We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artisan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #44 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location, okay hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located in the tourist precinct of Hanoi. It is well located - a short stroll from the Night Markets, Hoan Kiem Lake, shops, cafes etc. If you are considering booking a group tour to Halong Bay, the tour guide should be able to pick you up from the hotel. Staff were friendly, though their English was a little poor. Breakfast (included in the price) was in the neighbouring cafe, and was quite nice - give the crepes and mango juice a try. The hotel offered free wifi, and they provided us with a laptop for the room when we requested (the laptop was from the early 2000s and was really slow - but was alright for checking emails etc).

Our room was quite rundown, and not nearly as nice as the professional pictures. Also, the bathroom had no ventilation and so there seemed to be a damp/mouldy smell in the room. It's a noisy street, and it can be difficult to get a good night's sleep at times.

All in all - good value for money, but nothing luxurious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oods11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    153
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
211
73
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Hotel is OK for the price. Though no luxury accommodation. Staff is friendly and everything is clean. The Hotel has a good breakfast with compared to asian standard SUPERB cappucino. The Street is quiet and a very good starting place for your trips around the city. Near the Hoa Kiem lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diskOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Hanoi, small street in between the Hoan Kiem lake and the old town, with many restaurants and bars, but reasonably calm at night. Virtually no noise from outside.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, my bathroom was huge and everything worked perfectly well. Small balcony where you can watch the street, which is lively but not noisy. My room was a double one at 45$, I do not expect better for this price.
A friend had a cheaper room at the top of the hotel, with no real window (opening on the stairs!), this was at 35$ but when we protested that it was not good the price went down to 30$. Ask for a good room, not for the cheapest one...
The employees were very friendly, and efficiently helpful. We arrived a few days before the date of our reservation, the Artisan hotel was full, but they found rooms for us in a hotel very close, that was correct, and they took care of all luggage handling from one place to the other. They organized for us one day of a rented car with driver to the West Pagodas, one day of a tour trip to the Perfume Pagoda, taxi back to the airport, etc. The prices (after some bargain) were good, and the services were excellent.
We had interesting conversations with the employees, who are ease in english and glad to chat about Vietnam and vietnamese life.
This is definitely a nice place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the town without the drawback of being on a street jammed with motorcycles, a place where you may feel confident and ask for advices for your stay and your trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueLunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for a few nights before moving on as pasrt of our trip but upon our return a few days later the "Artisan" was our hotel of choice. The staff are all friendly and so so helpful with trip and travel bookings. Unlike other hotels which only have a plain in-house room for meals the artisan has its own cafe/restaurant one door away in the street. To sit upstairs on the balcony and sip $4AUS cocktails and watch true local life in the street go by is to die for.
So much is waiting for you to explore just outside your door but with a quiet retreat feel once inside gives you a chance to sleep in quiet which you don't get with other main street hotels, 5/5 from me !

Room Tip: At the front for the veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We found this hotel while out walking around Hanoi. Quite charming from the outside. Asked if they had availability for two nights in the future. Offered us the penthouse for the dates and so we left a deposit. Several days later when we came back to check in they informed us the penthouse was not available (even though our receipt specifically reserved that room). It was a rather slimly move as the other rooms in the hotel are no where near as nice. Had to walk around fro an hour to find another hotel that had rooms on New Years Eve. Don't go here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed only for a night in Dec 2012.
Positives :
Friendly and courteous staff. Very helpful. They arranged advance tickets for us for the Water puppet show.
Comfortable room
Good location of hotel

Negatives :
Hotel is nothing great. No boutique feel to it. Rather narrow building (which may be case with other Hanoi hotels as well)
After staying in other hotels in Vietnam, I think the price was steep for Artisan, I am sure you can find similar hotels for cheaper price.
Never get your flight or other tickets booked from them. I got my flight tickets to HoChiMinh from them and they overcharged a lot. I checked the prices on internet later and they were 20$ cheaper than what i paid to them. THats too much commission. I am so sorry i trusted them to book tickets for me coz it costed me 40$ for two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed quite a few times in this area of Hanoi and this is my best hotel choice yet. The street is very conveniently located and the street is quiet at night. So, although I wondered about noise keeping me awake, it turned out not to be a problem.

The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. I had met many of them at a previous hotel in the same area - it was by using the online address for that hotel, now closed, that I came across this one.

I ranked the room at 4 only because of the bathroom. It is more than adequate but has the usual plumbing problems found in most SE Asian hotels. It's impossible not to spray water everywhere, the bath is steep and there's no handrail to grab in the slippery conditions. But the water was hot and the shower head worked.

Breakfast is available from the associated restaurant two doors down the street. There was confusion the first morning and I did not get the menu for hotel guests so ended up with the breakfast added to my account. All cleared up by a senior staff member the second morning. The restaurant food is excellent and good value.

Sheets and towels were excellent quality and very clean, the fridge is not turned off when you are out during the day, two small bottles of water are provided free daily and the staff were very helpful in getting reliable taxis to take me to several appointments.

Can't ask much more really. I'd give it four and a half stars it such a category were available.

Room Tip: The lifts stop a few steps below room entrances. Choose a room with fewer steps if your mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#104 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#50 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#165 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#93 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#33 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#35 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Boutique Hotel

Property: Artisan Boutique Hotel
Address: 24 - 26 Hang Hanh, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Golden Sunrise Hà Nội)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Hanoi. Located on the calm street of Hang Hanh, just beside the Hoan Kiem Lake - the heart of Hanoi old quarter. Soaring 9 stories and touching the blue sky, guests can enjoy the splendid view of the city from our 9th floor Sunrise Restaurant where you get served great daily buffet breakfast in the morning. Both hotels are jointly owned and operated by Australians Sean and Peter, and Ninh (Sun) and his lovely wife Thuy (Jenny) and offers guests, quality and stylish accommodation at reasonable rates and service that is second to none. Accommodation at the Artisan Boutique Hotel ranges from our lower priced, but no less comfortable and stylish, double rooms, to our Executive rooms on the eighth floor, with balcony, a view of Hoan Kiem Lake and double glazing for a silent night's sleep, The Artisan Penthouse is also available for bookings: with 360degree views of the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake, this luxurious accommodation is perfect for honeymooners, business executives, families or indeed anyone who is looking for something really special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artisan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sunrise Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Kim Hoang Gia Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing