We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
166
217
87
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
217
87
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hang bo old quarter halong bay star hotel walking distance recommend this hotel central location the hustle and bustle street food fresh fruit reception staff hoan kiem lake travel agent very nice hotel night market air conditioning busy street
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 495 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Our family stayed here for a few days and it was very close to everything and very comfortable lovely rooms. Would stay here again instantly! The wifi was good and staff were very friendly and spoke good english. Perfect and not too expensive. Breakfast buffet was also good!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here three times in December and January, always on the 5th or 6th floor due to the recommendation of other reviewers. We were happy with the hotel and had no problems with noise reported from people who stayed on lower floors. The internet was good unlike some of the other hotels we stayed at SE Asia. The breakfast was excellent and the staff super nice to my daughter. She loved the dim sum served on the first day, but they rotate the menu daily. When she asked then when they would serve the dim sum again, the cook was willing to make it just for her. The location was great, and don't miss the nearby Highway 4 restaurant. The only improvement they could use is some of the reception staff could use a bit more English skills.

Room Tip: 5th to 7th floor due to city noise. room 601 was our favorite.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here as part of our tour, and it's a great choice. The reception head "master" speaks good english and very helpful. Welcome drink on arrival. The rooms are of a good size with a window opening to an internal court, to get a bit of air movement. We didn't use the restaurant (rather dead actually) as there are plenty of restaurants to choose in town. The breakfast was ok (after the Bong Sen hotel in HCM, every other breakfasts elsewhere were a bit average). The whole staff was very helpful: we had no hot water in the bathroom and someone fixed it straight away. As it happened, the hot water switch RCD had been switched off by someone before us. However we were not impressed by the laundry service, expensive yet they just take it across the road (charges in the little shop are US$1.00/kg, you pay 5 times that in hotel).
The road is small and a bit narrow but lively. There is a massage parlour across the road too (Lemi spa, 90mn hot stones body massage for 300K VND).
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 702 (top floor) on first stay, and we found it a bit noisy (but we're country folks), noise from a water pump when someone flushes the toilet in the hotel, and noise from the lift. Second stay was in room 405 and it was much better.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcme41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice and comfortable hotel in the middle of the old town. An excellent location for exploring the city. Nice friendly staff and a good kitchen. A very pleasant start on our vacation in Vietnam. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halvor1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were a bit worried when our travel agent moved us to this hotel due to water issues at the hotel we were previously booked to stay at (ie was this a scam). However our fears were misplaced as it is a good, clean hotel in a nice central location in the hustle and bustle of the old quarter quite near Ho Chiem lake. Very attentive staff who are eager to make your stay enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Whingebucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews