We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but just right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #93 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, but just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at Mercure because for one, it is a recognised branch around the world and therefore knew we wouldn't be too disappointed because they have made a name for themselves. The location is great as it is just outside the Old Quarter, and by just outside I mean easily walkable in 10 minutes to the hustle and bustle, and a 1USD for a taxi ride back to the quieter street of the hotel from the Old Quarter. The rooms are small (we had a standard room), but as a young couple we do not need any luxurious study rooms or ensuites and for just ducking in and out, it was a perfect relaxtion resort. All the things to do in Hanoi are OUTSIDE THE HOTEL OF COURSE!
Everything inside the room was modern and chic, decorated with modern colours and the windows to the streets had a french influence.
The bathroom however are pretty tiny, and the shower looks amazing but would never be designed in a home. There is no door as it is designed as 'an open shower' with just a glass panel, so the bathroom can get floor can get pretty wet. However, this is just a minor issue where the staff clean your room to new every, single day.There is also a fitness centre that I did not use as it was pretty small and not a variety of equipment at all, but you win some, you lose some.
The breakfast buffet is small, but again just right. You can order vietnamese pho or choose the large array of french bakery goods. Not to mention american breakfasts of bacon and eggs etc.
All in all, yes things are small, but for a city hotel this is pretty normal, everything is fitted just right to suit your needs. We will recommend to friends and families. Thanks for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: If you have the extra dollars, go for a more deluxe, executive room for a larger room experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELYU_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    436
    110
    22
    6
See reviews for
108
331
88
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
299 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were on a 3-week tour of Vietnam and Cambodia with Adventures Abroad. We stayed here a total of 6 nights, arriving at about 11 PM, 2 nights before the tour began. We had traveled for about 24 hours and, forewarned by some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, requested a very quiet room. The people at the desk were most accommodating and gave us a room on the 8th floor for our first 3 nights (we subsequently stayed on the 5th floor). We can't say enough kind words about the people at the desk, they were gracious and helpful, giving directions, inquiring after we returned whether or not we had had any trouble. No trouble with the directions, just with the traffic in Hanoi! The sheets and pillows were the best we had on tour. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Our experience at the Mercure was a precursor to what we came to expect in Vietnam and Cambodia: gracious service and a desire to help the tourist. Of course we know that tourist money is absolutely essential for the economy, but we've been in many other countries where that is true and the service awful. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the night before the tour started and the food was quite good. I should mention the elevators: they were quick and quite large. Our only complaint was the carpeting in our room in the room on the 8th floor (the 5th floor room was fine): it was dirty and old. Not sure why hotels don't replace wall-to-wall carpeting with either synthetic or real wood floors.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on an upper floor, away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our room was small,crowded and badly designed. This people seem to think that taking a shower is a spectator sport. One wall of the shower is a glass panel with full view of the room. On top of this, you are to be real careful if you don't want to flood the bathroom itself when you take a long shower. On the positive side, the personnelis very courteous and helpful and the breakfast buffet and associated services are very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel. It is modern equipped and clean. I had room 606 with a view of the street to the train station. The rooms are big enough. Free safe available in the room. Bathroom with toiletries and hair dryer various. The breakfast buffet was not too big, had everything you needed. The hotel is good convenient location, it is in a few minutes in the old town-Turmoil. A stroll through the old town is worthwhile in any case. The staff was very courteous with great English. Negative we noticed the noise from the train station. Although there was no passing trains but the whole night very loud horns from time to time, quite disturbing sleep better Isofenster and in control.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Pros: This hotel is OK, clean and tidy. Location is a little bit out of the Hoan Kiem district, but still at a walkable distance to Hoan Kiem and old quarter.
Cons: The mattress is really too soft for me, not sleep well for the stay. Furthermore, there are lot of hotels in Hanoi which are in more resonable price and can provide better service than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

recently i was in Hanoi for short business trip,the relaxed and friendly service of all staff made my trip feel at home, nice clean rooms excellent help on my arrival from fm desk and sweet smile on breakfast in the morning Thank u

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feyayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Check in quite fast.
I stay at the Deluxe room on 5th floor. The room was spacious and located in the corner so you will have a better view. The room furniture and decoration is modern but simple with a big LCD TV. The bed size is 2x2 .
The breakfast was served at the lobby level. My opinion the food variety was limited and simple one. You may also sit at outdoor for having your breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnwarTjokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#76 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#94 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Property: Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing