We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Hanoi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Advisor Hotel
Ranked #55 of 671 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hostel is the best bang for your buck in any way, it's cheap, it's clean, it's located right in the heart of the action in the old quarter, Chien the owner is the nicest guy, helped us with everything, and his service cannot be beat, breakfast was great, snacks during the day If u passed by, water bottles are cheap, his prices on tours and bus tickets cannot be beat, and we had shopped around. Hot showers, good rooms, great service and at a low price, this made our stay in Hanoi a breeze. Fantastic overall

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaigandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 293 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 3 nights in Hanoi Advisor hotel. Hanoi was the first stop of our trip so it was very nice to stay in a hostel with such a nice family. They did everything to make our stay perfect even things for free (they took us to the water puppet theater with motorbike to get ticket in time). breakfast is also very nice, you can choose from 4-6 different meal in the evening and they make it for you for breakfast. i recommend this hotel to everyone who wants some nice calm (only a few rooms) hostel in the busy Hanoi

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Judit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I stay 2 nights in this hotel, 1 night after arrived in hanoy, and 1 night after halong bay trip. Mr. Cien, the owner of this hotel gave me a special price, with a big room, queen size bed, tv with international program, simple but nice breakfast, air cond and his family hospitality. He gave me many option for halong baytrip, and I choose one of it. It was nice, excellent one night trip for halong bay. He also had many choices for other trip, like day trip in hanoy. He will not push us to buy, but gave us an option to spend hanoi in our limited time. Next time, I'll stay in this hotel again for my trip to sapa ir ninh bihn. This hotel is located in old quarter area, close with food stall and restaurant and only 5-7 minutes walk to old quarter. Really enjoy stay in this hotel

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank caknyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had been studying a 4 week course in Hanoi and stayed at the Advisor Hotel for the month and I had a really great stay. The family who run the hotel is amazing and went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The room was lovely, with a great breakfast. They helped me send packages back home, and were always there to help me with anything I needed.
I would highly recommend this hotel, the family will really make you feel at home and welcome. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked our Halong Bay tours with Hanoi Advisor and was very pleased with their service. They also booked our airport transfer and we were given the best rate in the city. I really trust this couple.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LimeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have spent 10 days in Vietnam and it was really a memorable trip. The family who run the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived in Noi Bai airport earlier than expected, and the driver arranged from the hotel was already waiting there. We have been warned of the taxi scams in Hanoi thus it was really a relief to arrange the hotel pick up.

I have contacted Mr. Doan, the hotel owner through emails months before our vacation to inquire for the hotel rate. To our surprise, Mr. Doan even planned our itinerary for our 10 days vacation in Hanoi. He suggested several tours and offered us very reasonable price for all the tours. We have booked all our tours through the hotel (4 days 3 nights to Sapa, Tam Coc day tour and 2 day 1 night Halong Bay tour) and it turned out to be a wise choice. We even enjoyed a free upgrade to Deluxe junk for our Halong Bay tour. Everything was arranged perfectly and we really enjoyed the tours.The Sapa tour was the highlight of our trip - friendly English speaking local tour guide, comfortable night trains, splendid view of rice terraces at Sapa etc. The one night homestay allowed us to experience the lifestyle of Hmong tribes.

It was also Mid autumn festival on the second day of our trip. To our delight, Mr. Chien's wife offered us two mooncakes before they sent us to the Night train to Sapa. The mooncakes were later shared among the Hmong tribe family during our homestay at Sapa. The free breakfast delivered to our doorstep every morning is a delight. We have always loved the fresh warm baguette with omellete, cheese and jam. On our very last day at Hanoi, we even went to one of the biggest shopping malls in Hanoi with Mr. Chien's wife by public bus. Mrs. Chien also invited us to try "chicken feet" before we left Hanoi.

All in all, I would like to recommend to anyone to stay in Hanoi Advisor Hotel. A big thank you to Mr. Chien and family from Malaysia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Advisor Hotel in Hanoi is a family-run hostel/ hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi with a very friendly atmosphere. We arrived at the Noi Bai Airport in the middle of the night, so we were more than grateful that the owner of the hostel organised a hassle-free pick up for a reasonable price for us (even though there are cheaper possibilities I think). The room was really big with two king size beds and a private bathroom. We wanted the owner, who practically lives with his wife and little son in the lobby of the hotel, to organise trips to Halong Bay and Cuc Phuong National Park for us. The communication was a bit hard, because his English wasn't the best and he tried to sell us really expensive trips, although we told him we are budget travellers and we exactly knew there were cheaper ways. Only when we told him that we found a much cheaper hostel in Halong City he was willing to find a cheaper one too. In his booking records i saw that we were booked to the same big room with two beds for our return, but when we came back he put us into a room on the top floor (the hotel doesnt have a lift and the staircase is VERY narrow, so getting up the luggage was an adventure itself) without window and black mould on the wall. Not exactly what we expected for our return after an exhausting trip, but we had to accept it since he already put someone else in our former room. Then he organised another trip to Ninh Binh for us and booked a cheap (finally he understood what cheap means for us!) hotel room for us. We were really satisfied with our stay there and when we came back he again put us in a small room without window, this time at least only on the 2nd floor and without mould which already made it much better! He had kept our big luggage while we were in Ninh Binh, which was a real relief for us.
All in all a stay in Advisor Hostel is actually recommendable: The owner and his wife do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible, even though they of course try to earn as much money as possible with you - what do you expect!? They wash your laundry for a low price, they store your luggage, organise trips and airport pickups/ dropoffs for you and a nice small breakfast that you can choose is included in the really cheap price for the rooms!
Still, there was something that i didn't like so much: Since the owner lives in the lobby with his wife it was always a bit awkward to come back late at evening/ night because they were having family diner or were already sleeping and you felt bad for waking them up or disturbing their diner etc....
Further, if you plan to meet other backpackers and go partying, this is probably not the right place for you.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms with window are definitely better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#64 of 607 in Hanoi
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,427 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Advisor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Advisor Hotel

Address: 09 Ngo Gach | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 671 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $11 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Advisor Hotel is a family hotel, located right in the heart of Hanoi's Historic Old Quarter, just 5 minutes walk away to Hoan Kiem lake the heart point of Hanoi Capital, beside many Vietnamese and Western restaurants, banking and shopping streets. Hanoi Advisor Hotel is a perfect place for you to start your visit our beautiful city. Our rooms are all clean and comfortable for both without & with window & balcony, private bathrooms with 24 hours hot water and toiletries, fresh towels. Rooms have the basic and necessary things such as cable TV, air-conditioning & heating, mini bar, hair - dryer. And you can access internet through strong wireless signal in whole building, or we have free computer in the hotel lobby for you. We offer Lipton tea, Vietnamese Green tea & coffee whole time. Our light breakfast is enough for starting a day. Our travel deck is right in the hotel can help you to plan the memorial trips to visit all beautiful destinations in Vietnam such as booking daily trips to Ha Long Bay for sleeping on classical wooden boats or private sailing boats from Cat Ba island, Sapa trekking to minority villages and visit Bac Ha colorful market on every Sunday, Perfume Pagoda - one of original Pagoda in Vietname, Hoa Lu & Tam Coc - inland Halong Bay, advance tour to Northern - West & East by high quality motorbikes... Open tour bus ticket services to Ninh Binh/ Hue/ Hoi An/ Nha Trang/ Da Lat & Ho Chi Minh; Train ticket services to Lao Cai (Sapa)/ Hue/ Da Nang/ Nha Trang/ Mui Ne/ Ho Chi Minh and to China; Air flight ticket services in & out Vietnam. We also have transfer service (pick up & see off) from & to the Noibai International & Domestic airport. Please come and enjoy by yourself to find out the reason that Hanoi Advisor Hotel is your right choice. We are really pleasure to serve you!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing