We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #15 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

+ Staff service was fantastic. Attentive, friendly and with great english. They give you great advice on areas to check out in the city, both on the marked map and from local knowledge.

+ Rooms are really nice. We had a junior suite and an executive suite. Probably worth going for the exec, but both were great. Shower rooms are clean and modern, beds were comfortable and the minibar was cheap!

- Quite a few real small ants in the rooms. Doesn't look so good but they weren't an issue for us and got distracted by the melon skin once we'd eaten the fresh ripe fruit the hotel provided.

+ Location was bang on. Walking distance to anywhere in the city and actually the best street food we had was 50m round the corner from the hotel.

+ Breakfast was superb. I looked at the menu and wondered how many items I was allowed to ask for - to my absolute delight it turns out it's all of them. The quality was probably 7/10, but the service was an easy 10. Incredible how they serve so many dishes out of such a small kitchen with 3 or 4 guys and girls working right on top of each other. Great atmosphere at breakfast too, staff were always talkative.

+ Dinner at the essence, their sister hotel, one night. Service easily matched what we experienced here and the food was really good too.

+ Hotel prepared our visas and also organised our trip out to Ha Long and Bha Tong Bay, which was also amazing.

Big thanks to the staff for making our stay such a joy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,680
    241
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
503
1,511
201
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's very good hotel to stay in the old quarter. Nice and clean room. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is very good to walk in the old quarter. I will come back to stay there again with my family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phuonglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Staff are all friendly and helpful, they will show everything around their hotel especially those delicious food! Room is very clean with fresh food served. Location is excellent! I will definitely come back to this hotel if I back to Hanoi again! Its worth to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived at the hotel, the staff opened the door and took my bags straight away. Offered a lovely fresh fruit juice and cool towel and then booked me into the hotel. Once I was booked in the manager took my bags up to the room and explained there was free WiFi and fresh seasonal fruit.
The room was small and as wide as the double bed was long but very clean and well set out bathroom was the same. Room service was very well cooked and mini-bar and prices really reasonable. Staff were happy to recommend places to go see, eat and call a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youbou, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The service here was second to none. The location was great we were able to walk everywhere and the breakfast kept us full all day!! The room even has a lap top to use !! I would defiantly recommend this hotel!!!'

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Like most of the reviews state, this is not a luxury hotel but it is a mid level budget hotel that offers comfortable rooms and personalized service from the staff.

We stayed in the family room which ran about 80usd/night which is pretty inexpensive. The room was spacious, equipped with free wifi and a laptop, the bathroom was adequate and clean and breakfast was included. Whilst I’m sure you get a nicer room at the some of the chain hotels (Sheraton, Novotel etc) it was hard to beat this deal.

We arranged to have the hotel driver pick us up at the airport, which is slightly more expensive than taking a cab from the airport. However, it is worth not having to worry about being ripped off in a foreign country. The hotel is located in a back street where cars cannot pass because the roads are so narrow, however motorcycles are plentiful so watch your step. It may appear a bit dodgy and unsightly when you first pull up to the entrance of the hotel, but frankly the spacious rooms and good service make up for the unattractive facade of the building.
We didn’t have much time to do research on the city as we planned a last minute trip from Singapore en route to Myanmar. However, the staff were only too happy to assist us in arranging personalized tours at reasonable prices.

Last but not least I would recommend trying the restaurant at their sister hotel (the gourmet corner), the décor wasn’t anything to write home about but the food (pomelo salad and Cha ca) were some of the best Asian dishes we have ever eaten.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, General Manager at Hanoi Elegance Ruby, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear valued guests,

That is our great pleasure to have had an opportunity to accommodate an astute customer like you in our hotel. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay, though it was short in our hotel and found that the room facilities and amenities are really adequate and handy, especially the laptop with free wifi.

Besides, we are also pleased to learn that you used some of our services including the hassle-free private airport transfers and the customized tour, and those additionally help make your trip here an easy one.

Your mention of our Gourmet corner restaurant with best Asian food is also a great encouragement for us to keep up our work, all aim to better serve you.

In all, we believe that at a fractional cost, you had truly experience the local hospitality and profession that our hotels are exemplary.

We wish you happy travels and hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is small but very clean and well organised and located. The strongest point of this hotel is the service. Since you arrive you are received with a fresh juice and a cold towel. The manager takes his time to welcome you, give you a map and make recommendations of were to go in the city and safety precautions around. Ever time the staff see you they offer assistance and ask to make sure all things are ok. Their breakfast is a la carte and is included in their very afforable price. Their breakfast quality is much better that in some 5 star hotels. Rooms are very clean and their laundry service is very good and afforable. when checking out the doorman and a staff from reception take you to the taxi, thank you for staying with them and kindly wave their hand to say good bye as you leave. Nice touch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apilurese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#3 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#11 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing