We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and helpful staff”
Review of Dolphin II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin II Hotel
Ranked #426 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The staff of the Indochina were very friendly, we were travelling with a little girl and she loved them, they always spoke to her kindly and with a smile on their faces.
the hotel manager Tim, was extremely helpful when booking tours, got good deals and often rang us while out on the tour to make sure everything was going well. We booked two tours with him and throughly enjoyed them.
Rooms were available to us for showering after we came back off these tours even though we were moving on to another destination.
He also managed to get accomodation for us in other locations on our trip to Vietnam. If your looking for a planned trip of Vietnam, go to Tim in the Indochina and he'll arange the lot right there for you, he evenstayed very late after finishing work to help organise our trip! Go Tim Go!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoreenJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

This stylish hotel has clean, comfortable rooms, nice views from the upper floors, friendly and accomodating staff, and a great location near the old quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. The prices are extremely reasonable, breakfast included on the top floor overlooking the lake, and the staff, from the bellhop to the desk clerk to the lovely hostess and servers in the restaurant, all treated us like long lost relatives. They looked out for us on our forays into the city and warned us of scams and potential dangers. They arranged one day motorbike rental for us. They sent our companions to the airport early with boxed breakfasts. Our boys, ages 8 and 12, were entertained both by the staff and by the free wifi in the lobby and the in-room computer in the family "suite". When we returned after three nights in Sapa, we felt like we were coming "home". In all my travels I have never felt so cared for, and I would strongly recommend the Indochina 2 to anyone going to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelongvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Good hotel Location. Friendly & helpful hotel staff. Hotel is clean and cozy with internet access. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

it is good hotel。 good service, good location , good staff。 i love indochina hotel

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were booked in this hotel through Sinhbalo Tours, and it is definitely not up to their usual standard. We found the hotel not especially friendly at all, with poor amenities, terrible breakfast, (what "buffet" ?, hardly anything for westerners to eat ); shabby breakfast room although it does have some views over city.. It is only when we complained vociforously and threatened to move out that we got a "best" room. Not much difference, except more light and a air con that actually heated the room, somewhat needed in the cold temperatures we experienced in mid February. This is not a 3 star hotel by Vietnamese standards.

There are much better hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annasofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaHD, Sales Department. at Dolphin II Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2010

First of all, thank you very much for all comment from customer who stay at Indochina 2 Hotel.

We are happy to get both: positive and negative reviews when the writer wrote about a right story. However, we need to let our guests know what is not correct as well.

I would like to take this liberty to introduce myself as My Hanh – Sales staff of Indochina hotel. I would like to explain something as following:

- We received this booking via Sinhbalo Tour – this is one of our extraordinary partners. Therefore, we always arrange a nice room with city view or lake view for all bookings from this company. The same with these rooms, we tried best to arrange one of the best kind of rooms for these customers with wide space and beautiful views for this customer. Even though we’re fully booked on those days, we still show another rooms and up graded to Deluxe room for them. It is the proof for our appreciation to the customer.

- After getting complaint about air-conditioner, we tested the button. Maybe something misunderstood about temperature button of air condition. We’re sorry for this problem.

- We serve breakfast from 7am to 9:30am. Because these passengers came later than serving hours, so it’s very difficult for us in this situation.

Once again, thank you so much for your time and kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

After 4 nights in this great hotel in the old town of Hanoi i can recommend it to anyone. The rooms are excellent and clean equipped with a Computer inside even though there is a WiFi. The breakfast in the 8th floor is very good with a nice view over the old town. The staff is very friendly, forthcoming and helpful. No question was unanswered. Tuan at the Tourist information desk booked a trip to SaPa for me, which turned out to be one of the best experiences in Vietnam. Also he booked a flight and hotel in Saigon. It is definitely worth talking to him if your trip is not yet completely planned thoroughly.

Whenever i come back to Hanoi, this will be the first address.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZurichFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Stayed here for a total of 4 nights. The first two nights we stayed in a deluxe triple suite which was very spacious; came with a workstation plus computer, seperate lounge area and a huge bathroom with a spa/shower/steam room. The water pressure in the bathroom was a little weak and the multiple buttons and fancy knobs in the shower/spa were a little tricky. The airconditioning wasn't particularly efficient at cooling such a large space, so half of the room was a little hot and sticky, whille the other half was ice cold.
After two nights, we took a trip to Sapa and the hotel kept our bags for us. On our return at 5am in the morning, they also provided us with a room to shower and also breakfast before we took off again for Halong Bay. Again they kept our bags safely for us while we were away, and when we got back from the second trip, we were given a triple room.
The triple room was certainly a few steps down from the suite. With three of us plus luggage it was quite the tight squeeze, and not enough desk/table space for us. The bathroom was clean, but the shower temperature turned hot and cold sporadically.

All the staff here were extremely helpful and spoke quite good english. The boys on the door provide wonderful and personal service, and reception staff were always very willing to help. There are 2 computers with internet access in the lobby, and staff serve you water while you are using them.

Breakfast is on the top floor with great views over the city and also the lake. They have a mix of Vietnamese and European options; beef noodle soup, spring rolls, dumplings, pancakes, baguettes, toast, cereal, eggs, fruit and juice, tea and coffee. The food is constantly being replinished and staff are always on hand. There isn't a lot of seating though, which is a problem when the hotel is full (especially if there is a tour group needing to leave the hotel at the same time). One morning a few people couldn't find a seat at breakfast and had to wait.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the lake. great location. Definately would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.3 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin II Hotel

Address: 402 Pho Lo Ren Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam (Formerly Indochina II Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $42 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin II hotel offers you comfortable accommodation with Eastern traditional decoration. Close to the hotel you also find plenty of western and local restaurants, bars, ATM and other interesting places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing