We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrongly listed on wotif yet again!”
Review of Dolphin II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin II Hotel
Ranked #418 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wrongly listed on wotif yet again!”
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Had NO balcony (as wotif site said) and no sauna.

Staff DID do their level best to make our stay happy however (Thanks to 'Mr.Tim' especially!)

Hotel was very noisy due to street traffic, but I slept fine regardless.
Spas were all very good and they paid for the taxi fare from motel to them.

(They had opening windows, which still suited us as smokers), so I negotiated with the concierge to get the room at the price BELOW the level of appointments that we were supposed to have, and put it to them that they refund us the $45 (cost of one night) at the end of our stay, or else we’d be going to another hotel and they would have to refund us in full for the 3 nights booked. After confirming with the manager via phone, they agreed to this – so you have to be on your toes and prepared to negotiate in order to be satisfied as you rightly should be for your money!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed for a total of 8 nights. The staff in this hotel could not have done more for me and my small group. The guys at reception were friendly and always helpful. The porters were excellent. Mr. Jim organised a trip to Hue, Ho Chi Minh City, Chau Doc and Pnom Penh, including planes, trains and boats- all for only $310 per person. The whole stay was an absolute pleasure. I promised the staff I would write a review as that was all they wanted for thanks. I recommend this hotel to anyone- and it doesn't hurt that the location is right by Hoan Kiem lake.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dineenstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

On the upside the hotel was in a great location, very central in the old city and with great wandering opportunities just outside, selection of good eateries, and places to absorb real Hanoi. Breakfast was an interesting local buffet affair which was fine - good strong coffee - always a winner for me. The hotel itself is in reasonable shape, we were quite happy with the room and ensuite facilities.

On the downside, eventually we worked out that rats scampering in the ceiling void was the cause of both noise in the night and plaster dust falling from the light fittings - if you're not an animal lover then this might be an issue for you! Like a previous reviewer we found the service rather too full on and not a little annoying, though it's appreciated that many find constant attention an attractive feature. There was also an issue with communication; we paid for a tour on arrival which was then denied by the management the following morning until we eventually had to identify the member of staff who actually took receipt of our payment. A long, full, staff meeting (in the dining room, which shares an open space with the reception area) saw all but the most junior person available to attempt to deal with guests for the best part of two hours one evening.

Given the many positive reviews it feels as though we may have been unlucky but some of our observations can't have been one off's. Sort of spoiled the experience of an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Good value hotel in the heart of the old quarter. About 100m or so from the main lake in Hanoi but th Ho Chi Minh musuem complex is about 3km away and cost about US$2 one way in a cab. The hotel was good value, room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was in good order. AC lacked a bit of power but it was fine once it got going for 30 mins or so. Didn't find the room noisy despite it being close to a busy street. Service was very friendly and staf would always carry our bags for us. 2 computers in the lobby with free internet as well.

The mananger, Mr Tim, was excellent. He organises tours and trips for hotel guests. At first it seems like the same old 'hard sell' but he does try his best to get you what you want out of your trip. We did a trip to Halong Bay which he booked for us and even let us pay on our return to the hotel. (Halong bay was good but more expensive than we had thought it would be) He also booked a flight to Hue and organised hotel and taxi for us. To add to his customer service, he even phoned us while we were on our travels to make sure we were happy with his recommendations and to see if we needed anything!

We felt comfortable and safe in the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed at Indochina II Hotel for two nights – the first of which was pretty horrible. My "Deluxe" room was tiny, grotty and pretty much falling apart. Not to mention the noise from a major road that was right under my window. And the bed was was like a slab of concrete, but more lumpy.

The staff moved me to a much nicer room after I complained about the room I was in and were very friendly.

The WiFi is also so slow it is pretty much unusable.

There are far better options for the price in Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsieurmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The highlight of my trip was meeting the staff at the Indochina II Hotel. Lunch - Tim bought lunch for my friend and I from a street vendor booked tours at a good price checked that we we're happy after each trip. The when it was time to head south suggested the Train to Hue to continue the adventure even dropped us off at the station and gave us his number to call him anytime in case we needed a translator. HE was genius the rest of the staff outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easyenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The staff of the Indochina were very friendly, we were travelling with a little girl and she loved them, they always spoke to her kindly and with a smile on their faces.
the hotel manager Tim, was extremely helpful when booking tours, got good deals and often rang us while out on the tour to make sure everything was going well. We booked two tours with him and throughly enjoyed them.
Rooms were available to us for showering after we came back off these tours even though we were moving on to another destination.
He also managed to get accomodation for us in other locations on our trip to Vietnam. If your looking for a planned trip of Vietnam, go to Tim in the Indochina and he'll arange the lot right there for you, he evenstayed very late after finishing work to help organise our trip! Go Tim Go!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoreenJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin II Hotel

Property: Dolphin II Hotel
Address: 402 Pho Lo Ren Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Indochina II Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin II hotel offers you comfortable accommodation with Eastern traditional decoration. Close to the hotel you also find plenty of western and local restaurants, bars, ATM and other interesting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing