We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Moments inside Son Doong Cave”
Review of Active Travel Asia

Active Travel Asia
Ranked #186 of 823 Tours in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ActiveTravel Asia (ATA) offers a wide selection of Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar Adventure and Responsible tours, including hiking and trekking, biking, motorcycling, overland touring and family travel packages.The tour packages and custom itineraries will take travelers through exotic destinations to really experience the culture, history and nature of Asia. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy an unforgettable active vacation.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Moments inside Son Doong Cave”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After watching the National Geographic documentary about Vietnam's largest cave, Son Doong Cave (Hang Sơn Đoòng), I start looking for any travel agent who could arrange a tour to (and inside) the cave. Getting in touch with Ms. Candy from ActiveTravel Asia (ATA) was my luck. She takes care of my questions, problems and booking since last August (2012). From the first inquiry, until the tour everything was handled in a very professional manner and to my fullest satisfaction.

Our tour guide Mr. Thang call and visit us one day before, we start the Son Doong Cave Discovery Tour, at our hotel to give us some last minute instructions and answer our questions. In the next morning at 8 p.m. he and a driver pick us up at the hotel and we drive a couple of kilometres to a small village close to Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, where we pick up our team of porters and an official from the National Park. Once we reached the starting point we prepared our stuff and ourselves for a 10 km hike through the jungle of Phong Nha-Ke Bang, which was quite comfortable and in the same time stunning. Reaching Hang En Cave, our crew set up the tent and make us feel like home.

In the next day we make our way to Son Doong Cave (approximately 3 km, one way) together with Mr. Thang, Mr. Ho-Khanh and two supporters. Not only the way to the cave even to discover the inside of Hang Son Doong was a unique and unforgettable experience for my wife and me, which we are still talking about. After 7-8 hours we arrived back at the camp, where our crew prepared dinner during our swim at a close by river.

Around 9 a.m. we start our hike back to the meeting point where our driver pick us up. Everything was perfectly time and we never had the feeling that anything run out of control.

Thanks ActiveTravel Asia (especially Ms. Candy) to make this happen and a big thank you for the great team around Mr. Thang and Mr. Ho-Khanh

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bthoenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
activetravelasia, Ms. Candy - Travel Consultant at Active Travel Asia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Boris,

Thank you for your review and pictures on TripAdvisor about Son Doong cave during Apr 1-4, 2013.

We are very appreciate for your all recommendation, your satisfaction is the biggest reward, not only for me but also for all our colleagues in ACTIVETRAVEL ASIA. Moreover, this is really a highly motivation for me and our team, who makes all effort to provide better services day after day.

Again, thank you so much for your photos, they are so nice and make me feel that we have traveled with you in Son Doong cave. Now, we are so excited to wait for your video footage, all of them are very helpful to enrich our documents and clients’ album. Hope that we will meet you again in the next trip to Vietnam and Indochina in the coming time.

Ms. Candy - ACTIVETRAVEL ASIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanoi/halong bay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our agent Rose was v helpful and efficient. However, our city tour in old quarter was disappointing as we had no explanation and just went round on the bicycles. More information was required on rest to eat, directions from hotel and key places of interest. Cruise v nice but options for food for Moslems must be considered, too much pork. Drinks over priced. Was a good trip overall.
Lanvien hotel Very nice and best breakfast. Halong bay simply breat taking.
Vietnamese people friendly. A good guide essential

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
activetravelasia, Owner at Active Travel Asia, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Anisha,

Thank you for your good reviews for our tourguide, hotel in Hanoi and detail city tour information. As you know the Old Quater street is very narow and crowed so all cyclo tours are designed for viewing the daily life and architecture around Old Quarter. Our tourguide only gave you the detail information before your trip in Old Quarter.

However, We think highly your comments and improve our trip in Old Quater in recent time as well as checking all food menu in cruises on Halong bay as we always note especially about food if you and other customers order special one in Halong Bay.

Again, We appreciate your review and it helps us make our services better and customers get more qualitied services in coming time.

Thanks & regards,

CEO - Bobby Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will come back one day!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are very delighted with our Vietnam trip, and particularly with the ATA Halong Bay kayaking tour.The services on junk’s board were very good, and the kayaking tour introduced us to amazing and very quiet landscapes, with an excellent tour guide listening to us. We would like to come back if we have the opportunity.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank maryalice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
activetravelasia, Public Relations Manager at Active Travel Asia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Maryalice c,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you have a great trip in Vietnam, especially kayaking in Halong bay. We keep your contact and inform you when we have new kayaking route in Halong Bay and other adventure trips.

We hope that we will continue to suggest you new idea trip and serve you in your next holiday in Vietnam and Indochina.

Tony Tran - Customers Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Active Travel Asia”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked this over over the internet and was not sure what to expect. The trip far outweighed my expectations. We mountain biked, kayaked in Halong Bay and trekked. Our guide was fantastic,and couldn't be more helpful as were all the support staff. The Mountain bikes were Trek and were good quality and well maintained. The scenery was spectular. Slightly disappointed by Ho Chi Minh trail which although passes though beautiful scenery it is now a highway. A support vehicle followed us and the driver was never far away, ready with drinks and snacks. The Homestays were basic but in great settings and an experience. We had a private Junk in Halong Bay. The accommodation and food was amazing. The only negative point was all the rubbish in the water. Saying that it was still a beautiful place and well worth a visit. The hotel in Catba wasn't great - broken shower, poor breakfast. However, all in all would go again to Vietanm again and would definitely use Active Travel Asia.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuneHavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really satisfy with the vacation”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I just want to say that I had an amazing trip with ActiveTravel for my trekking adventure. They have done a really good job and very responsive in everything. Our tour guide - Mr Nghiep was extremely awesome. He helped us overcome some messes we met in the trip and our safe was most priority; we totally satisfy with the time travel with ATA and we’ll certainly suggest our friend travel with Active Travel.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicolasa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Active Travel Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing