We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quan An Ngon

Quan An Ngon
Ranked #70 of 2,169 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Grill, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was excellent. A mix of tourists and locals. Staff was very helpful teaching us how to eat the different dishes. They catered for me who is a vegetarian as well as the other carnivores in my family. It is an outdoor area and does get crowded.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brokeafterthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,916
    1,426
    381
    127
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quan an ngon is one of the best restaurants in Hanoi. It has 4 restaurants in 18 Phan Bội Châu, Hoàn Kiếm, Hoàng Đạo Thúy, Phan Đình Phùng and Nguyễn Trãi street. My house near Nguyen trai , that is the reason why I often go Quan an ngon to enjoy its food in the weekend with my friends. Only in a restaurant can I feel relax and eat food in the comfortable way, almost decoration is made by wood, customers can feel as natural when coming to this restaurant. I am very interested in Quan an ngon and suggest you to visit it at least one time when coming to Hanoi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gastronomical Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were not intending to go here specifically, after a long sweaty day trip on foot, we were famished and were looking for a place to quench the thirst and fill the tummy. We saw this place and went in & it was wow fast service we ordered for cold bottle of water and dome coconut juice just before we seated. As we got comfortable the drinks were there along with the menu. Staff took time to explain the menu and after briefly telling her what we were after she placed the order for us and the food cdm in super fast - spring rolls, chicken pho, grilled pork, & stir fry noodles - wow they were just so delicious. We gobbled it all; lip smacking degustation. The waitress knew precisely what we were after! Try the grilled pork & herbs with dry noodles with dipping sauce. The flavours - delicate, subtle and yet boastful! Highly recommended ... As many have said - certainly one of the top 5 Vietnamese restaurants I've tried in Vietnam

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TusharKelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear TusharKelkar,

Thank you very much for your heartfelt comment for your latest dining experience at Quan An Ngon Hanoi. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and service. And we look forward welcoming you in the near future for your upcoming trip to Vietnam.

Kindest Regards,
Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and were immediately taken in by the atmosphere. Food stalls surround the tables in a garden-style setting under shade sails. Food was good, although we did suffer a bit from a lack of knowledge of the dishes and staff did not speak much English to help. Price was reasonable, not cheap... but we did indulge with some desserts too... the steamed banana in coconut milk was excellent!! If anything staff were a little too attentive so we felt rushed, probably understandable given that it was full and we had to wait for a table. Worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Marfee,

Thank you so much for your valuable comment about your latest experience at Quan An Ngon Ha Noi. It is our pleasure to hear that you have been enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at Quan An Ngon Ha Noi. Regarding to the staff, please rest assured that all of issues of language barrier were discussed with the relevant department for further training to improve our service.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant for your upcoming visit to Vietnam.

Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were taken to this place by the Manager of the hotel at which we stayed so I am not sure how much it cost us - but the food was brilliant. It is a huge restaurant that is teaming with staff and we were attended like visiting royalty (maybe because of our hostess's reputation). The food came quite quickly and was really yummy. I ate some things I had never tried before, but also tried some dishes that I had tasted elsewhere - and here they shone at a new level (the crispy prawn pancakes fro example). The best food I had in Vietnam by far in a wonderful atmosphere. The only thing I would suggest is don't try their specialty drink - something with jelly pieces, fruit and whatever else they could cram into it - weird mixture and textures that don't go down well to a westerners pallet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhysw552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear rhysw55,

Thank you for spending time on sharing your experience at Quan An Ngon with us. We are glad to know that you had good experience at Quan An Ngon. Regarding the dish that you mention at Quan An Ngon, it's one of our favourite dishes that is really well known. However, it may not be your taste so we would like to suggest you to take a look at our "Trip Advisor favour" leaflet on the table before ordering. It is the list that we collect from the Trip Advisor community regarding favourite dishes for foreigners especially who try Vietnamese dishes for the first time.

Thank you so much and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan An Ngon also viewed

 

Been to Quan An Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing