We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms for "superior "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #77 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small rooms for "superior "”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This a a nice hotel . I defiantly would return here again is was really good value for money . We got a superior room and in the photos the room looked a reasonable size . When we got to our room is was tiny there was no room to move around and was very crammed in. We also had trouble with getting hot water from the shower several times ! The breakfast was probably the best thing about the hotel they do a nice English breakfast with warm hot baguettes ! And you can help yourself to tea allday long , the people who work on reception are really helpful and if you need to book a trip or trains make sure you do it with them as there are a lot of scams in the tourist shops

Room Tip: Get the biggest room you can !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leezal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Though the staff at Hanoi Serenity were great, that's really about the only positive thing I have to say about this budget hotel. Do yourself a favor and book just down the road at Tu Linh Palace Hotel instead (look for my TA review on Tu Linh also). You might pay $5-$10 more for your room but it is worth it. We booked a "superior" double since we would be spending Christmas in this hotel and were disappointed as soon as we were shown to our room. The bedsheets were clean, but the bed was rock hard even by SE Asia standards. My husband is from India and loves a hard bed but he agreed this one was like sleeping on a piece of plywood with a sheet on top. At one point I even pulled back the sheets to see if that's what it was, but to my surprise it at least appeared to be a mattress. The room was not clean and was in a bad state of disrepair generally speaking. The curtains were dusty, there were lights that didn't work and ones without light bulbs. The bathroom had patched up holes. Our air conditioner/heater did not work. It turned on but never got hot. After freezing the first night we asked reception about it and they found that it was broken so brought us a space heater which was much appreciated and made the room bearable. The bathroom does have hot water but only for about 5 minutes. We took quick showers but inevitably whoever went second always ended up with freezing water about halfway through. Breakfast was good with several choices made to order. I would not stay In Hanoi Serenity again and I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_love_to_travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days on a recent trip, and lived on the top floor. The staff are really helpful and eager to be of service, and I appreciated the 24-hour service. Rooms are old but pretty clean. Free tea and coffee in the lobby/dining area was wonderful. The hotel is located on the edge of the Old Quarter, but it's an short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and other attractions. Wifi was a bit spotty at times, and the other disadvantage is that there is no elevator, which can be hard if you are staying on an upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here 4 nights and really had no problems.

Serenity is in a great location and, for the price, is a decent hotel!

Yes, ok, there is some mould on the walls, but keep in mind that this is equatorial Asia...it's a damp climate! And this is a budget hotel.

Staff were unobtrusive and friendly and left us to do our own thing which was what we wanted.

We had a huge room on the 3 floor overlooking the street. It was noisy but this is Hanoi!


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFrances84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Accommodating staff and clean room. We scheduled to stay two nights between a one day trip to Halong bay. Our second night we were moved to a different hotel also called serenity which we were told was a sister hotel. It was a short walk away and this wasn't one of the scams we heard about when in Hanoi. The second serenity was as accommodating as the first. Great banana pancakes for breakfast as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joe_bartley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Hanoi Serenity twice, at the beginning and at the end of our Southeast Asia trip.The staff was outstanding, helping us with airport problems, advising us on how to negotiate Hanoi, going out of their way to make things easier. Breakfast was terrific. We very much enjoyed our room with its immense picture window looking down on a busy alley in the old quarter. The bed was comfortable and we slept well despite the nonstop noise on the street. The plumbing left a bit to be desired, but for the price of the room (+ breakfast) we were very well satisfied.

Room Tip: The hotel has five storeys and no elevator so request a lower floor unless you are prepared for a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesWeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Well all in all this review is gonna be in 2 parts.
First the hotel itself: pretty good hotel, nice room, nice breakfast, the stay there was good and the only thing we might have to complain about is that there is maybe not enough hot water when you take a shower but that's not a big problem.
If you are booked there for a couple of nights then you will probably have a pretty good experience. There is only stairs no elevator but that's pretty usual for Hanoï so again that's fine.

The reason why we won't ever come back to this hotel or recommend it to somebody else is the following: after 2 nights there there was a problem and we couldn't stay another night. I won't blame them for that, fault was on both side I guess. What I will blame them for is booking us in another hotel without asking our permission and booking us in the WORST hotel possible in Hanoï at an expensive price!
Are they friend with the owner? Probably! They send us to the hotel and once in the bedroom we didn't really have a choice. I didn't like the room or anything and checked tripadvisor for reviews and what did they all say? "RUN"... Oh great... So if they want to book you somewhere else refuse and pick your own hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#126 of 586 in Hanoi
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#57 of 586 in Hanoi
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#84 of 586 in Hanoi
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 586 in Hanoi
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#111 of 586 in Hanoi
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing