We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buffet heaven”

Sen Tay Ho (West Lake Lotus)
Ranked #157 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“buffet heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

biggest buffet i have ever seen, appeared to be grouped by nationality, beautiful food and so many choices. Massive seafood - fresh tuna salmon oysters, (what was in the travel guide about not eating seafood - too late it was so fresh and beautiful), cavier, cooked fish etc.
The place seemed to be really popular with the locals and there were so many birthdays (staff come out with cake and sparkers and they sing happy birthday). lots of little kids running around , Vietnam has a 2 child policy so i guess they think their offspring are super special, lots of grandparents there too (often with a little one in a pram). Dont know why the no photo edict - the place is special. granted it did remind me of the 1980's when Sizzlers first opened in Brisbane, Qld.
outdoors kind of a theme park - there was a singer and entertainer with flaming swords when we walked out, little waterways and covered walkways. bit hard to work out at night time what the theme was outside. maybe just a place to keep the kids happy while their parents were inside?
you had to leave one person at the table while the others went to get their food, and drinks were paid for as you ordered them. we were taken to our table, but then you had to remember to guard the table - one had to stay. and this was the same at every table (not just the tourists).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    96
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“SEN TAY HO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a mush go if you hve the budget. Excellent restaurant with nice view,
Huge spread of varieties of Vietnamese food to sample. From appetizers to desserts, some were precooked, some were cooked to order..
BBQ seafood was fresh and meat was tasty. Though we were not allowed to snap pictures, did manage to snap some. Some dishes were brought to our table on that nite like king Prawns and BBQ beef. Those were the better choices of food.
Service was excellent, plates were removed promptly and food was replenished fast. They also do hve surprise for those celebrating, Restaurant will switch off the lights and the service staff will present you with a cake and sing you birthday sone. Very Nice.
It is realy a good experience. Do try it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Vietnamese buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A big variety of Vietnamese food to sample. From appetizers to desserts, some were precooked, some were cooked to order. Though I am not a buffet lover, Sen's experience was pretty good.
BBQ seafood was fresh and meat was tasty. We were not allowed to snap photos inside the restaurant. A few dishes were brought to our table. Those were the better choices of food.
Service was considered good for a buffet restaurant. Used dinner wares were removed promptly and food was replenished fast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the second Vietnamese restaurant we visit. We had many vietnamese here. we tried traditional vietnamese food as: Pho cuon, cha, chicken fry. All were verry good n i like "Pho cuon: the most. Its the most special food i never had beofore, verry delicious, i love it. My Vietnamese friend introduced "fry rice" and my younger sister like it verry much!
I saw Vietnamese have many special food, if i have chance, i will try it all!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbcindy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Deafening experiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Sen with friends from Sweden on a weekend to eat the dinner buffé on the upper floor. Vietnamese guests and us. At most of the tables they where drinking and making A LOT of noice. Sometimes it was hard to hear what my friends where talking about. But hey, thats Vietnam. If you are looking for a secluded restaurant for a romantic dinner go somewhere else.

But what about the food?
A lot and quite tasteless according to me. You can find other restaurants that have much better food then this place.

Maybe it can be fun if you like to try as many dishes as possible during one evening. You can also try some, for us westerners, odd dishes like fried larvae and grilled baby birds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backmansinhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sen Tay Ho (West Lake Lotus) also viewed

 

Been to Sen Tay Ho (West Lake Lotus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing