We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious meal”

Hanoi Garden Restaurant
Ranked #213 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at the heart of the Old Quarter, Hanoi Garden is truly an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the town. Established in 1998, we have gained our reputation for consistently serving fine food.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delicious meal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went restaurant with my friends, the food was good. The staff friendly, but sometime they busy talking to colleagues. And they don't care when I called them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    148
    46
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good selection of food, this resturant was suggested by our hotel and we were not dissappointed,,, plenty of menu choice, nice garden setting, friendly staff.
Meal for 2 was less than $30

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad luck with the food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I went there for dinner with a Hanoi friend of mine because the location was perfect, just around the corner from my hotel - and the setting in a garden like backyard pleasant and peaceful.

Prices were definitely on the expensive side (and I did not see any Vietnamese guests, accordingly). Service was not always very attentive.

As I was not really hungry but mainly wanted to sit and chat I ordered fried noodles with seafood. My friend had fried noodles with vegetables. She had no problems later. But I did. Fever and diarrhoea. Sadly, I even had to postpone my next trip as I was glued to the toilet for quite some days.

I really do not want to hurt anyone's business. It was bad luck. But I am not sure if the seafood was maybe not fresh enough or there was a lack of hygiene in the kitchen (something very common in Vietnam by the way).

My problem was traceable to Hanoi Garden - as I had not eaten anything else all day and the cramps and fever started a few hours after dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Banskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Two friends and I planned to go to La' Restaurant (see my review of La' which is one of the best in Hanoi) on our first night here but one found Hanoi Garden during a walk. You enter to an open patio/garden and there is indoor seating as well. We chose to eat in the "garden" as it was a very comfortable night. It was about half full when we got there about 7 PM but it quickly filled up. The most noticeable thing we immediately saw was there was not an Asian face in the place. We thought, this is not good if the locals don't go there.

The service was pretty good but somewhat harried with the full restaurant.

The food was very good---especially the squid, fresh spring rolls, and a steamed fish. The steamed fish was supposed to be snapper but did not look at all close in looks to the snapper family. Nevertheless, it was excellent, whatever it was.

Overall, very good and I would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Worth Eating Here”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The restaurant is approached through a 20+ metres recess from the street. When you enter the Garden Vuon there are two options, inside or outside, both catering for about 40-50 people. The inside is standard fare with tables for 2, 4, 8 etc, covered in clean white table cloths and slatted wooden chairs. The outside area is a different experience altogether, there is the standard seating as indoors, but one wall has been transformed into a 7 metres high water fall, the width of the outside are and has plantings of numerous mature palms and other tropical plants.
The food is of a very high standard, well cooked and with more subtle flavouring than other restaurants that our group has encountered in Hanoi, and the vegetables are fresh and not overcooked. The servings are of a good size and the meats are very tender.
Pricing is good and is one of the best value for money restaurants we have found. Definitely worth seeking out as it is centrally located in the Old Quarter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing