We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel stay at Hanoi Elegance Ruby was nothing but positive.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #12 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
W. Htfd. CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel stay at Hanoi Elegance Ruby was nothing but positive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

The Hotel is in a small alley in the Old Quarter of the city. The hotel was super clean. The room, while small, was very comfortable and complete with all the necessary amenities. We had a room in the back and it was very quiet. Breakfast was quire remarkable as to both quantity or selection and quality. Possibly the best aspect of the hotel is the staff. They were so nice and so very helpful in every way. I recommend it unequivocally. It is a wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHtfdcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,626
    238
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
501
1,480
199
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Based on TA reviews I sent a booking inquiry from Canada prior to our trip. You get an automated resonse instantly with a promise to get back to you within 24 hours. I wasn't in a hurry but I got nothing for 3 days, so decided to send another email. Well! It turned out they had replied and their emails weren't reaching me. This time, to make sure, they actually phoned me at home - and they sent multiple email copies. OK, a hotel that might get my booking is willing to phone overseas to confirm that I got an email? That's the place for me!

We got to Hanoi from Siem Reap Cambodia late. The hotel driver was waiting at the airport for us. The hotel staff were waiting at the alley entrance for us. A welcome drink, lots of smiles, and we were whisked to our comfortable standard room on the 7th floor. Clean, quiet, small, flowers on the bed and in the shower. Fruit basket, water bottles, laptop computer, and lots of hot water. Very welcome to a pair of weary travellers.

Next day we loved the custom breakfast in the small room behind the lobby. I made a quick trip to a pharmacy with a note in Vietnamese written by the Hotel Manager to make sure we got what we needed. Then we got a map and lots of advice and spent the day walking and enjoying the old quarter. On the second morning we were picked up for our 3 day/2night cruise on the Dragon Pearl III Junk arranged, of course, by the hotel. We had a great trip to Bai Tu Long Bay that I'll review elsewhere. Just before we left we decided to change our itinerary because we couldn't get a flight to Hue, our original intention. We asked the hotel manager to book us a hotel in Hoi An instead and make arrangements for that hotel to pick us up at the airport in Da Nang. When we got back from the cruise of course everything was arranged, including our ride to the airport. But we knew that because the Manager called the junk (we didn't have a phone with us) to confirm while we were on the cruise!

When we got to Hoi An the Hanoi Elegance Ruby Manger phoned the hotel in Hoi An and asked me if we were happy with the hotel and the service. He hadn't visited the hotel he booked for us because the ones he usually partnered with were full, and he wanted to be sure we were completely satisfied. We ensured him we were.

I can't say enough about the service these folks provided. You couldn't ask for more at quadruple the price. We want to return to Hanoi and take in a tour to the Sapa area, and we will certainly be staying at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby again when we go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

At the time of this review (March, 2011), the Elegance Ruby is the top-rated hotel in Hanoi. I suspect this will change soon.

My husband and I spent three days in Hanoi. After reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, our first choice for a hotel was the Elegance Ruby. We booked two nights there, and the third in the Elegance Diamond, because the Ruby was fully booked for that night.

Our room at the Ruby was on the seventh floor. Our Internet connection was super slow and sometimes it even stopped working altogether.

Breakfast was pretty bad. There was no buffet and you had to order from a very limited menu without actually seeing the food. My croissant had a hair on it. It could happen anywhere, I guess...

Staff was friendly but not very efficient. When we arrived, we were greeted by a charming staff member who gave us a map of the city and offered his advice on different attractions. We expressed interest in the water puppet show and he offered to get us tickets. The next day, he told us the show was sold out for the following days, so we would not be able to go. He did not mention last-minute tickets or the fact that there is more than one water puppet show in Hanoi. We decided to try for ourselves and
were able to get tickets no problem at the main puppet show teather near the lake. There were plenty of empty seats during the show too. Had we trusted the hotel staff, we would've missed out on the water puppets.

We spent our third night at the Elegance Diamond and we were expecting something like the Ruby, since it's the same chain and rooms cost about the same. We were mistaken. The Diamond was better than the Ruby in just about every possible way. Location (closer to the lake), room size and decor, breakfast buffet, restaurant, view, Internet speed, etc. etc.

I strongly advise those planning a trip to Hanoi who are looking for hotels in the Elegance Ruby range to consider the Elegance Diamond.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, General Manager at Hanoi Elegance Ruby, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments on our hotel. We would sincerely like to apologize for not having met your expectations in some areas of our services. It is our goal to ensure that each guest is having a memorable and positive experience in our hotel and we obviously have fallen short of this goal in this case.

Firstly, we totally agree with you that the internet in your room could be faster. It is not an explanation of what has been incurred to you, but there had been a trouble with our internet system during your stay at the hotel causing internet disrupted at once. We contacted the local provider and got it fixed. Anyway, we are considering to sign up for another better provider to better serve our valued guests in the upcoming future.

With regards to the water puppet tickets, thank you very much for letting us know of the case. Please be learnt that the obsolete theater here is monopolized operated and it is VERY hard to order the specific tickets in advance. Tickets here can be booked from 5 – 7 days in advance but most seats are kept for big ‘clients’ with long term contract. They can re-sell to others at any time of their own volition or release them at last minute. That explains why some guests like you can apparently get these last minute tickets, even though our staff went there many times everyday to check. Had a simpler and more transparent booking system like at cinemas in other places in the world established, our effort to help buy the ticket would be less arduous and all of the guests are more happy.

As for the breakfast, given the limited space of restaurant, we believe that the all you can eat, cooked-to-order breakfast service is the optimal choice as the guest could order unlimited food from our menu. Per your comments, we would certainly consider to add more dishes on the menu as well. Additionally, we have talked with our cook team and serving team to make sure that the food must be at best condition before being served to the guests.

It is an interesting chance to have you stayed at both of our hotels - the Elegance Ruby and Diamond, and the comparison is eventually in favor for the latter. As each hotel has its own characters and location, we are able to cater to various demands from our guests. Had everything go smoothly as normal at the Elegance Ruby hotel during your stay, we are sure that you will like the personal service at this branch too.

As we are striving for superior customer service, it is vital for us to receive as much as possible the guest’s comments, positive and negative in order to improve further. Therefore, please feel free to contact us if you have any further suggestion.

Again, our apology for not having entirely met your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you in the upcoming future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hanoi Elegance Ruby. The mango smoothie welcome drinks were deliciously refreshing and the complimentary fruit basket and waters were a nice surprise.

The room was well appointed and the in room laptop was very convenient!

I loved the orchids scattered in the shower and the pretty rose petals on the bed.

The location of the hotel was walking distance to all old quarter sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

A truly exceptional experience
Amazing staff - so helpful, conscientious, happy and welcoming. I cannot praise them enough - each and every one.
Great location in the lively centre - colourful and vibrant
A small and incredibly friendly hotel - well deserving of the Hanoi number one spot on tripadvisor

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed a few days in room #702. The size of the room is a bit on the small side, but perfectly clean and worth the $50. It even included a laptop to check emails. The staff was really helpful: arranging restaurant reservations, finding drivers, buying show tickets, etc. We left really early in the morning for the airport and the staff even thought about packing breakfast for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelaR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby for three nights in mid February 2011. The hotel is located in a small lane, not accessible by cars and mininal motorbike traffic, close to shopping, the lake and a comfortable walk to HCM Mausoleum. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the hotel room was clean and well presented. Our room came with a laptop which was also a great bonus. Breakfast was included in our package and the menu had a great variety of food and beverages, again the staff were friendly and helpful.
We also booked our 2 day cruise on Halong Bay from the hotel and our train travel to Hue. The Customer Service Manager arranged all our pick ups and return from Halong, and due to the short time between the return from Halong and train departure, a staff member met us at the train station with our tickets and escorted us onto the train. Our trip on Halong Bay was cut short when a boat sank and tragically people died, the government recalled all boats back to the harbour so our last cruise night was spent at a hotel in Halong city. The Hanoi Elegance Ruby had contacted the boat company to check on us and co-ordinated our return to Hanoi directly with the courtesy car driver. Overall I would highly recommend Hanoi Elegance Ruby - I will certainly stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeeOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#1 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing