We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
290
186
44
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
186
44
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterrising dragonsmall hoteltour
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 544 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We first met Mr. Son in Hoi An when he was visiting the hotel we were staying, and he gave us a card and informed us about Serenity Hotel. I looked into Serenity and we decided that we wanted to stay there, unfortunately they were booked when we arrived in Hanoi, although we did stay in another excellent hotel for the first week, we then transferred to Serenity for our remaining 10 days in Hanoi. We got an excellent room for an excellent rate and were very happy with everything. Anybody who has anything to complain about the rooms needs to look at the price they are paying - they are great value.

Mr Son and his staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and just genuinely excellent!

Prior to coming to Hanoi we had heard a lot of negative stories and been warned about some of the dodgy hotels in Hanoi so we were quite wary - but I can assure you there is absolutely no reason to be worried about anything at Serenity, it is a great hotel with excellent trust worthy staff who always have a smile on their faces, even if you are waking them up at 5am to get an early flight they are always happy to see you.

We booked a Halong Bay tour through Serenity and absolutely loved it! They kept our bags for us and we moved back into our original room when we returned. My partner can not eat seafood and they had organised for him to have special meals (which, as it turned out, were not even necessary - there was so much food!), and the meals were excellent.

Staying at Serenity was more like staying with family, everybody is always very welcoming and you don't receive the sales 'push' that is so common in other hotels throughout Vietnam.

Perhaps the nicest thing was the evening before we were to leave to Thailand after 2 months in Vietnam and Mr Son invited us to have dinner with himself and the staff of Serenity the following evening. They cooked a beautiful meal and it was a great way to end our stay in Vietnam. When we came down to eat all of the staff were fussing over the food and it turned out that Mr Son was concerned there was any seafood, as he had remembered from our Halong Bay trip that my partner was allergic.

I would not hesitate in recommending Serenity to anyone - the staff are all amazing, friendly, genuine and helpful and the rooms are excellent for the price.

Thanks again to Mr Son and all of the staff at Serenity Hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Incredible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed a night, started off disbelieving (as usual) how TA hotel rankings can have a dozen minihotels rated higher than Sofitel Metropole - a uniquely Vietnamese phenomenon! Anyhow, I'm pleased to report that this is the kosher deal. No lift, but it's clean, the folks at the front desk are decently competent and helpful, my room (Deluxe Single, $20) was in good state of repair, the bed was firm, the sheets were clean, enough pillows (nicely springy), and even had a computer with broadband! The bathroom had a bath (rare in minihotels), the fixtures all worked (a few a bit wobbly, as usual), there was a kettle, and best of all a nice view of the street market below. Can hear some street noise (which is normal), no in-room safe (also normal), but that's quibbling. Location is decent - pretty much in middle of Old Quarter, at the other end of the main road in Old Quarter (Hang Gai) from Hoan Kiem lake. 10 minute stroll down Hang Gai to the lake (where you can also find the perennially great latte of Highland Coffee and Papa Joes - if you don't kill yourself from falling down the stairs first). 5 minute walk from my Three Treasures of Hanoi - Bun bo nam bo (which deserves no less than poetry, google for address), competent Bun Cha (for you meat lovers, no.1 Hang Manh) , and a lovely unique fishy meal at Cha Ca La Vong (again, google it). And to top it all off, drop off at Just Massage at the Van Phuc diplomatic compound for a great rub (1 hr for VND130,000). Life is good, I'm coming back again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalamatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed for two nights and the staff were very helpful with everything. They helped us book a private junk in Halong Bay, taxis, directions, restaurants and even helped me book a spa treatment. The rooms are large and spacious. The beds are pretty hard, but this seems to be standard throughout Vietnam.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Based on the reviews and website we expected more boutique and less backpacker. If you're on a budget, the positives probably outweigh the negatives. Here's our pluses and minuses.

We were disappointed in the room we had, which was promoted as Deluxe Double. The room overlooked the street on the second floor (steep steps), and the main window was broken so that it wouldn't shut. All the street noise (and rain) flowed in all night long, including the 6:00 a.m. daily dose of government "propaganda" blasting from a speaker on a utility pole outside the hotel. Although the street market outside the hotel (see the attached photo) was supposed to make things quieter because of no pass-through traffic, the hotel is only a few steps away from a busy intersection. The beeping horns of the motorbikes and other street noises are constant 24/7.

The bed was hard, the linens and waste baskets were lacking, and the bathtub was dangerously high and slippery to get out of after showering. It didn't help our mood that there was no water for the better part of 24 hours (though apparently not the fault of the hotel). We expected deluxe meant more useable room space and better amenities, and a quieter more relaxing environment.

On the positive side, the hotel staff was very gracious and accommodating. They helped with dining and sightseeing recommendations, and arranged for a reasonably priced private car to and from the airport. The morning breakfasts were adequate and convenient. The free Internet (wi-fi and their computers) worked fine. They also exchanged dollars into dong at a very favorable rate with no service charge.

Overall, I'd recommended this place with caution.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanDiegoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This was truly one of the best hotels we had in Vietnam. It is very clean and the service is just great. The staff is so helpful! My boyfriend and I did a trip together with two friends who arrived at 5 a clock in the night and someone from the staff stayed in the lobby all night to open the door. They were not charged for that night because it was already so late even they couldn’t give the room to someone else.
The hotel is almost fully booked every night so booking a couple days in advance is a good thing to do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joooolien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews