We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return stay at Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #131 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had stayed there with my mom , aunt and daughter 3 years ago in 2010 and when we went to Vietnam this time with a family party of 5 , I had no hesitations in booking with them again. Mr Duc , the contact person on their website is extremely efficient and responsive. I knew we would arrive quite late at the airport in Hanoi ( 10 PM)) so asked to be picked up . We were an hour late and the driver was still there waiting for us.
Charming is a budget facility with standard budget rooms and wet bathrooms but everything is kept clean, there is a computer at your disposal in each room, wireless is also available . Granted some rooms have no windows ans most windows look upon other walls but who stays at a budget hotel for the view? Air conditioning is in every room and it is very efficient.The complimentary breakfast is quite delicious and varied but there is also all kinds of amazing street food in the area.
The strength of this hotel is in its staff: they are amazing! Warm, efficient, hard working , helpful ; I cannot praise them enough.The counter ladies, are very fluent in English and the young porters/security men who sleep in the entry lobby at night because the hotel is locked for your security yet attended by these young men who sleep on the floor to be available if you return late.
There are 2 elevators so you need not fear walking up narrow steep stairs hauling heavy cases.
Mr Duc arranged for our Halong Bay trip since I knew I would not have time to do it as we arrived late at night and left the very next morning for Halong.They stored our luggage ( you only take what you need for the overnight cruise)and welcomed us back for another night when we returned.
Hanoi Charming is affiliated with some other hotels in Hue and Mr Duc booked those for us also.At the last moment there was a snafu with room availability at my chosen budget hotel and Mr Duc upgraded us to another of their more expensive property while still charging us the original budget prices.
This hotel may be a budget property but they treat you as though you are family coming to stay at a well liked relative's home.Don't hesitate to stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Charming hotel 1

This review is long overdue but looking through photos prompted us to remember.
Our family of three stayed at this wonderful place several times in November 2013
We had been on an around the world trip and Vietnam was our last port of call.
This was the best place we stayed at in all our travels,the rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable,leaving you wanting for nothing.
The staff were incredible,they were the most welcoming,beautiful and friendliest people,they couldn't do enough for you.The customer service at this place is outstanding ,they go above and beyond anything we have ever encountered.
I would stay nowhere else if travelling to Hanoi,you would not be disappointed,
Charming hotel is certainly Charming.
Our son Finn was invited several times to have lunch with the staff and he loved them.
We miss you all and thank-you so much for such a wonderful holiday.
Fondest regards,
Matt,Pia and Finn ( still travelling, Australia )

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matpiafinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a prepaid room and arrived around midnigth. So far evrything was ok, went straigth to bed and tried to sleep. Woke up a few hours later and discovered that all the air was 'used' since there where no ventilation and no window to open either. Next morning we talked to the receptionist and wanted to change room. Answer was that we could not have another room and no other room had windows. So we was stuck there three adults sleeping in a room with no windows an no ventilation. No good sleep there. Id say go some other place and get a room with window and ventilation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Dag-Magne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear travelers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourselves better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
We would like to say with the author that the room you booked was the room without window as we mentioned on our website.At the time you wanted to changed the room ,we had no room with window available ,so we could not change it for you.If we have had window room,we would be ready to change it for you without any doubt.Additionally,all of our room have ventilation to take air to inside.May be ,you stayed one night so you did not recognize that.
We hope you can understand a little bit for us.
We would like to welcome you back one day and try our best to bring you the most comfortable stay.
Many thanks again and Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

All the staff at charming were so beautiful and welcoming. They took the time to ask about our trip and kept our bags safe while we went to sapa and halong bay. The only down side was that the hot water ran out pretty fast.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tessatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 3 day stay initially but extended another 3 days after our Sapa trip. I couldn't write a bad thing about this hotel, the staff are very friendly + genuine and I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

We got the airport pickup - I would say this essential to avoid the airport taxi scam that you read about. Our flight was late in by an hour and then we got stuck waiting for our luggage for 2 hours. I didn't think anyone would wait that long to get us but the driver was still patiently waiting on the other side.

The rooms were clean, and comfortable with free wifi and a good shower. The fridge is stocked with water, beer and soda at the same price you can buy for on the street - something you don't normally expect from a hotel.

We had some laundry done and the price was also great.

I didn't book any tours through them as I had a local friend to help us out but I would have been quite happy to have used them.

Very customer service driven and a good experience.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kingmurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely five – day holiday recently in Hanoi, from 4-9 February, 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Charming II thanks very much to the magnificent and wonderful services provided by Mary and her team which includes Danny, Johnny, Tracy and many others. The services, right from the time we check in with the welcome drink to the time we were seen off by the taxi for the airport, were truly marvelous. There are so many great things about this hotel. The room is large for the price we paid, clean and neatly cleaned up each time we return from our walks around The Old Quarter or side trips. Breakfast is ample and varied. The wide selection ranges from the typical Western breakfast of egg and fried bacon and ham, to Vietnamese fare of pho, fried rice and fried noodles. All these to go with a wide selection of breads such as croissant, baguette and plain bread. But most of all, every staff in Charming II is friendly and ever ready to serve with a smile. Mary is always available for you to plan your side trips out of Hanoi, such as to Halong Bay, or other places. She spent time patiently with us to choose the kind of trip that we really want out of Halong Bay and the other trip to Tam Coc and Hoa Lu. My wife was keen to try making fresh spring roll from the cooking lesson on the Halong Bay tour, and Mary was ever helpful to point out the kind of fine ingredients such as the fish sauce and noodles which we managed to purchase from the nearby Dong Xuan dry and wet market before we flew home. We highly recommend Charming II for anyone who wants to enjoy Hanoi being well taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spOt_ON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for three nights in the second half of January 2014. Hotel nice, very well located in the heart of the old quarter. Close to the main attractions. Clean, well worth the money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Through the hotel, we organized a trip to Halong Bay, everything was ok after returning from a trip, to my surprise, was waiting for me a birthday cake. It was very nice. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#320 of 603 in Hanoi
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#203 of 603 in Hanoi
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#155 of 603 in Hanoi
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#142 of 603 in Hanoi
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#196 of 603 in Hanoi
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing