We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #119 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Dear Mr Duc

We are happy that we make a right choice to stay in Charming Hotel. It was a pleasant stay throughtout our 1-week trip in Hanoi. Your service staff had been helpful, friendly and most importantly, no communication barrier as they understand and speak English. Overall, the hotel is well maintained and clean, which include the room.

Considering the rate offered and the facilities, including lift and free access to internet, Charming Hotel is value for money.

In term of location, it is quite convenient. The hotel is away from the main road and from noise. We had a quality sleep throughout. In term of location, it is situated near places of interest, such as Heon Kiem Lake, Old Quarter, French Quarter and Water Puppet Show Theatre. About 10 to 15 minutes to reach these places.

Rac

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Charming Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

I'd highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere quiet but central in the Old Quarter. The hotel is only small but facilities are great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed for 9 nights and received a free room upgrade which was a bonus. We also booked a Halong Bay overnight cruise through the hotel and it was also great value for money (at $61USD it was just about the cheapest around but the cruise itself was great fun). Nothing was too much trouble for Mr Duc and the crew. Breakfast was included in the room rate and although fairly basic was more than adequate. If you're after a budget option this is a great value hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

It's been almost a year since we stayed in Hanoi, but we still have wonderful memories of the Hotel Charming. The staff were so nice and genuinely friendly and helpful. We arranged our Halong Bay tour and train trip to Sapa through the hotel, which worked out well. We were able to use a room to shower up in after returning from Halong Bay before leaving on the train to Sapa at no cost. The neighbourhood of the hotel is great, and its location is super. It was worth it to upgrade to the larger rooms, as the smaller ones were quite cramped. The bathroom was very clean, and the larger room was comfortable. But, as others have mentioned, it was the staff that really made the place special. A special hello to Giang, Dao, Oanh, and Mr. Duc from your friends in Canada.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is a great little place in the heart of Hanoi on a lovely little passage called Yen Thai. Everyone here was great and they even let us in at 4am one morning when we returned back from our travels to Sa Pa.

Free breakfast is good (especially if you like your eggs in the morning). We left our luggage here when we were in Sa Pa and returned to find it safe and sound.

Probably not the cheapest place in Hanoi and rooms aren't huge. But they are comfortable and the location is only a few minutes walk to the Lake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k0nG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Hanoi Charming. The staff was so helpful and kind. The rooms were clean and cute and the location was very convenient. Breakfast was also very good with fresh juices, fruit, and western and vietnamese options. I would definitely stay there again if I visited Hanoi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Like almost every reviewer here has said, the most charming part of Charming Hotel is the staff. While every single one of them were incredibly nice and polite and went out of their way to help, I have to give a very special mention to Loan, the young lady at reception who was the shining star of this hotel. You will know who she is, she really is amazing and stands out even in a sea of excellent staff. She was so helpful in every way, i had a few complaints on checkin, which I won't mention here because it seems petty to mention them considering how well and super efficiently everything was fixed by Loan! The location was perfect. Right in the heart of all the action. My booking was handled through emails very efficiently, the owner always replies within hours, if not minutes. My airport pickup went without any glitches. Free wifi in all the rooms was great. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. The standard room is a little on the small side but this is Hanoi and space is at a premium so that's just the way it is. Breakfast was fine, it gets a bit chaotic in the breakfast area in the mornings considering there are only 4-5 tables there but it's not a deal breaker. Loan was so incredibly nice to organise one of the staff members to spend a few hours driving me around the sights of Hanoi in her motorbike and she would not accept any payment from me for this. Who does that! Thank you Loan, and thank you to all the staff at Charming Hotel for your amazing service standard!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Charming Hotel is a hotel I would like other budget to 3-star property owners to emulate.
Nothing fancy about their location or interiors, but the service provided by the management and staff is worth complimenting. To me, I had one of the best holiday experience and a big part of that was contributed to the way and passion the staff of Charming put into serving its customers.
I describe this hotel as a 2-star property with 5 star service.
It's a no-brainer to stay at Charming.
Last but not least, Mr. Duc (the Manager), keep up the good standards.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigchief_watuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#61 of 596 in Hanoi
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#167 of 596 in Hanoi
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#200 of 596 in Hanoi
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#135 of 596 in Hanoi
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#138 of 596 in Hanoi
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing