We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy first night in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #98 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not-so-centerally-located, not-so-large-scale, graceful and elegent in its own way. Very good sound-proof and nice breakfast, especially the bacon. One thing is they don't offer free Wifi, charges like 15USD for a day. All in all, I could recommand it as a cozy first night in noisy Hanoi.

Room Tip: Extra bed for a twin room is very small. Windows of some rooms cannot be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear faithfulpeggie,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us.

I'm very happy to read that you had a good moment with us, that the soundproof of our rooms and the breakfast pleased you. We are improving our offer every day. For example, tomorrow morning we'll have home-made banana and chocolate muffins.

For the WIFI, I'm puzzled as, since the 1st of august 2012, it is free of charge and before that we were charging 5USD per 24hours. Could you contact me in person in order for me to understand this piece of information?

regards,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 964 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a typical Mercure hotel with very pleasant staff. The rooms are comfortable, particularly the beds. The bathroom is very clean with a full range of toiletries provided. The rooms are spotless and the sheets and towels provided are good quality. It is very well located, close to some fantastic restaurants, the Temple of Literature and the old quarter. there is free wifi and a wide range of TV channels.

How could it improve? The gym is tiny with no treadmill, the breakfast is pretty average though the pho is nice. The bathrooms are an odd design so that the floor gets wet after every shower. But these are all trifling matters, overall it is a good priced, safe, clean and well located hotel with good staff. Recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Lp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

super comfortable bed, helpful staff and a great breakfast. Central but quiet . The restaurant was nice too and I would recommend this as a convenient and comfortable place to stay. hard to find a convenience store close by though and most taxi drivers had no idea where it was so carry a map or card with the address at all times

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose to stay here due to its location to the train station and we used the hotel as a base, staying here 3 nights over a week period.
The rooms where very clean and bed comfortable, with everything you needed provided.
The staff where very friendly and helpful,providing good local information, an asset to the hotel.
We stored cases here will we headed off to Sa Pa and had a great welcome on our return.
Good breakfast and bar.
Free Internet in the lobby and restaurant, with computers available to use also.
The hotel has a Citibank ATM outside which allows larger amount withdrawals than most.
Would recommend and use this hotel again, thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catvic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was in april 2011. It is a nice clean and confortable hotel in the right quartier in Hanoi. Viet Nm is cheap, so take a atxi to the center is cheap. Even walking is close.
I should recomand this hotel to everybody

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barcelonian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked a reservation in this hotel because it was nice located and because it should somehow respect the standards of a world-known franchise. Experience was less than average, for the price I paid: room was tiny, rug was worn and stained and it felt that it was not maintained.

One day they left window open and the rug was very wet. We asked for slippers, and they told us that they were meant only for superior categories. And our rug was wet! - so we had to wear shoes at the room.

I know I reserved a single room with the simplest category, but I did so in 5 more hotels in the rest of the trip, which were cheaper and in bigger cities and no problem. So that's why the 2 stars.

The hotel building looks very nice, it's indeed well located, but it couldn't cost $100 / night. It's a $50 at most.

Room Tip: Ask for superior categories' room - I didn't try it, but the standard one is lousy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Sir

First of all, I'd like to apologize as your stay didn't meet your expectations.

Our standard rooms are between 20 and 22 sqm which is average for a main city center hotel. As per Mercure worldwide standards, yes the slippers are free of charge in the superior and deluxe rooms. In the standard rooms they are chargeable and provided upon request.

Then, I'm confused. Our windows are locked for security and legal reasons.
They are unlocked by the housekeeping department for only 2 reasons : either of course to the request of the guest, or to remove the smell of cigarette. Then this action is recorded by our security team and controlled in case it would rain and the windows are closed after 1 hour.

It looks like this wasn't the case and on top of that your rug was worn out.
It would really help me if you could contact me as I've been in the hotel for 3 months, went to most of the rooms and didn't yet see such a problem.
The hotel has been opened in September 2009, almost 3 years ago, and I can assure you that this would be the single case, which, again, I apologize for.

I would be greatful if you could send me your name and date of stay or room number for me to investigate further.

I'll have a status as well with the front office department who is in charge every morning to report all issues which have been reported by the guest in the past 24hours. Taking into account the discomfort you have experienced, you have surely done so or filled in the online survey which is automatically sent after all departures to our guest.

As a member of Mercure and Accor, I take very seriously your comment and will try my best to identify and solve this problem.

I thank you for the time you took to warn me about this issue.
Best regards,
Vincent DELSOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this modern hotel for two nights as part of our tour. It is fairly basic in style and the rooms are on the small side but adequate for a couple of nights.
Location is good with access to a number of places to eat. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.
This hotel was not luxurious but adequate for our two night stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear CathRat,

thank you for having takent he time to share your experience at the Mercure Hanoi La Gare.

I'm glad to read that your stay met up your expectations and that the team helped you to have a great time in Hanoi.

As part of and international brand and Group (Mercure and Accor), our standards and services are clear to help our guest to find the same services in our 700 Mercure hotels around the world with a blended design between french and local trend.
All around the world we are midscale 4-star hotels.

In Mercure Hanoi, our standard rooms go from 20 to 22 sqm are followed by our superior rooms at 25-27 sqm until the deluxe rooms which are over 35sqm.

I hope this will help you in the future to choose Mercure and Accor (Sofitel, Pullman, Novotel, Mercure, Ibis Styles, Ibis, Ibis Budget, Hotel F1).

best regards,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#82 of 599 in Hanoi
1,372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#104 of 599 in Hanoi
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#88 of 599 in Hanoi
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#79 of 599 in Hanoi
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 599 in Hanoi
2,100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing