We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #94 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our first nights in Vietnam were at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel and I can say it´s a comfortable and cosy hotel, with facilities and good wifi connection, as well as helpful and kind staff. An appropriate introduction to a fascinating country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ainalma,

many thanks for your kind comment.
I can only encourage you to come back to Vietnam to see how fast it grows.

best regards,
Vincent Delsol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    443
    112
    22
    6
See reviews for
111
335
88
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This trip I had had several problems from schedule to my health. The hotel helped me out at all. Ms Huyen, the front desk manager, and her team quickly made a new reservation without penalty charge ( for previous non-refundable booking). Especially, Ms Nga and her bussy restaurant 's co-workers did even more: cooked a special food for my treatment diarrhea which I terrible got and had to make alot of works with the clinic Vietsing at the same street!
I cant say thank enough to all of them, hope to see you soon at beginning of 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DosNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear DosNguyen,

thank you for this very nice comment which has been transferred to the teams.

We look forward to welcome you back in 2014.
best regards,
Vincent Delsol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Right, it is a tough country and a lot of tourists (and local people) has a several story of being robbed or trap and so on... Even myself but probably less than other. I am not naïve, not at all!. But I believe in miracle of just a smile and a kind way to ask for a little help anywhere in the world. I it is, on my point of view, especially true in Vietnam. It is not a secret, I love that country maybe it makes the difference, I don't know but today, at Mercure Hanoi, Miss Mo and the Mercure team give me a new reason to enjoy the real kindness of people here to be helpful for the one who know to respect and smile! It was not a big service, just a little help. I will not tell because I don't want every bother them with that kind of little services, but be sure than if you are polite, smiley and respectful they will know how to help!
Thanks again ;o))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yong'an, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights during our dragon boat holiday in Hanoi. The hotel is not In The old quarter, which I chooses deliberately to avoid the hustle and noise in the old quarter.

Free wifi, simple but adequate breakfast (they have pho, a local rice noodle, very delicious), the travel guide I found in the room is also very useful.

The reception can speak good English. There will be always people helping your open the door.

The room is a bit small in asia standard, bathroom only have shower. When I asked for slippers in the room, they said only higher room level having slippers, which i found strange. So do not forget to bring your own slippers if you book a basic room type.

The restaurant Quan An Ngon is very near the hotel, 500 meters maybe and they have very good Vietnamese food and English manu. ATM is just beside the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellegaojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Why is there no "good" in Tripadvisor. Jumps from average to very good...

Mercure La Gare is a good hotel. Better than average, not yet in very good.

I travel often to Hanoi for business, and I have adopted Mercure La Gare as my headquarters on my visits.

Its location is excellent for me: I can actually walk to most of my meetings.

Excellent bar and not bad a restaurant. Actually, if you are a wine lover, as I am, I will recommend this hotel. It has a Da Loc wine shop downstairs and the hotel offers -rarity in Vietnam- wine tasting menus, where you can try two or three different wines. That is a privilege.
To have a bar downstairs allows you to work on your laptop in an open environment along the day. Not so easy in Hanoi!

I have witnessed the staff improving their service significantly. On previous occasions I have seen my comments taken into account, so I compliment staff management for their continuous training.

What limits the hotel category (and obviously it is what holds down the price to a very good value) is size. It is a small hotel and everything: from the rooms to the corridors, elevators and restaurant, feel crammed. Some items such as doors, carpets and walls would thank a renovation, paintjob or wash; Hanoi's winter humidity is not aging them well.

However. Those shortcomings do not affect my impression of a good comfortable stay while I visit Hanoi, and I will keep on using their installations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Carlos D,

Thank you for such a nice review on Mercure Hanoi la Gare. I'll inform the head of departments about the quality of the trainings.
Your remarks on the improvements to be done on the maintenance part are taken in account.
I am very happy and proud to hear that our hotel is your headquarters in Hanoi.
I am going to contact you personally so I can meet you during your next stay. I would be very pleased to do so.
Sincerely,
Vincent Delsol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#76 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#96 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#80 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#56 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Property: Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing