We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly hotel near St Josephs Cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #113 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly hotel near St Josephs Cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My partner and I booked a package through Expedia and this is how we found this hotel. It was perfectly positioned just on the outskirts of the Old Quarter, this suited us fine as we had previously stayed right in the Old Quarter two years ago. It was tucked away down a little alley off a laneway, not too difficult to find, but a really nice way to enter the chaos that can be Hanoi city streets. (The laneway also is home to a fab Banh Mi lady who makes THE BEST Banh Mi I have ever had!)

We had booked to stay at the Paramount for a 2 week stay, after a slight mix up with rooms which was quickly, efficiently and happily sorted out by the friendly staff/management we were settled in our room within the hour of arriving.

Room was big, clean with efficient air con with a view over rooftops. The beds were super comfy, always made up by the efficient cleaning staff. The room had everything we could have needed, sml bar fridge (not very expensive at all), tv (with loads of channels (English and otherwise) wardrobe and ensuite.

We did get washing done by the hotel, this was a fine service, yes a little expensive and had it back by the following evening. We also had washing done for cheaper outside the hotel, which was also done in similar time frame.

The breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit, cereals, milk, juices, toast, stir fries, noodles and you could also order from the chef, the omelettes are amazing!

We also booked a day tour to The Perfume Pagoda. I am not really a tour group type of person, but sometimes in Vietnam it is better or the only way is to go with a tour. This was one of the better ones I Have been on. The guide was super friendly, great sense of humour and clearly very passionate, no question was left unanswered. Yes, they probably were a little more expensive than others, but it was worth it for this one. We booked a tour outside of the hotel too, and that was not problem for this hotel at all.

Basically, the staff here were very friendly, always happy to help, were always available and keen to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    15
    13
    5
See reviews for
16
62
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location is good (old town) and quiet and room is also nice.
Bathroom is a little smelly and could be cleaned better.
Free wifi.
Staff is quite pushy and rude: they will try to sell you trips and buses. Avoid their agency as it is more expensive than the others.
Brekfast is poor and a bit messy (served near the lobby).
Laundry too expensive (you can find much cheaper places for laundry around the corner!)

Overall experience was good but could be so much better with different staff and different management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmopolitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights. On arrival hotel staff offered assistance with booking trips and onward buses. It was our first night in Vietnam and we were not too familiar with bus prices etc. We went ahead and booked a sleeper bus to Hue and were charged $35 each. However, when on the bus we discovered other passengers had only paid $12 for the same bus!
The rooms and breakfast were very nice but the experience was some what spoilt by being ripped off!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenxx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a "Wise Price" on booking.com, otherwise this place was out of our budget range. Well located near the St-Joseph Cathedral, in a small street. The standard room was big enough, clean and quiet.

The staff there is really helpful and the breakfast included (buffet) was good. If you can find a deal on booking.com it could be nice for you to go there and avoid these noisy and crowded backpackers place in Hanoi.

Room Tip: The 8th floor is really quiet cause you don't hear the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterasie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Although at first the location does not seem the best, it is actually the perfect location for everything a traveller needs. The staff are all genuinely nice and would go out of their way to help anyone. The only thing wrong with this hotel is that it does not have room-service for food & drinks but have plenty of surrounding restaurant do take-aways. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The surrounding restaurants can sometimes be a little expensive so spread your wings when it comes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice little place right in the heart of the old quarter. Shower, toilet and big king size bed. TV had a million stations with ABC Australia and CNN US channels. Staff were great and really helpful. Ask and you shall receive. Great people and place to stay. Throw in breakfast, western and eastern. Eggs and bacon, omelette if you ask. What more could you want.

Room Tip: 317 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moran127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great hotel in a terrific location, huge spacious rooms with a city view & everything one could ever want, lovely & clean with happy, friendly & very helpful staff., also have a good lift & good wifi connections.
Close to the Cathedral & within walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake, markets, dozens of restaurants in the area.
Certainly will return & highly recommend.

Room Tip: 8th Floor brilliant, no noise, quite & peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annisa161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Hanoi

Property: Paramount Hotel Hanoi
Address: 28 Ngo Huyen str | Hoan Kiem dis, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Hanoi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paramount Hotel, 28 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, is located near Hoan Kiem Lake, the heart of Hanoi, one street from St. Joseph’s Cathedral in an area offering a wide choice of excellent Western style and Vietnamese restaurants. On the edge of Hanoi’s Old Town of Thirty-Six Streets, the hotel is surrounded by colourful shops selling silk, lacquer, wood and stone sculpture, one block from Hanoi’s Silk Street, Hang Gai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paramount Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing