We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small modern friendly hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #99 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We loved this hotel...it was small and not what we had been use to because we had just stayed in two Sheratons in V Nam. But you could not fault it! Lovely friendly staff who really looked after you in the restaurants, breakfast they were very attentive with coffee refills etc. We had one evening meal which was set for Valentines night. Beautiful food and a lovely mix of asian and western food. Really reasonable prices too! The rooms werent massive but really clean and modern. and attention to detail ie shampoo creams etc were given. It was easy to get to the centre and very cheap around £2 to £3! I was pleased we were not completely in the centre as it was very noisy there. I could not fault this hotel, as it was clean, really modern and friendly and the food was a big plus! well done !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 961 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

hotel to be as it is central, the team is great as well, Accor brand, definitely consider going there.
i saw other 5 star hotel around the world with less organized and kind staff. the building is great. The food could be better and some animation in the evening in the bar could be nice as we were with a baby, not always easy to go out in the evening.
You need to bargain all the taxi fees before entering and ask the hotel team how much they would pay to get to your destination. Otherwise you can pay triple times more than necessary
great city to visit and we had 20°C so nice as well

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshiniukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We spent several days and nights in Hanoi during December 2011, and for the last three I was suffering from an unpleasant flu. The hotel was clean, service was good in the restaurant and the hotel staff members were cheerful and polite. I couldn't have chosen a better place to feel poorly!

It was easy to get taxis at the front door of the hotel, the bed was comfort itself and the breakfasts were nourishing. Could easily stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eindelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Good location - I like the location of this hotel a lot better than all those Old Quarter hotels squeezed in-between shops on narrow and traffic-choked streets. In Hanoi, I found out it is not necessary to stay right on top of where the tourist shopping and restaurant action is. The Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem lake are both about 15-20 minutes walk away from the Mercure La Gare (I had good cool weather). It is about a 25-30 min walk to the Temple of Literature. Only took a taxi to the Museum of Ethnology which is way out. Frankly, staying the madness of the Old Quarter would not be my idea of fun. After a few hours of the cacophony, I am all ready to run away.

In contrast, the Mercure is an escape from the madness of the Old Quarter, on a quieter (relatively) street. We had the Standard Queen room. The room is not large, but decently furnished, in excellent condition and clean. The queen bed is comfortable. Ask for a back-facing room to escape the traffic noise from the street. Not much of a view of course. There is enough space to lay out 2 bags. I appreciate the super-quiet air-conditioning, one could hardly hear it in operation even at night.

The bathroom is smallish, the shower stall cramped and narrow. The glass splashguard panel is not large enough to prevent water from spilling out, and as a result the floor is perpetually wet, soaked floor mats etc.

There are good eateries nearby, the most notable being Quan An Ngon just a short block away; which is an amazing place of endless variety of food. A must-try. (Tip: Go an hour before the lunch or dinner crowd in order to get a table.) Towards the Old Quarter, there are a bevy of other eateries about 10-15 mins walk away. I had a good meal in Puku.

Free wifi is only available at the smallish lobby, with limited sofas. There are 2 PCs for guests’ use at the lobby as well. Speed once connected is decent.

Room Tip: Back-facing rooms are quiet, but without views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dogtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotelnis within the city and very near to the railway station. Cleanliness is satisfactory. However the carpets looks very old.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abuhasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were really impressed with this hotel. Stayed here with my two sisters on recent trip to Vietnam. Location convenient near station. Easy access to Old Quarter via cyclo or taxis. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. Room service prompt and efficient. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. I needed a reliable pharmacy whilst there and a staff member took me there, we walked about 2 blocks away and then he interpreted for me - I was very impressed! Breakfasts were adequate with plenty of fresh fruit. Ate twice in the dining room for dinner and our meals were delicious with plenty of variety. Free internet terminals in lounge area. A pool would have been good but not essential as we were on the move. Left bags at hotel in secure storage whilst travelled to Ba Be National Park, Sapa and Halong Bay and returned for nights in between each. No problems! Appreciated this great home base.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerryandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel is located at the French Quarter , quite a distance away from the touristy Old Quarter. You can access some sites around the French Quarter quite easily like the Hanoi Hilton and the Temple of Literature. It is good if you need to access the Hanoi Railway station easily which is just across the road and is walking distance from the No1 rated restaurant on Trip Advisor, La Badiane. We got a nice room that was quiet as it was facing the central courtyard. Only complain was the poor drainage - the sink took forever to drain out and left a mini puddle in the bathroom each time the sink was used. Internet access available in the lobby - good speed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Odette_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#80 of 597 in Hanoi
1,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#102 of 597 in Hanoi
656 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#89 of 597 in Hanoi
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#81 of 597 in Hanoi
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 597 in Hanoi
2,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $66 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing