We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And I didn't even stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #99 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“And I didn't even stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A friend I was meeting up with had booked this hotel, I had booked a more expensive hotel not far away....my mistake. This hotel is so aptly named, the staff were fantastic. We booked our 2 day trip to Halong bay through the hotel and while we were away they looked after out heavier bags then when we returned to collect them, before our onward journey, they provided us with a room to take a shower and rest for a couple of hours, no charge! and I hadn't even stayed here. The room was spacious (for a back street in Hanoi) and clean with not only free WIFI but a computer in the room for exclusive use. Everybody we met at the hotel, staff and guests, had a smile on their faces and in hindsight I would have booked here and stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bendles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    279
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
131
589
173
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My stay was perfect. I had a very nice and clean room. It had a big and beautiful window. The staff was super helpful, so helpful that they even prepared some breakfast to go so I could catch my flight at 6am!!! Tina and the boys where super helpful with maps and really sweet. It really makes a difference to find friendly staff when you are a woman and travelling alone.
The location is perfect, near the Water puppet show, so if you go see it at night you can easily walk back, the area feels very safe.
Also it is near the Metropole where you can get the best cocktails in town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Totally recommend this hotel. Having traveled around Asia many times I would happily say that this was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Great location down a quiet alley. Our room on the 6th floor was quiet and tranquil(double glazed windows) with a view over the city roof tops.It was our little oasis after a day walking around the noisy streets of Hanoi.
The whole place was spotlessly clean. The room was spacious with a big bathroom and had excellent high speed WIFI. The breakfast was good with multiple choice of Continental or Asian or bacon and eggs(scrambled, fried etc). Good coffee and juices as well. Great value for the money.
But the thing that really made this place were the staff. I have never met such a group of friendly helpful people. Everyone was super polite and they really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They were really knowledgeable and helpful about local bookings. The lovely receptionist Hong would book our taxi's for us and then walk with us down to the corner and make sure the driver knew where to take us and would not rip us off with the price.
Charming Hotel is aptly named.....we will be back

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with opening windows facing the alley.....some back rooms have no windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary34498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great welcome, great atmospher within the staff - staff available and helpful at anytime ( waking up to prepare us breakfast at 4am for early fight . Good breakfast, good location outside of the usual suspect hotels to discover the old town and its boiling atmospher.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice hotel located in the heart of Hanoi. You will find an amazing staff who will help you with anything you need to have a pleasant staying in the city.
The facilities are overall very good: soft beds, nice bathrooms, a pc with internet connection; and a tasty breakfast is served every morning including the amazing pho soup.
Definitely a good hotel if you want quality with a fair price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cesar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Got aa taxi fortunately as down a little alley you can't get cars down so would have missed it initially. Good location, helpful at booking tours, good wifi, clean comfy and spacious. Simple but adequate breakfast. Good value for money. Quite noisy to hear sounds out in corridor

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I must admit that I picked the hotel because of it's good tripadvisor reviews. And the only moment when I regretted my decision was when I found out that due to my own ignorance I had booked a room without window. Never had such a cave before in my entire life.

The staff compensated for this with their marvellous attitude. All good things said here about the hotel are entirely true! Great value for money and superb location...the only better hotel in Hanoi I have been to is it's sister hotel "Hanoi Serene" - diagonally on the other side of the street from "Charming".

Room Tip: Standard rooms have no window. So, read the room description carefully before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#84 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#161 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming Hotel
Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing