We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like the photos, really disappointed with the room but the staff were wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #78 of 647 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the consistently good reviews on tripadvisor. When we arrived we were greeted with big smiles and a friendly welcome from all the staff, the reception and breakfast area looked nice and clean. I booked us a superior room on booking.com seeing as the reviews and photos looked great. A guy carried our bags up four flights of steep narrow stairs (bless him we of course tipped him) to get to our room. As they have no lift I absolutely would not recommend this hotel for elderly, those with very young children or those who have a problem with stairs. There are lots of hotels nearby with lifts.

Anyway we were given room 401, it looked nothing like the superior to I booked. It was old, dated, had mould and peeling wallpaper off the walls. It wasn't 100% clean, the bathroom was a dingy wet room not the clean white bathroom with a shower in the bathtub as promised. The aircon didn't work very well either. I of course complained of all these things - our room was also meant to come with an in-room computer and hair dryer etc. it had none of those things. The drawers were filled with cuts of old curtain, rubbish and a screwdriver. They were fully booked so we were stuck in this horrible room. Then we tried having a shower - there was no hot water despite leaving the switch on to warm up the boiler for 15 mins. There was no water pressure it was just a dribble.

On check out they knew of my complaints and how disappointed I was with everything. The staff were lovely to deal with and gave us a discount. We ended up going to Hanoi City Hostel 2 mins round the corner - what a contrast! Amazing rooms, big clean, great old wood furniture, actual bathroom with power shower, good aircon, lift, great staff! Same price as Serenity but 10 times better!

Sorry Serenity hotel, but I cannot recommend you. Perhaps they have nicer newer rooms that's why there's so many great reviews. But if you're stuck in the one we were in don't pay full price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Right from the outset we were treated with great hospitality. The staff sat us down with a map and explained where to buy good food, where all of the museums are and the best ways to get around etc. This was so helpful considering we had just arrived and Hanoi is pretty hectic upon first impressions. If you are prepared to walk up a few flights of narrow stairs to get to and from your room, this hotel is definitely worth it for the price. The room is clean and the bed is comfy. There is a fridge and tv with a wide range of channels. The staff helped us book a cooking class, which was amazing and VERY reasonably priced (cooking class of countryside). They were always there to help when needed. Just when we thought things couldn't get any better, we ate breakfast for free every morning! Thanks serenity!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff is composed of students that speak good English and are really willing to help you, give you advice,...,
The rooms are OK, clean, they include a computer, have WiFi, satellite TV, breakfast is included...
This is a perfect hotel for people with middle budget. I paid the single room with AC 25US$

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JDoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

after a long trip in vietnam just what we needed. very clean spacious rooms. good breakfast in the mornings and the staff were super friendly and helpful. location was perfect also just outside the really busy area. we stayed here 2 times and ringing ahead in advance the woman working there remembered us and upgraded us to an even bigger room. like i said the staff made this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwitt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a fab hotel with SUPER friendly and helpful staff ... rooms were much bigger than other places we stayed and were clean and comfortable and very affordable. Their breakfasts were not amazing, compared the some of the buffet style ones we had had elsewhere - but what fantastic staff!

I was SO grateful to them on the day we checked out as we were catching a 7pm train to Hue and after a day out and about sweating in the Hanoi heat and no hope of a cool shower before 5pm the next day when we would eventually arrive in Hoi An (after the train and bus) - they took one look at us when we came to pick up our backpacks and offered us a shower in one of their rooms that had been prepped for new guests.

It was the best shower ever!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyBrownell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, really helpful staff. First night I was upgraded to a deluxe room which was a delight. Stayed the other 2 nights in a standard room which was still excellent value for money, close enough to the old quarter but in a quieter location. Would recommend this hotel without question!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in total - with trips to Ha Long Bay and Sapa in between each night. We loved being in the heart of the Old City - roughly half way between Hoan Kiem Lake and the Presidential Palace with plenty to see in each direction. The staff were consistently attentive and cheerful. We need to make a special mention of Jimmy who acted as a wonderful host, and was also very good at explaining Vietnamese tradition and culture to anyone (like us) who wanted to ask. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious, and both the atmosphere at breakfast and the breakfast itself was a great start to the day. The best hotel we stayed at over 3 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#62 of 600 in Hanoi
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 600 in Hanoi
2,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 647 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $29 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing