at this hotel 2 times. Each time for 1 night - before and after the trip to Ha Long. Both time we booked a Standard room.

First time we arrived at 22:00 and were upgraded for free to their Deluxe room on the 4th floor. The room itself was ok'ish. It was clean and spacy, but we found only one pair of bathrobe and slippers - that was wierd.
But the service was subpar. At 22:30 they refused to sit us in the restaurant claiming that it was already closed. Their site states the restaurant is open till 23:00.

Second time we arrived at 15:00 and were not offered upgrade... well, until we found out that our room didn't have privacy curtains on the bathroom. I described the problem to the recieptionist and he upgraded us for free to a Superior room. He stated that they don't have privacy curtains in Standard rooms *anymore* (sic!). Well, these curtains was the only difference between Standard and Superior rooms that I managed to notice. No bathrobes nor slippers this time.

Other things to mention:
- They do have a WiFi connection in the rooms but the price is extraorbitant.
- Be prepared to wake up at 5am if your room faces the street - sound proof is non-existant.
- The restaurant (we managed to get there at the second night) is ok if only a bit pricey for vietnamese standards. About half of the restaurant personnel doesn't speak English at all.
- Location is ok, but frankly speaking, there is not that much to see in Hanoi, so it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexspb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 980 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel is a puzzle. At the (introductory) price I paid, it offered excellent value for money. Yet Mercure is allegedly a four-star brand, and in my view this hotel is three-star at best. The most distinctive feature of my room (in Accor modernist design) was the glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom. No privacy there. This one feature would put me off going back again. Hopefully the breakfast service will be sorted out in the fullness of time, but when I was there (second month after opening) the demands of one tour group produced considerable chaos.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in on our entire trip.
It has only just opened a couple of months ago. The rooms are great, with everything you could need.
Very clean, neat and nicely decorated.
A nice restaurant downstairs.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much to ask of them.
In a good location, right near Hanoi train station and about 5-10 minutes walk from the lake and tourist attractions.
The only thing that might have been an improvement would have been free internet in the room, as all other hotels in the region seem to have this. But you can purchase time in your room, or there is free internet downstairs, so not a big deal really.
All-in-all, excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMs_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

It's a not so expensive hotel wich beatifully mixes modernity (services and technologies) and tradition (architecture). It's cosy and familiar. Liked the restaurant very much.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FernandoD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Just returned from Hanoi with wife and two kids. Initially tried a small local hotel in old quarter which was generally ok but knew no one was happy but not saying anything. Morning two we stopped at the Mercure which had also been recommended by a friend and were very glad we did. Immediately packed up and moved hotels. Booked a deluxe queen room with adjoining standard room, both for about $210 including breakfast for all. Bright cheery rooms, comfy beds, very clean. Staff throughout the hotel friendly and efficient, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was great, breakfast rooms also very bright and happy. Could also have booked standard room (for two person) for $75 per night (intro rate). Everyone loved it and happy we made the move. No pool, small gym, but we weren't there for those reasons and didn't expect them for the price. Great value for money. Would also stay there on business without hesitation. Always had reliable taxis out front as well

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventureofalifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks in a deluxe room. Not cheap and noisy at 0530 as it overlooks the main Hanoi train station. Otherwise the room was fine. Mini bar was stocked up sporadically and the internet $8 per day was really slow. But I complained and got it free for the whole two weeks.

The gym is tiny. Really

Buffet breakfast at £8 is not cheap and lacks choice but he restaurant food is reasonably priced and is good. Hotel location is good (near enough to the tourist centre for convenience but far enough away not to feel besieged by fellow travellers. The hotel has its own taxis which is a bonus. It is close to some good restaurants

What really makes this hotel are the staff, friendly, efficient, helpful just great. they are all stars. Jane the A'g General Manager is a champion.

The decor is tasteful and the room was well set up. I enjoyed the whole two weeks

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank PhilipBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We took a punt on this one because it's recently been renovated, but we couldn't beat it's location and the service was spot-on. It's obvious the management know what they're doing, and we weren't surprised to find out there was an Australian GM and 2IC running the show.

My partner and I have travelled extensively throughout SE Asia and stayed in a wide variety of hotels - for a 4-star hotel, this was fantastic value and we'd stay here again.

Newly renovated to a clean and funky, modern standard, and located, not surprisingly, across the road from the train station, this hotel was a surprising delight! It's within easy walking distance to the Temple of Literature and 10 minutes from the kaleidoscopic cacophony of the Old Quarter. They have a quality, albeit on the small side, restaurant with Vietnamese/French influence and I didn't have enough time to eat everything I wanted on their menu! Room service was prompt when we had it, and the breakfasts were lovely - I always love the tropical fruit and pastries are my absolute favourite!

My partner enjoyed the gym (not my scene), and said although it was small, had brand new equipment and served it's purpose. The room we had was a Deluxe - it was lovely, spacious, and had the added character of curving with the shape of the building (have put on a photo to explain better).

They still have a few projects to go in finishing the refurbishment, but don't let that put you off. It's a shame we missed the glass courtyard being completed - it would be a beautiful spot to have a coffee in the mornings. Overall, a great hotel to base yourself to explore Hanoi.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie-Curly-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#84 of 600 in Hanoi
1,396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#106 of 600 in Hanoi
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#92 of 600 in Hanoi
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#85 of 600 in Hanoi
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 600 in Hanoi
2,156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 600 in Hanoi
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $66 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing