We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #250 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Decent hotel, no pool which is a bit surprising for a 4 star hotel.

The rooms are good though. Also there is a nightclub on the first floor, which is quite small i must say but overall fine. Location of the hotel is good, with a lake nearby. Good for business travelers.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TA420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    45
    12
    1
See reviews for
6
4
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for quite some time. I would like to share my personal experience (possibly it can help others). Location of this hotel is very good and especially stay becomes more interesting due to the adjacent lake.

1. Best is the Concierge Department, guys are really helpful, smiley, courteous and staffs in this department go extra miles to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Keep it up guys !!
2. House Keeping is the 2nd Best Department. Staffs are extremely polite, smiley and helpful. It seems like Moms are doing great job. All of you deserve Kudos too.
3. Reception is good however a little more smile does not cost either 
4. Business Centre is not so friendly, I feel a less Service Charge can really boost their business and fetch them kudos too. At times Service Charge is about 25% of the Actual Transaction Cost (which pushes me to reverse my transaction sometimes !!).
5. Varity & spread of the breakfast is not so good (if stay is longer). Almost the similar foods are presented every morning, kind of boring. Breakfast used to be GREAT earlier (when Breakfast was served in the M Floor). For last 2 years or so, it’s kind of disappointing. However, the staffs around are great !!
6. Given the status, size & reputation of the Hotel, I think Staffs can be given some English language training. It’s not impressive. Difficult to communicate, especially for the foreigners who all are trying to communicate over phone (for room service / restaurant / etc).
7. Their promotions are interesting and beneficial to customers.
8. Overall impression, definitely it’s a Value for Money staying here !!


Thanks & Regards / RAJAT

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAJAT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a couple of day

Hotel was nice room was reasonably clean

Breakfast wasn't that good as I expect but it's ok
Kitchen staff bit rude but that maybe from miscommunication...

For hotel that 80$ a night I think not worth a money

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

When arriving at the hotel the reception itself is rather small however service is rather fast as it was a lull period in the arrival of guests. If it was during a peak period, I would imagine things would be quite chaotic.

The hotel itself is rather dated. The rooms are very large is a nice plus point if you like large rooms. A positive thing for this hotel is the sound insulation of the rooms. It was a very peaceful stay.The room I got was the lakeside which gave a very nice of the lake. The room got the setting sun so it did get rather warm however the view of the lake quickly made up for it. Not many rooms in Hanoi will give you a view like that.

The breakfast is pretty decent as expected from a hotel of this level.

I agree with the other reviewers that this hotel is really meant for the business traveler in mind.

If you have the time during the day, when you exit the hotel and go right, you get a whole row of coffee shops and also a street wet market.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the lake as mentioned the view is nice. However if you want to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingabout00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for three days during my business visit to Hanoi. The Hotel is pretty descent if you wish just to have a comfortable stay after a day full tiring meetings. You can find a beautiful lake nearby this hotel and its a good place to have a walk in its banks. I was suprised to see people even do fishing in the night here. The negative part is that you dont have Swimming pool in this hotel but it is countered by the famous Hanoi Night Club situated in the first floor here. Good Music and overly priced drinks are available. Other than this you dont have any hangouts nearby and most proxime restaurants (incl. KFC) do not accept credit cards. Except the receptionist there is no one conversant with English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for a week or so. The rooms are very well equipped for business. At least the rooms designated for business stays have a living room that is separate from the bedroom, which is great for working from the hotel. The Internet was seamless and there's a business centre in the lobby. Spoken English of all staff I dealt with ranged from appropriate to very good.

The hotel itself is a bit old and a bit stuffy. I don't like AC personally but i had to use it because the high-rise windows do not open. At least not when I stayed there, but at the time of my stay they were replacing windows for noise reduction. Hopefully they have incorporated oxygen choices into those plans.

For ambience, really, in this hotel you could be anywhere in the world. You can't tell you're in Vietnam, which is a bit of a shame. The food in the restaurants is so-so and VERY expensive relative to the surrounding restaurants and the rest of Vietnam. The hotels and neighborhoods around old town are buzzing and this area really is not. I ate at the little sit out restaurants though a few times. It was buzzing and the food was good and I did not get sick at all. But if you like your comforts there's a little restaurant down the lakeside two blocks from the hotel called 'Be One', or similar. It has English menus and great food at much more 'normal' prices and it has wifi that works very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100_NicS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks so far and will be here for one month more. It's a decent business hotel. The receptionist are very nice and speak English. The room is good, and the view from the lake-wing is quite nice. The breakfast buffet is complimentary and there is a variety of choices, western and Vietnamese (and Chinese). There is one Business Centre where I booked my trip to Sapa. They offered 3 trip packs with good price. The Food Centre is so great and I had my dinner there lots of times. I love almost all the Cantonese dishes and they were so authentic! It's easy to get on taxi which is the only available transportation for me and not expensive. The price of laundry is reasonable and it makes my life easier. Overall, it's a good experience.

Room Tip: lake-side is of good view; family room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#121 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.4 mi away
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
#167 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#104 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#89 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hotel

Property: Hanoi Hotel
Address: D8 Giang Vo St, Ba Dinh Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Hanoi. It distinguishes itself from others because of its exclusive facilities that no other hotels can provide. This all-in-one hotel includes one of the top night clubs, the finest Chinese cuisine, and of course the best e-gaming center in Hanoi. Winners Club Slot Centre is one of Vietnam’s few electronic gaming venues with more than 50 slot machines, Blackjack, Baccarat, Roulette games, and Hanoi’s first and currently only poker table. If you are feeling lucky, undoubtedly a jackpot or winning hand awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing