We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in old quater”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Lotus Hotel
Ranked #181 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in old quater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Small cozy hotel close to Hoan Kiem lake. Small but beautiful room. Staff is friendly and sweet. After our stay we came back two times to wait for transfers to Lao Cai and Danang and they offered us free tea and made us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FvanHassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    118
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
118
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is positioned beautifully, close to the center, but not to crowdy. Also the overall quality of the beds & brealfast was good.
Special credits go out to the staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Nice central location to the old quarters and the customer service is great. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning before heading out to see the sites. Lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singleton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

give this hotel a miss the staff never smiled the rooms are tiny & full of useless furniture & very expensive rates for wat u get breakfast was ordinary , lotus hotel over the road was much better make sure you get the new hotel if booking a room

Room Tip: dont get a room to close to the top bar the staff like to drag around furniture & dont stop even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregdennis334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenLotusHotel, Manager at Golden Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you very much for spending time to share our hotel to the viewer of Tripadvisor.com
I highly appreciate your evaluation!
Anyway,we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you.
So,if possible,could you please let us know more what things you're not happy about our hotel,we're try to fix those mistakes or atleast ,we can explain for you more understand about ours.
Hopefully we could serve you better next trip to Hanoi.
Good luck to you and see you soon.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Golden Lotus 2 Hotel is ideally located in the Old Quarter of Ha Noi. It is within walking distance of Hoan Kiem Lake, shops, water puppet show and restaurants. My wife and I stayed here for one week. The rooms are great: lovely wooden floors, furnished with exotic taste. A wonderful buffet breakfast is provided and the service is excellent.

The staff are friendly and really helpful. If we ever come back to Hanoi, we will definitely stay at The Golden Lotus 2 Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Golden Lotus 2 was a perfect retreat in busy Hanoi. The Suite Rooms at the front of the hotel are huge with lovely wooden floors and lots of natural light from large windows facing the street. They are furnished with traditional oriental silks and lots of old world charm. A wonderful buffet breakfast is provided and the service is excellent. The staff are what really make this place special as they are all warm and friendly and always ready with a smile and happy to help.
It is worth paying the bit extra for a suite room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Good well equipped room. Breakfast good - you can order rice noodle soup and omelettes. A good location in the old town, so that you can walk to the market and lake.

Room Tip: I think that some rooms do not have windows. This is a tall thin building, with a bar on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#135 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#87 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Trong
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#98 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lotus Hotel

Property: Golden Lotus Hotel
Address: 39 Hang Trong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lotus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 rooms and suites with modern facilities, right in the centre of Hanoi and near Hoan Kiem Lake ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing