We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Miss This Hotel The Reviews were all true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artisan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #44 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Essendon, Australia
1 review
“Do Not Miss This Hotel The Reviews were all true”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What made this hotel stay great was not just its position, just near the lake and the old quarter, its clean rooms, superb restaurant just next door but the attentive, helpful and always smiling staff, ably led and directed by our wonderful friend Kris.
This hotel was a stand out in our 4 week trip around Vietnam.On our first contact through Trip Advisor we recieved an email back from Kris confirming our arrangements, and pick up at the airport. We booked 3 tours through this hotel, Sapa, Halong Bay and The Purfume Pagoda which were very competitively priced but also were custom made by Kris who knew expertly every detail of our tours from 1st hand knowledge. Even when there were minor alterations to our tour and our expectations Kris went out of his way to ensure we were happy and contented.As Molly would say "do yourself a favour" and stay at the Artisan, you will not be disappointed. Thanks again to Kris and his staff

Room Tip: This hotel is located in a relatively quite street, and we were never bothered by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    152
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
208
73
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Artisan Boutique Hotel is a comfortable, centrally-located hotel with friendly, helpful and smiling staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our five nights and six days there. We were upgraded to the Penthouse - cosy and well-appointed with balcony and three sides of full windows overlooking Hanoi. We loved it. Two doors down the street is the cafe which is also associated with the Artisan. It's handy, good food, the staff are fantastic (like at the Artisan), and they make terrific fruit juices/smoothies.
Tour bookings were offered, but we were certainly not pushed. A visit to the Perfume Pagoda was suggested, which we initially declined, then decided to go there. We made up our own minds to go, and are really glad we did.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony enable you to watch the passing parade, and see people going about their lives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is located in the old quarter. It is a great location for walking, sightseeing, and shopping. Breakfast is next door and very good. Our second stay here was as good as the first. I would and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Immediately after arriving the staff was extremely pushy in trying to get us to book a tour to Halong Bay with them (as they know that everyone who goes to Hanoi goes to Halong Bay). We wanted to choose a reputable operator after hearing some stories about paying a lot and getting a little for the tours, so we politely declined. We wanted to stay for two nights, but they then told us that they only had one room for one night, so it made more sense to go to Halong Bay with them; the tactic is that they tell you the hotel is full, so you'll book your tour with them to avoid the hassle and stay with them upon your return. After checking on 'Booking.com', because we'd heard of this tactic, we saw there were in fact several rooms available. When we confronted them about this, they said it was a mistake. We then told them we would be checking out tomorrow. After they awkwardly looked around and at each other in response, the concierge said okay. Five minutes later, we received a phone call to our room indicating that a room had just become available, so we were welcome to stay 2 nights if we wanted to.

While this is quite common with Hotels in Hanoi (we heard) it does not exactly indicate that you're going to be getting a great deal. Otherwise, the hotel was fine, fruit plate in the room was a nice touch, good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 7th floor looking out to the lake. View was great but there were ants in the room -- bed floor walls everywhere. And we asked at the front desk and they didn't so anything and just told is its because if typhoon is coming. The furnitures are old and bad quality. Breakfast was just okay. They didn't show up at the airport although we had already arranged and confirmed with them via email.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Really a fantastic hotel in a superb location. Great breakfast and restaurant! The staff are also very helpful with making tour bookings to Halong Bay and other attractions. Looking forward to staying here again on my next visit to Hanoi!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel in a little more than 2 years. On this current trip, my wife and I utilized the hotel as our "Hanoi Headquarters" for our trip to Northern Vietnam and Halong Bay. We first stayed a couple days touring Hanoi and then went to Halong Bay for a 4d/3n cruise and then returned to the hotel for a few more days. After this brief stop we then traveled to Ninh Binh for 4 nights and 3 nights in Cuc Phong National Park and then returned to this hotel. Whenever we left the hotel we left some luggage that was not needed where we were heading. When we returned each time our left luggage was waiting for us and was quickly transported to our room.

Our stays on this trip were very good. The hotel is centrally located in the Old Quarter and was clean and quiet. Check-in were quick and efficient with our luggage swiftly taken to our rooms. We were provided complimentary wine, cake and flowers! For breakfasts a small, related café adjacent to the hotel was utilized and the staff of the restaurant were always very cheerful and helpful and the selected meals were excellent. In fact, we had one evening meal at the café that was very good. The a/c was very good and a laptop was provide free and the speed was quite good.

Airport pick-up was perfect. The staff at the hotel were very good and friendly and especially the very bright and cheerful young lady who manned the front desk during the daytime and who was better than excellent. I believe her name is "Nyung" or very close to that. Her English was excellent and she went out of her way to search for items we were looking to purchase and guided us to the selected locations. She also arranged ground transport and provided advice on many matters. She was certainly a very "bright light" for the hotel.

When we returned from Ninh Binh we were surprised and put up in the penthouse for 3 nights and which was huge, clean and very quiet.

We have no problem on highly recommending this hotel as your "place away from home" if and when you chose to visit Hanoi in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to spurge a bit suggest you select the penthouse that is extremely spacious and looks ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#102 of 578 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#167 of 578 in Hanoi
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#49 of 578 in Hanoi
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#34 of 577 in Hanoi
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madame Moon Hotel
Madame Moon Hotel
#40 of 577 in Hanoi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Boutique Hotel

Property: Artisan Boutique Hotel
Address: 24 - 26 Hang Hanh, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Golden Sunrise Hà Nội)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Hanoi. Located on the calm street of Hang Hanh, just beside the Hoan Kiem Lake - the heart of Hanoi old quarter. Soaring 9 stories and touching the blue sky, guests can enjoy the splendid view of the city from our 9th floor Sunrise Restaurant where you get served great daily buffet breakfast in the morning. Both hotels are jointly owned and operated by Australians Sean and Peter, and Ninh (Sun) and his lovely wife Thuy (Jenny) and offers guests, quality and stylish accommodation at reasonable rates and service that is second to none. Accommodation at the Artisan Boutique Hotel ranges from our lower priced, but no less comfortable and stylish, double rooms, to our Executive rooms on the eighth floor, with balcony, a view of Hoan Kiem Lake and double glazing for a silent night's sleep, The Artisan Penthouse is also available for bookings: with 360degree views of the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake, this luxurious accommodation is perfect for honeymooners, business executives, families or indeed anyone who is looking for something really special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artisan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunrise Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Kim Hoang Gia Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing