We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway in busy city - June 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #98 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the first place we stayed having landed in Hanoi. Door service was very good and helped arrange taxis for us. The room was immaculate and very modern, the bathroom was particularly nice. The bed was soft and comfortable and the room soundproof, the airconditioning was a nice retreat from the humidity. If you stay here you absolutely have to eat at Quan An Ngon which is just around the corner, one of our favourite restaraunts in this amazing city. Only nuissance (and a very small one) is that we were charged for the complimentary water.

Room Tip: Visit Quan An Ngon just around the corner for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AATWCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear AATWCanberra,

thank you for having takent he time to share your experience.
I'm glad to read that our hotel helped you to spend a grat time in Hanoi.
I do support your comment about Quan An Ngon restaurant which is providing all specialties from Vietnam's folklore. Of course, I also recommend our hotel's restaurant as it is French and Vietnamese fine cuisine.

I'll contact you directly for the last topic to understand what happened.

Best regards from Hanoi,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 947 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

A great hotel and staff which contributed immensely to our Hanoi experience. Would highly recommend to anybody contemplating visiting Hanoi. The staff treated all aspects of our stay with a sense of utmost importance - from check-in to house-keeping to restaurant to front of house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Jamie,

Thank you very much for your comment and I'm very happy that our service has met your expectations.
I'll make sure that all departments are made aware of it.

We work as Accor and Mercure to train and follow-up our local teams in every countries.
Having a good service is a daily work for all of us.

Best regards,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here on my business trip. It is very close to the Hanoi Station. Everything satisfies business standard except for shower booth. There is no door at shower booth but some partition only. You have to be very careful on using shower otherwise water leaks on the floor of lavatory area. It may be acceptable for some tourists who are familiar with this type shower.
Besides the shower room problem, breakfast buffet offers very nice menu including excellent French toast. The quality of vegetable is also very good.

Room Tip: Ask a room has a shower room, not a shower booth
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaDelRey335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Madam,

thank you to have shared your experience about the Mercure.
I arrived on the 1st of May and I'm very happy to read that the latest modifications of the breakfast setup have pleased you.
We're constantly fighting to improve the service delivered to our guest and you can already find some daily courses on the buffet breakfast.

I'll have a look as well to the shower door comment to assess the situation.

best regards and I hope your business trip was successful.

Vincent Delsol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

When I first arrived I though I had made a mistake. The hotel was small and had a construction site across the road.

However once I checked in (great staff) it started to look up - the room was HUGE with windows all around so it looked even bigger. The fit out is modern and clean with enough amenity.

There is a cafe on the ground floor which is more than sufficient - especially if you are going to be mostly out and about in Hanoi. We walked about in the evenings and there are some great cafes right next door, and we even found a street full of great restaurants which seemed to be some sort of a hotspot as it was full of young locals.

Room Tip: The higher the better :)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discostuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you to have taken some time to share your experience.

Our hotel is cozy and what i call "human size", meaning that our size allow us to treat our guest as human beings and not like numbers.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Deluxe room (35sqm) and its 3 large bay windows and that the service met your expectations as well.

As for the terrace, we are only 2 hotels in Hanoi with such facility, the Sofitel Metropole and us. It is a nice way to stay in contact and discover the daily life of the city.
As being in the center of Hanoi, you have at walking distance (less than 5min) 2 great restaurants ... apart from ours of course ... one local cuisine Quan An Ngon and one trendy with a nice overview of Hanoi, the Rooftop. You have several others but these ones are the ones we recomment to experience something more.

I hope this will help you for your next trip to Hanoi.
best regards,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

During my first trip to Hanoi (July 2012), I was delighted by my stay at the Mercure Hanoi La Gare. The hotel is beautiful and in the center of town near beautiful embassies, within a quick walking distance (~10 minutes) to the Ho Chi Minh Masoleum or Hoa Lo Prison, and to the Old Quarter (better achieved by 5 minute taxi).

The staff at the front desk was amazing, helping me with anything from booking hotels (in Hoi An) to planning travel from city to city. They also called cabs anytime I needed one, ensuring that I got a cab that had a working meter and would charge a fair price.

The rooms are spotless, and provide fantastic AC, which was a huge relief after hot and humid days of walking around town.

The next time I'm in Hanoi, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangaloreTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm glad that your stay was great and that the team was very helpful.
I'll make sure that the front desk team and bellboys are made aware of your comment.

When you'll come back to Mercure, I'll be glad to welcome you in person.
As I don't have your name, don't hesitate to ask for me at the reception upon arrival.

Thank you to have taken the time to share your stay's experience.

best regards,
Vincent Delsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Close to the train station, this is a good quality, if smaller, hotel. Popular with western tour groups, it was clean with good food, good service and laundry. We stayed in November 2011 and enjoyed our time there.

Although a bit of a walk from the main centre of Hanoi, we never felt unable to walk into the more busier areas. Nearby are shops, restaurants, chemists, etc. The streets around Hanoi are very, very busy so taxi's are recommended, and fairly cheap. As always, only use licenced taxi's and agree the price up front.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel, above the main entrance are much larger as they are on the curve of...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim-from-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Mercure is quite strategically located...clean and cheap, this hotel costs around 1.000.000 VND for the standard room..near Ga Ha Noi, la gare, the hotel is decorated with cool, BW, antique photos of the train station...like it..

The room is not that spacious, but enough ...comfy bed, many pillows et good decoration, with a hint of orange et purple..

Breakfast is good, ..porridge, asian dishes, bread, cold cuts and cheese..I have no complaints..

By taxi, it is around 10 minutes to go the Hoan Kiem Lake (Ngoc Son temple, water puppet, hang gai the old quarter) or 20 minutes to the Ho Chi Minh complex..

Friendly staff as well, no hussle and helpful

Truly enjoy my stay.. I just wish they have swimming pool , especially as I visit Hanoi in summer :D...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndahNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#81 of 596 in Hanoi
1,343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#88 of 596 in Hanoi
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#100 of 596 in Hanoi
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 596 in Hanoi
2,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#75 of 596 in Hanoi
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $62 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing