We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel
Ranked #189 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Maison over a span of 13 days. In that time we checked out twice to tour locations in other parts of vietnam. As we were only away for a couple of days at a time we were able to leave our main luggage at the hotel until we returned.We have stayed in Hanoi on two other occasions and found this hotel to be in a really good location.We love to spend time in the evenings sitting around Hoan Kiem lake which is within walking distance. The pace outside the hotel is not quite as mad as you find deep in the Old Quarter but there is till plenty going on and you dont have to go far to get into the thick of it. The rooms are well appointed, the beds are the most comfortable we have slept in anywhere in Vietnam. We dont normally like a shower in the bath but Id be getting picky to complain about it. The staff are very friendy and any request we made over the phone to reception was looked after very promptly. Checkin and check out was a breeze. The breakfast was not extensive but for a small hotel it was quite good.If there was anything I would make a negative comment about would be the fridges in a couple of the rooms we stayed in. They were very small and just didnt keep drinks cold enough. I would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Walpower,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Maison D’Hanoi Hotels . I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much and best regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    200
    47
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
201
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms as we were travelling with a 15 & 12 year old, our rooms were placed at the back of the hotel at the end of the hallway, perfect for us, kids had a large twin room and our room although slightly smaller was perfect for what we needed. If your looking for a hotel to just stay in and not really get out and amongst it, probably not the hotel for you, but as a base this was perfect - location is awesome, the staff we simply cannot fault at all - we had a mistake with our booking and the staff sorted it all out, with a smile and grace, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast whilst not extensive was good, Vietnamese coffee was actually really good, beds were comfortable, clean and bathrooms were also pretty good - for the price you pay here this hotel is excellent.
Tips - ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the lift only goes to the tenth floor, floors 11, 12 & 13 don't have lift access, the spa is ok, cheap, but not the best.
All in all, really happy with this hotel - nicer than its sister hotel I think

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel decor and rooms were lovely and all you needed was in the rooms. staff were friendly and the breakfast good, however we booked a triple and the third bed was a trundle and hard as a rock. It was bearable as we only stayed a night at a time in between tours. I was annoyed that we had to bring our own bags down when checking out. Overall good value for money and excellent location

Room Tip: Go some where else if you want or need family over a couple of rooms with kids as they didn't pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Immaculate hotel in a perfect location. Rooms are very well appointed and clean. The massive bed was very comfortable. Every single staff member was so polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Service was always prompt and efficient. Really appreciated that they stored our bags when we went to Halong Bay.Breakfast was amazing- so many choices! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear "Físd71",

It was a real pleasure reading such positive a feedback as yours and I thank you for that.

I will pass on your kind words to my teams which will serve as an encouragement to all of them to keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Maison D’Hanoi Hanova Hotels

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were a bit unsure about this hotel, but were pleasantly surprised. Staff were very welcoming on our arrival offering cold refreshments in a nice cool lobby. Initially duty manager came across quite abrupt but he mellowed during our 4 day stay. We were aware of the 'no window' issue in Hanoi so upgraded to a room with a window, but it had this really weird shaft in the room which went all the way down to ground floor level, bizarre! We were on the 10th floor & had a great view, across the rooftops, actually there wasn't much to see! A/C was brilliant, rooms clean, comfy & quiet, tea & coffee facilities in room. We ate in the restaurant on first night, bit overpriced, but we were too tired to go out to look for a place to eat so it met our needs. Compared to other hotels breakfast a bit disappointing, though coffee was good, restaurant staff a bit slow, we ended up helping ourselves to coffee. Reception staff helpful with directions & provision of maps. We had a discussion with one of the girls about going to the Mausoleum, we enquired about the correct dress requirements, storage of bags etc., at the mausoleum, they knew that was where we were going - but - unfortunately they didn't tell us it was closed Sept -Nov!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a window, higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear "Little Journey"

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I was sad and sorry to read your comments regarding your recent experience at the Maison d’Hanoi Hanova Hotel Thank you for sharing your comments, we reviewed your comments and have taken away some specific action items, as well as some learnings.

I am grateful for your feedback as this is a very important aspect to help us improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location - good. Located in the Old Quarter.

Room - Very small and almost no natural sunlight. So if you're a tourist or visitor who spend majority of time outside, it has a value for money. If you wish to have relax moment in the hotel room then maybe not.

Food - My suggestion is to explore what Hanoi has to offer outside of the hotel.

Staff - very friendly.

As in most of local hotels, it would be great for few years and then start to notice many things not working in order... however this is when you have to accept "you get what you paid for"

Verdict - If you're an international business traveller, I would still recommend International branded hotels. If you're a tourists coming to Hanoi for few days then, recommended.

Sincerely hope you have preventive maintenance program in place rather than wait and then fix when things go out of order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear "Babsttk"

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the Maison D’Hanoi Hanova Hotels enjoyed our location in the very center of Hanoi. We are glad you really appreciated the service from our team .

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon, on your next visit.

Warm and regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was by chance we stayed here as it was booked through our travel agent. The staff are very friendly, but with some there is a little language misunderstanding, but it was always clarified in the long run.
It is a centrally located hotel close in the old quarter and close to Hoan Kiem Lake. The rooms are on the smallish side but very clean (unless you look under the bed), linen good and beds comfortable, The rooms on the inside have no external windows so check: only if you want a view. The street rooms overlook Hang Trong Street and you can watch the life of the locals. They have a restaurant, although in the basement and no view and no bar, but you can grab a drink in the restaurant. They do have spa facilities. The hallways of the rooms are very dark and gloomy, but they have sensor lights as you walk past the rooms.
The breakfast was included and was buffet style. The food was average. In saying that there are plenty of restaurants or street stalls in close vicinity for you to try for lunch and dinner.
They were very accommodating as we left our bags here whilst we had a visit to Halong Bay and also Sapa. This varied from overnight to five nights.
Overall it was a great location and rooms served its purpose whilst staff friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SLG014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear "SLG014"

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Maison D’Hanoi Hotels. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of your room as well as our central Hanoi location. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel

Warm and regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#46 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
0.2 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel

Property: Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel
Address: 120 Quan Thanh Street | Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#68 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#75 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Maison d Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing