We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Legend Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Legend Hotel
Ranked #91 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Little Red Dot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed at Hanoi Legend Hotel as it did appear to have better facilities and location than our previous hotel. However, appearances are deceiving. The airconditioning was poor. There was an uncovered hole in the toilet wall that lets the neighbours see you bathe and the rain shower should be called droplet shower instead. All tolerable but what was the final disappointment was the miserable breakfast (a pittance of featherlight baguette and jam). We decided to change hotels after discovering a steal for USD5 more at another hotel (with BUFFET breakfast, DVD player, super comfy toilet and shower and better furnished rooms) just a few steps down on the same street. When we expressed our desire to change, we were told that we had to pay for an additional night as we did not let them know in advance. Fair, we thought. Just another night anyway. However, when we checked out the next day, we were told that our deposit of 10% paid previously had to be forfeited too as we did not stay on the agreed number of nights! Ultimate. There is no hotel policy that is displayed anywhere in the rooms or even at the hotel reception but yet customers have to unwittingly abide by.
I guess you can say that we are fussy or maybe it was just that particluar room (we did ask to change but our request was politely declined). However, we did not think that Hanoi Legend Hotel is worth recommending to anyone. You can definitely get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanong02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

A very nice clean hotel, we booked a triple room which had 3 single beds which was great as it mean't we didn't have to share. The only problem was the many stairs we had to climb to get to the room, they offered to help carry bags but we declined.

We got picked up at the airport, and they waited even though our flight was delayed, it was $18 dollars but worth it as you don't have to worry about taxi scams.

The price is amazing $28 a night. The location is excellent you can walk to the shopping areas and places to eat and drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they offered us a tour of Halong bay but understood when we booked through a tour company.

Arranged a taxi to the sights for us and a taxi to the airport. Bathroom was big, as was the room. Breakfast was included though this was just bread and jam, and internet was free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pygmyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryazan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

Ngoc Hoang Dinh: We stayed in Ngoc Minh Hotel for 5 nights ( booked through Agoda.com and paid 27 $ US for Double Room), the staff were very good ,friendly and the location is excellent. Rooms are a good size with all the usual amenities - tea and coffee, bathroom accessories etc. If you head for the fountain - a few minutes walk from the hotel you can find plenty of good restaurants .There is free internet connection at lobby and wifi internet access in room, and we booked a Halong Bay trip through them with no problems. After returning from our trip ,Tinh-receptionist gave us a room to shower and change in even though we had checked out. Highly recommend this great value hotel.

  • Liked — staff, services
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marinaRyazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at the Ngoc Minh for 3 nights in a double. The room was clean and quite big. We paid 25 USD per night, breakfast and free internet included. For the third night, we were put in another room as we booked first for two nights only.

The rooms were OK, but the first one was noisy and the second one had no windows at all. The breakfast was basic: dry baguette, butter, jam and some fruit plus tea or coffee - we had better breakfast in cheaper hotels in Vietnam before. So far we would say this hotel is overpriced but otherwise OK.

What made us angry was the tour booking service of the hotel. We booked a one day trekking trip to the perfume padoda for 25 USD per person with a so called high quality company called Rubicon. There was an option available to take the cable car, but we booked the trekking option.

We were picked up 60 minutes late and found out that we were put into a group of a different operator - KIM tours. Other people in the same group paid only 15 USD and the group size was bigger than the promised maximum of 16 people. Instead of a van we were put into an old huge bus. On the way we had a 45 minutes toilet break in a souvenir shop - god only knows why we had to wait for such a long time there. Arrived at the base of the hill leading to the perfume pagoda which stands on the top, we were told that there might be security problems with the trekking path and that we might not get to the top. With this explanation the whole group was pushed until everybody bought the cable car tickets - additional 4 USD per person.

We think the tour guide wanted to catch up time because we were 2 hours late and all other groups had left for the top long before. When we wanted to go down again the cable car had already stopped operation. Furthermore, we were told by the last few travellers on top that the trekking path was in perfect condition and they would recommend this trekking path even for children.

We asked the hotel for a full reimbursement as we booked a trekking tour and did not get any trekking and because the group size, bus quality and the tour guide did not meet the high quality promise. After several days of complaining, all we were offered was a 5 USD payback. And of course the manager was never there when we complained.

After having travelled for 3 months in Thailand, Lao, Cambodia and Vietnam, we have to say that staying at this hotel was one of the worst experiences we made on our trip. A place to avoid.

  • Liked — The rooms were perfectly clean
  • Disliked — How they handled our complaint
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourasia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
5.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
4.8 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
4.7 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Legend Hotel

Property: Hanoi Legend Hotel
Address: 47 Luong Ngoc Quyen street, Hanoi 8443, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Legend Hotel- not a story but a legend! A hotel that takes pleasure business and to heart, enjoy the best of Hanoi Old Quarter while being pampered with superb accommodation and excellent service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing