We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that lives up to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #132 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Had a really nice experience with charming hotel during our 4 day stay in Vietnam. The hotel is hidden in a small little alley so there wasn't much noise from traffic .The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't face any problems with the air-conditioning or water heater. The toilets were clean. The rooms were windowless but we didn't have any problems with ventilation. Each room comes with with internet access as well as cable TV.

The staffs were really helpful and friendly. The lovely receptionists have a good command of english thus making it easier to communicate and have an enjoyable experience overall.
The manager, Mr Duc, is a really friendly guy and he would take the initiative to ask and talk to us about how is the hotel stay and if theres anything he could help us with.

Overall, a really wonderful hotel for its really affordable price. It certainly lives up to its charming name.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amirrudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2009

I would say this is a good budget hotel, it has good services. The staffs are friendly, always giving a smile to its customers. The room rates are at a reasonable price. You can even have them to help you hire a private cab to fetch you from/ or to certain places...
Overall, I have a very good impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalNeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Admittedly I had low expectations, fuelled by suspicions over the large number of v positive reviews by single-post reviewers.

However everything worked out well from the airport pickup (in a new and comfortable suv, complimentary with a stay of at least 3 nights) to the service (polite and helpful staff decently fluent in English who weren't pushy with tours) and the room (I had one of the cheapest window-less rooms which was small but adequate). Breakfast was a basic but adequate choice of eggs, toast or pho each morning. Location was convenient too.

Only gripes were that I couldn't get a wifi signal in the room, the a/c in my room was acting weird and the walls/door weren't well soundproofed. But all in all, entirely recommended for the price, especially considering the free airport pickup.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkoherent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Staff was friendly, helpful and eager to help.
Hotel is clean and very well located.
Some rooms don't have a view (they do have a window, only there's a wall 20cm away).
Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vince_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I love the street the hotel is located at, since it is a pretty quiet street right in the centre of Hanoi.
Very kind staff, very nice breakfasts and clean and comfy rooms.

I enjoyed my stay, had a great rest and felt pretty much at home there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Charming Hotel is within walking distance from the night market. The hotel has excellent and friendly staff who will go the extra mile to help occupants. For example, there was a time the water from the heater is not hot enough. The staff came immediately after I made the call. He tried for about half an hour to get the heater working, without a word of complaint. Very good service! I came back to the hotel 1 day earlier after my short trip, sad to find out that the hotel does not have any room. The hotel staff arranged us to go to another hotel and picked us up with their motor bike the next morning, even though it is within walking distance. Moreover, Mr Duc readily provided us a room to shower before we left for our Sapa trip, despite the fact that we checked out the room in the morning. I would strongly recommend this hotel to travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We arrived in Hanoi at midnight and when dropped off at our hotel, we had no idea what a find it was. From the moment we arrived, the staff was helpful, attentive and courteous. The rooms are comfortable, the location unbeatable and the breakfast, with a choice of western or local got us going in the morning.

This was excellent value and we stayed for 5 amazing days with Mr Duc and his excellent staff as our host.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BicyclinBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#149 of 599 in Hanoi
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#324 of 599 in Hanoi
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#180 of 599 in Hanoi
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 599 in Hanoi
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#196 of 599 in Hanoi
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $18 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing