We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“luxury at an afforable price but read on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince II Hotel
Ranked #233 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“luxury at an afforable price but read on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We paid 25 dollars a night for a double room with aircon/Tv/Wifi/Pc/hot shower. Clean and great decor. Free luggage storage. Internet on the PC is slow but wifi alright. AVOID if you can't walk up stairs. We stayed on the 5th floor and it's a long walk up. No one offered to carry up our heavy baggage.

They can book trains/buses for you. We booked an overnight sleeper Camel bus through them for 20dollars to Hue BUT I would avoid Camel bus altogether. The bus was disgusting to say the least.

We paid a deposit to say on our return to Hanoi and they didn't keep a room at this hotel, instead they took us on the back of a motorbike to Prince 8 which is not worth the $25 dollars and the location is not great either. That really annoyed me especially when I had asked to keep us a room on a lower level.

Room Tip: Choose a lower room number if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Hungry_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
15
52
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is tucked away up a little side street but it is a real gem for the price. The entrance is very tastefully decorated with lots of Asian Art. There is a dining area just off the reception area where the free breakfast is served. Other meals can be ordered there but at a reasonable price.

The front desk clerk was very friendly, helpful, and quite professional. We did not have reservations but the check in was trouble free. Cash or Credit card but there is a 5 % surcharge if you use the credit card, About $30 U.S. per night plus free breakfast. There is also conveniently a travel desk in the lobby featuring a comprehensive range of tours in and outside Hanoi.

Originally I was going to check out another place near by before deciding on the Prince but the owner of the hotel happened to be there. A very warm and friendly man., Although I did not speak Vietnamese, fortunately my GF did so there was no problem.and he expressed many positive things about the hotel which turned out to be quite true, He also offered a better than average room and offered to have someone show it to us.

. The only drawback for some was that there is no elevator. It wasn't a drawback for me. I love climbing stairs. Passive exercise. The doorman will take your bags up and will bring them down at the end of your stay. Walking up the stairs, the walls were adorned with beautiful paintings and sculptures that exceeded anything I would normally find at that rate.

Taking a look at the room clinched the deal. Very clean. Nicely decorated. Free wifi. Wonderful bedding., Very nice shower and bathtub. Ample closet space. Though there are other buildings right next to our windows they were of old french style construction and provided a nice view outside the shuttered windows. (I like architecture) Everything in the room worked and the AC and hot water were excellent. There is also a small refrigerator so you can bring up your snacks and beverages to store overnight . The quality of the room in my opinion exceeded the price of the room (about $30 U.S.per night).

This place is in a perfect location. There are many shops and restaurants ranging in price from sidewalk stands to somewhat fancy restaurants right outside and extending for blocks in every direction. There's also many little grocery stores nearby.

There is a wonderful lake withing about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel with a temple on the water which can be reached by crossing a bridge. It's a must see in my opinion and the entry fee is quite small. Exquisite sculptures in there. The trees around the lake and the lake itself are quite beautiful.

The food in this area from the smallest sidewalk stand to the nicest restaurant is absolutely varied and delicious. One thing I loved about even the simplest places, many provide a never ending portion of vegetables as long as there is soup in your bowl. Mmmmm, good!!! You will have no shortage of bars and restaurants in which to eat and drink.

There was a dance club right across from the hotel to which we did not go. Unfortunately the music could be heard in the room not loudly but pretty clear. It was a minor annoyance but not bad enough to find another place.. The owner promised that double pane windows were just about to be installed to remedy this problem and sure enough right before we checked out we saw the windows being brought in for installation. So I feel confident the music seeping through has most likely been remedied.

We had a small problem with housekeeping not straightening up the room properly on one day but one call to the front desk had this taken care of promptly. Otherwise the room was cleaned and straightened every day and tooth brushes, tooth paste and shampoo, conditioner and soap provided.

There is no safe in the room so you may want to leave a lap top at the front desk. They usually kept it pretty secure but there was one front desk clerk we had to encourage NOT to place it right next to the outer portion of the front desk where anyone could walk by if she were distracted and it could be picked up and stolen quite easily. She did not seem to grasp this concept but a co-worker seemed to explain to her the need for placing it in a more secure location behind the desk which she then did.. All other personnel were very positively responsive and sensitive to any of our expressed needs.

The free breakfast was somewhat meager consisting of a choice of traditional American which was two fried eggs, a hot dog (or two) and a couple of slices of toast. OR a bowl of delicious beef and noodles (especially when lime was added to it.) Free fruit is also made available on the table. If there are two people in the room but one person does not want breakfast, the other may order two breakfasts..

You may want to buy a mask if you are going to ride around the city. The air pollution can be somewhat bad at times and traffic pretty intense but I would visit again and again.

We took a tour to a location that was just stunning. It was a river which you could hire a boat person who would paddle with their feet up the river through a series of cave/tunnels which were for a me a first in a lifetime experience. Upon the completion of this part of the tour we then were provided with bicycles which expected to ride among the rice paddies and surrounding mountains which were stunning. I have somewhat of a balance problem but was still able to manage riding around on these old bicycles. The place is about an hour or so from the hotel by AC bus. You can book the tour there.

Overall the staff was excellent. The owner was so accessible and accommodating. Such a warm and friendly man. He really made us feel very special. I'm sorry it's taken me this long to write this review but hopefully better late than never.

We tipped everyone except the owner. I don't tip front desk staff as a rule but these lovely staff people well deserved it.

We were only going to stay for 5 days. We stayed here for about 9 or 10 days instead

Room Tip: I'm sure the double pane windows have remedied the music/noise problem but you may want to consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consciousbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel was in centre. it easy for you go to visit everywhere. Our room was cleaned very day. We satisfied with the good service. they can arrange for you some tour to Ha long bay or sapa. We will be back.

Room Tip: your should to looking forwalf a few hotel befor deciles to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonbou88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasman, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

very firendly staff, nice rooms, perfect location, in the old quarter. Very close to "bar street". They can arrange tour and have a laundry service. The breakfast is pretty good. Location is the key for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guillaume b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

In Dec 2012, we (family trip of 8 persons) stayed about one week in Hanoi including tour to Sapa, Halong Bay & Hanoi City.

Initially no idea of Prince II Hotel and their tour arrangement, after communicate with the Hotel Manager (via email), she is very attentive to our request and customized a tour package with discount price for us. Worried the tour package might be unpleasant with the special rate given but turn up to be superb!!

Besides the special rate, they didn’t even charge us on certain things which we initially agreed to pay. As a goodwill, they provide their excellent service with free of charge. eg. keep our luggage safely, free shower (as we do not check-in and need to proceed to Sapa trip).

Prince II Hotel is a perfect hotel with one stop center (for tour arrangement). The location is easily accessible to major attractions by foot. Although there is no elevator, but NO WORRY…. with their friendly and helpful staff to carry our luggage upstairs.

The room is great and value for money with simple decorations and equipped with modern amenities like Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, fridge, safe etc and most important is CLEAN & COMFORTABLE.

We TRULY HIGHLY RECOMMEND Prince II Hotel as it’s a wonderful and relax hotel to stay.


Travelled with family from Singapore & Malaysia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheerfulHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel on 11 December 2012.
We also booked our Sapa tour with the hotel from 13 Dec to 15 Dec.
The hotel driver picked us up from the airport (16USD per car, slightly expensive but they sent a young and friendly driver) and took about 50 minutest or so to reach the hotel.

There is no lift in the hotel, but there's a staff to help you carry your luggage all the way up. (we stayed on the 5th and 6th floor)

The location is superb as it's at the heart of the Old Quarter, but not too noisy as well. Many places of interest are within walking distance.

My boyfriend and I are vegetarians and there's a vegetarian cafe, Tamarind Cafe, near the hotel. Hence saved us the trouble to travel around searching for vegetarian food.

What amazed us was the their services, especially on our night to Sapa, the hotel staff accompanied us to the train station in a taxi. When you just thought he's going to leave you there he bought a ticket to the platform! He brought us to the right platform, waited with us for about 30-40 minutes before we board the train. It's only until we found our cabin and waved to him then he bid farewell to us. Really a heart-warming gesture in a foreign country!

The hotel staff, Huyen was friendly too. We exchanged several emails before leaving for Viet Nam. There was slight misunderstandings initially but was cleared after some time.

Overall, I would say they have great service here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wish_t0_travel_m0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel each year for the past 8 years and each time it is always comfortable with great service and friendly staff. It is located in the heart of Hanoi (where you want to be) and the staff can always assist with anything that you need. The rooms are secure and you actually get hot running water unlike some of the cheaper hotels in the area. Breakfast is always good if you are too lazy to out on the street and find something. I have stayed in other hotels in Hanoi but I just keep coming back to this one The hotel is good value for money. I would also suggest the airport transfer service which the hotel provides.

Shaun

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footlessfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
#481 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#143 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#171 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
#186 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#298 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince II Hotel

Property: Prince II Hotel
Address: 42B Hang Giay Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince II Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PRINCE II HOTEL. With over 15 rooms and ideally situated in the heart of Ha Noi’s old quarter and surrounded by bustling shopping ancient streets, Prince II Hotel is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels in the center of Ha Noi capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Prince II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing