We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Ranked #130 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Great value for money”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Got it with a cheap deal online and stayed with them for 5 nights.Triple sharing room. We got a relatively big room with a double bed and one single bed. Very comfortable. Good cleanliness. Small lobby, but excellent service from the receptionists and bell boys. The service provided was really beyond words. On arrival: Welcome tea/coffee, staff sits down with us at cafe to explain the map of Hanoi, attractions worth visiting and things to look out for. Free flow of tea/coffee 24/7. They remember our names and faces, and make efforts to get out of the hotel lobby, cross the road when we return on a taxi, and help us across the busy street which might prove too dangerous for tourists to cross. When it rains, they will bring umbrellas across the road for us. Even after we checked out to move to another hotel, they welcomed us back for coffee/tea and even travel advice though we were no longer guests at the hotel. Impeccable service standard, very warm and friendly staff. Value for money room facilities. Wifi + desktop work station in every room.

Room Tip: Choose the double/triple rooms. If possible, away from the main road. The traffic can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roverbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    118
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
227
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great value for money hotel in a good location. Service could not have been more friendly and extremely large room was spotlessly clean. Tour desk manager was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and ogrganised our Halong Bay cruise at a good price and on a top boat,"Galaxy".
Good Bia Hoi just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkc020411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on June 3 with my family. Although the location is quite good with many street food vendors nearby, there are some serious problems with the hotel. First, we asked for a 6am wakeup call from the hotel for our 630am taxi; the hotel forgot to call and we would have missed our flight were it not for my father who had woken up early. Second, the bathrooms are not that clean and there was even a cockroach running around to greet us in the morning. Lastly, and this is by far the worst, we asked the hotel to book a taxi for us in the morning, which is payable to the hotel. I set aside money to pay the front desk guy (350,000 VND). I gave him that amount and then was going to give him loose change to pay the rest (7,000 VND). But when I paid him the balance he told me that I had only paid him 250,000 VND and that I still owed him 100,000 VND. Well, with my taxi waiting outside and us running late because he forgot to give us our morning call, I had no time to argue with the man and paid up. This of course left a very bad taste in my mouth.

So unsanitary conditions, irresponsible staff, and taking advantage of the customer. Three excellent reasons to avoid this hotel and look for the multitude of alternative hotels nearby.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Duc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Fantastic value for money, I spent 5 nights here and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Hanoi. I booked the deluxe room but they upgraded me to the suite. A great room with comfortable beds (by Vietnam standards), large flat screen TV and a small balcony.
It's a bit of a walk from the lake (15 mins) however it's in a nice area with many good restaurants around.
The staff were friendly and recommended some nice places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Once again our stay at the Rising Dragon Grand was a great experience. The staff under Jenny were very courteous and helpful. The location is terrific and the rooms comfortable and clean. The hotel is great value,

Room Tip: A room at the front provides an good view of the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a wonderful place. Good location and very clean. The designer rooms are well furnished with trendy showers, computers and satellite TV. But best of all are the staff - really helpful they looked as though they enjoyed working there. They all had a good sense of humour too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkvkjvjfvnfpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

At first, i have prepared myself to be disappointed by booking this hotel since this wasn't the first hotel i'm planning to booked. And also the reviews were very nice, i was afraid those are overrated so i lowered my expectations in order not to be too disappointed.
Anyway, staying in Rising Dragon was probably one of the best decision during my travel in vietnam. I stayed here on April 8 to 10 with 4 of my friends. At first we were welcomed with warm greetings from the hotel staff, and the staff briefly explain us some helpful insights about Hanoi : where to go, what to do, how to bargain, and also suggest several local restaurant. And we also booked the ha long bay tour from the hotel. The manager also suggest us to book the water puppet show. Then they take us to go to the room and we were surprised that our room looked exactly like in the photo. Nice, clean and lux! There is wifi network in every floor, and also a computer in our room. But one little problem was the mattress is a bit hard.
The location is in the old quarter. You can find a small convenience store in front of the hotel. It took 10-15 minutes walk to hoan kiem lake. You should try the local Pho restaurant near the hotel, it was probably one of the best pho noodle i have ever tasted!!

Room Tip: Room 501 has the street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#112 of 578 in Hanoi
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#62 of 578 in Hanoi
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel
Icon 36 Hotel
#129 of 578 in Hanoi
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#85 of 578 in Hanoi
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Grand Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Address: 24 Hang Ga St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Rising Dragon II Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Grand is located in the heart of The Old Quarter, just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater and alongside a thriving outdoor market. Along Hang Ga street, you will find cafes, an award-winning spa, pharmacies and various shops and stores carrying clothing, handicrafts, and other amazing finds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Dragon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing