We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff make it better than average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Ranked #68 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff make it better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and husband for one night after a long overland journey from Laos. The welcome we received was so lovely and they greeted us with a cup of tea and coffee, gave us a map and talked us through where we were in relation to the sights.

The girl helping us was the most hospitable and helpful person I have met working in a hotel in my 7 months in South East Asia. She really makes the hotel shine (I'm so sorry that I don't know your name)!

We were kindly upgraded, due to availability. The rooms were spacious, clean with huge windows.

The hotel arranged our Halong Bay trip which we did with Dragon Cruise, which we recommend. There were 14 guests in the boat (including us) and the food was outstanding.

When we returned the lovely girl had gone home but the male member of staff offered us tea and coffee and allowed us to use the cafe until our late night train.

The breakfast was average to good- eggs, bacon and baguette. The hotel missed a few touches that would make it just perfect, such as complimentary water, tea/coffee in the room, although they provide us with a kettle and cups?

The rooms were a little damp, but as so spacious and only there for one night,it was no problem at all.

There are many stairs to the top floors,with no lift. If you have a problem walking consider asking for a lower floor. The staff very kindly assisted with our bags.

Overall a great stay for our short trip to Hanoi. A reliable hotel with brilliant service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsseetheworld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    183
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
244
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We paid $25 a night (inc Breakfast) and had to walk to the 6th floor (no lift) but one of the very friendly staff took our bags. Room was very big, clean and had a great bathroom, computer and cable TV. We stayed for nearly a week and did 2 tours to Sapa and Halong Bay which we organized through the very friendly hotel staff. Wifi downstairs and the lower levels. Breakfast is great and offer laundry for $2 a kilo. Why spend $150 a night when you can stay here? Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

While a great price, great location and friendly staff, the hotel is plagued by one major issue, the design. There are no sprinklers, no smoke detectors, no second exits. All the rooms are up a single spiral stair case that is rather steep. There is a single fire extinguisher kept on the ground of each stairwell landing. These will do nothing against rising smoke. Also there are items like mattresses and cleaning supplies on the stairwell landings. We stayed on the 6th floor and there was no exiting out the windows. The kitchen is on the ground floor.

In addition to the safety issue, the wi-fi did not work. I could receive emails, but not send. No using any other features of my device that needed wi-fi. There were two computers downstairs, but both were very slow. One night was cold and there was no heat in the room, but they did provide extra blankets.

The staff is really, really friendly. They cook a free breakfast and are very responsive. They set us up with a trip to Halong Bay and made sure we got to the airport no problem. They can recommend places to visit, etc. The location is also very nice because you are really centralized and in walking distance of everything worth seeing.

Unfortunately given the building I don't see much they can do to fix the safety issues. For basically no cost they could install battery powered smoke detectors, but at this point I can't see fixing the other issues without major expense. Granted, I understand in Vietnam safety standards are not the same, but the location simply had issues that make it difficult for me to give a higher rating.

Room Tip: In general the lower the floor the better. The windows are not barred so on the lower floors you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard_Feenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Expectations were very high and at first I was slightly disappointed when I realised this is actually a budget hotel and you probably get what you pay for. However, then I met the staff and they are so incredibly attentive and friendly. I booked all my trips with them (Halong Bay, Sapa & Perfume Pagoda), they took time to explain what to expect from the trips, were not pushing for anything I did not want.
Rooms are fine, not spectacular. The deluxe rooms have computer, the standard rooms "only" a tv.
I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are somewhat noisy due to traffic deluxe rooms have pc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahah1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great location and people are seriously nice. I only stayed one night, but would consider staying here again. I had a friendly greeting before taken up to my room. I was then offered a free coffee and advice on Hanoi.
I went out that night and was let in at 3am with no hassles. The only fault I found was that the water was not warm. But that is it.
The rooms are nice and spacious, and mine even had a nice view.
The next day I checked out and could leave my bad, and help myself to drinks untill my bus came to pick me up to go to the train station.
The staff are very chatty and nice. So I kept myslef busy for quite a few hours by chatting to them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigE666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We reserved a room for $15 a night, which we thought was quite cheap. When we arrived we got a free upgrade to a deluxe room with 3 beds, a window with a view and a simple computer (nice to do some basic online stuff). It was quite clean, though certain small things could use a update (curtains, windowpane...)
Staff was very helpfull, they didn't try to sell us any tours and were not pushy at all. We booked a Halong Bay tour ourselves and we could leave our backpacks in the hotel during our tour. They reserved a cooking class for us which was very nice.
Breakfast was quite basic, but it was OK. Beds weren't very comfortable, but that's the case in all Vietnam hotels.
The room was on the fifth floor, and there's no elevator, so be prepared to do some climbing.
All in all good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window, you might get a free upgrade :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff at Serene was one of the most pleasant group we've encountered in our stay in similar range of hotels throughout SE Asia. They always had a smile and a good thing to share and say!!

The hotel was only a few months old when we stayed and the rooms were fresh, decently spacious and well designed. The room even came with a Desktop Computer!!

The breakfast was a nice change and was refreshing to start the first day of 2013 with a well made breakfast. Instead of the typical buffet breakfast with a choice of eggs, the hotel offered a decent range of ala-carte options made fresh by the chefs. We took some crepes (labelled pancakes) which were very good!! The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast though and you will have to step out for other meals. But in Hanoi food is around every corner : )

The hotel is located in a small bylane and doesn't have direct access for a vehicular drop-off and may be a bit hard to find in the old city streets. However, if you have your bearings rights it's ideally placed from all the heritage trail markers in the old quarter and a perfect location to stay!!

Would stay at Hanoi Serene again if we visit Hanoi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaitanyaThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#131 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#52 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#73 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#120 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Diamond Hotel
Serenity Diamond Hotel
#24 of 566 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serenity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serenity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serenity Hotel
Address: 1B Cua Dong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation as of December 28, 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Serenity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing