We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ridiculous excuse for a hotel, hostel even. STAY AWAY!”
Review of Hanoi Venus Hotel

Hanoi Venus Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanoi Venus Hotel
Ranked #539 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've been to plenty of hostels and hotel but this is ridiculous.
The only thing to boost about this hotel is the big beds. however, the bedsheets were dirty with stains and pillows were flat and small. As I arrived in Hanoi not aware of it being cold, it was jarring to find that the heater is absolutely useless. Despite having informed the staff about the lack of heating facility, the staff insisted that their heater is fully functional (which is not) and blatantly refused our request for a refund in order to change a hotel as 2 among our 3 group of travellers were down with cold and cough.
As stated in previous reviews, the staff were very pushy in promoting their sorely overpriced packages (which one is able to find way cheaper from other hotels and tour agencies nearby) and showed obvious displeasure at our hesitation at purchasing their tour packages.
The walls were thin in the room and could here other travellers living in the adjacent hostel building clamouring up and down the staircase and the flimsy excuse for a curtain does nothing in blocking out the view in our rooms from the people of the adjacent building especially when the lights are on in my room.
Limited hot water provided with absolutely no warm water from the sink, resulting in having to wash our faces in the early morning in freezing cold water on top of having slept in a freezing cold room.
Strongly advised to stay away. Able to get a more or less similar priced hotel just around the corner of this "hotel" with much better service and warm roomswith hot water in freezing cold hanoi.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicoletzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

They are REALLY eager to sell you their overpriced tours.
The bedsheets are not washed. rooms are dirty.
We came back to the hotel at 10 at nigth and had to wake up the staff(they sleep on the breakfast area floor...think I saw some sleeping in the rooms as well.)

Short review: Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliasaroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Big rooms with comfy beds (seen better deco though), free internet and breakfast and good service. Very central too. Family run hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfgc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pat171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badpitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceresExtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#97 of 597 in Hanoi
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Venus Hotel

Address: 8 Hang Can | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $12 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venus hotel is run by a Vietnamese family who has almost 10 years experience in dealing with travel and tourism. The rooms are furnished with traditional decor and Asian accents. It is guaranteed to be a perfect place to stay in Hanoi center when you are away from home. The Venus hotel offers budget accommodation in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Just 5 minutes to Hoan Kiem Lake, Opera house and other attractions, your stay will be one to remember! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing