We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspect, Reflect and Be Direct . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Hotel Vietnam
Ranked #212 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspect, Reflect and Be Direct . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Still amazes me what people think they are going to get for inexpensive rooms. As a customer at Bamboo or any other low cost hotel, I come in with my reasonable requirements of health, safety, convenience and then work from there. Everyone has their own definitions of those. I am not shy about inspecting a room and making improvements if possible. Or reject a room and see another. If noise is a problem then bring earplugs. If you need something cleaned then have it done. I just remember everywhere I go in Vietnam that service workers are not raised up in or live my western lifestyle. Food, accommodations or the like, it's just something they provide, not experience for the most part. When I stay in Hanoi, short-term or long-term, I choose Bamboo. It has the location, the room and the meals I want. The staff knows I mean business and that I respect them for all they do for me. We have a great time together.

Room Tip: #401 was my long-term stay. Yeah, you'll get your 'stair-master' workout each time but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDarlingSings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
34
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here my first night in Hanoi and paid $25 for the room which was more than we expected to have to pay but we were tired so we took it. Upon first glance the room looks nice but the furniture was a bit dusty and under the bed had not been cleaned for some time.

The bathroom was not very nice. the sink was coming off the wall a little and so all the water couldn't drain. My friend also noticed little worms in the water. Perhaps that is commonplace in Vietnam?!

The balcony was nice to sit out on. Very good for people watching but it is a busy road and so very very noisy.

We returned to the hotel about 1am and had to bang on the shutter and shout for about 5 minutes until someone opened it. We were not told about the closing time when we checked in. Seems this is common in a lot of hotels in Hanoi but prior warning would have been nice.

We stayed for one night as we wanted to find a cheaper hotel. When we checked out the receptionist asked where we were going and when i told her we were going to a different hotel for just $17 dollars she offered us the room at the same price. We didn't stay. Would have been nice to have been offered their best rate to begin with.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first experience of this place started like this:

Me: I'm sorry, but our room really stinks we cannot stay in it
Hotel: Noooo, room does not stink
Me: I'm afraid it does. Very much so
Hotel: Can you come back later, we are eating (it was 10pm)
Me: Emm, NO!
Hotel: Sorry we are full
Me: Ok we must leave then
Hotel: Ok, Ok. (Gave us key for opposite room which took all of 1 minute)

It did get better after that. The location is fantastic and it is very cheap so all in all we were satisfied with our stay here. Just make sure you check out the rooms first!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Staff are really helpful, very reasonably priced for Hanoi @ $15/night. Rooms have nice feel to them and are all unique. all have ac. Would be nice if the tv's had some English channels. Rooms could do with a good old clean as they are a tad dusty and dirty, but bed linen etc... Is all clean enough. Would definitely stay here again. Nice place to chill downstairs aswell, food is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Room was basic (room 201) but a good size.

Location is very good for the old quarter and wandering the busy streets. The room had a balcony overlooking hang be - which was good. The noise didn't bother me.

Room had nice cold ac and picked up free wifi from somewhere. Water hot but no towels - perhaps you had to ask, but had my own anyway.

Breakfast was enjoyable - banana pancakes and coffee watching the busy street pass by.

Helpful staff on hand.

Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ckellygoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOORD-HOLLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

You need to check out from your room first.The room is very small and tiny. There is no window in my room. The staff are firendly but the girl name Hien try to sell tours to us with expensive price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skillerjer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Decent breakfast- good location. Restaurant on ground floor is nice. No ability to make phone calls. Beds are rock-hard. Overcharged for breakfast. It was $30 for a regular room. Balconies are nice. A decent option but looking for somewhere else for our next pass through Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#178 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#147 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#468 of 579 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#164 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#142 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
Prince 1 Hotel Hanoi
#313 of 579 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hotel Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hotel Vietnam

Property: Bamboo Hotel Vietnam
Address: 32 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Hotel Vietnam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi BAMBOO Hotel highly is recommended by the Lonely Planet. It is a great place to base yourself as you explore the delights of our fine city, as many attractions are only a short walk away from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Hotel Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing