We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC local fare in a comfortable setting”
Review of Quan An Ngon

Quan An Ngon
Ranked #77 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC local fare in a comfortable setting”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food absolutely makes this place - menus with descriptive english, a huge range of choices, very good value, incredibly delicious food. We did not in the end eat street fare more than a steamed bun here and there, but this place afforded us the opportunity to try Vietnamese food in a setting we could understand. There was always someone there speaking slightly better English if you have questions and the waitrons can do so adequately enough for purpose. We ate here 4 times during our stay and unanimously it was wonderful! Wish I could access the same back home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MildlyMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear MildlyMyself,

We are delighted to know that you had good experience at Quan An Ngon. It's our pleasure to bring you the most authentic dishes of Vietnam and don't forget to come back and visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thank and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,991
    1,495
    405
    131
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick and Authentic”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had quite a walk looking for this restaurant. It was along a main road but a bit far from Hoan Kiem Lake. We ended up following some other foreigners who seemed to be going in the same direction and sure enough, they were heading here too. Reservation is not a must but will be very helpful since this restaurant is jammed packed, for good reason.

The atmosphere is like that of a home, backyard party with many guests sitting on long tables. The food are prepared in stall stations lined around the restaurant's "front yard". This is a fun way for guests to see how their food is prepared and the amazing array of ingredients. The menu has english translations and although the staff may have some difficulty speaking english, they're ready to serve.

The food is simple, quick and easily enjoyed. They serve a variety of pho noodles and wraps that are light on the stomach but can pack great flavor with the right amount of herbs and sauce. Much of the food is pre-prepared in large batches and ready for assembly so it doesn't take much time for your food to arrive. But this doesn't affect the freshness of your meal at all since many of them are fresh vegetables and quickly cooked protein for you to wrap in rice paper.

I suggest to get a table outside and see the bustle and be in the middle of all the "action".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Gin C,

It's our pleasure to get your complimentary on Trip Advisor. Thank you for spending time at Quan An Ngon and we are glad to know that you had good experience here.

Don't forget to come back and visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good and fun!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really good food, quite cheap and really fun to stay and watch how they prepare food!
Sure not the romantic place or the nicest view of Hanoi, but it's all about food! Loved the pancakes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanuela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Emanuela D.

Thank you for your sharing about Quan An Ngon on Trip Advisor. It's our pleasure to bring you the best food of Vietnam and we're glad to hear that you love our place.

Don't forget to come back to visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koriyama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GOOD BUFFET CHOICE”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Various, Clean and Authentic local food with interesting arrangement, with the areas of food preparation set up. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very localized with a mix crowd of both locals & tourists. Additionally, the staff were very helpful in making suggestions. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHUN250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Chun C,

Thank you for recommending Quan An Ngon to the whole Trip Advisor Community. We are delighted to know that you had good experience at Quan An Ngon. However, please kindly be noticed that, even though we offer and extensive menu, we don't serve buffet as you mentioned in the title.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Biggest Menu You'll Ever See”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This may be a daunting place to go if you have no idea what types of Vietnamese food you are interested in. Not only is the menu big but the restaurant is pretty massive too. I went here twice and I swear the place is a mint - always full, high turnover, and just a giant restaurant. It's just cool to go here and see the production of chefs surrounding all of the bench-style tables with 50 some-odd servers walking around.

Regardless, food was very good quality - we tried a solid 6 or 7 dishes on the menu in all and I'd say most of them hit the spot. There's some very obscure things here too, so it's a good place to feel adventurous. Go here with the right expectations, though. The style of the restaurant is more akin to that of street food with prices to match. If you're looking for a higher-end experience, this isn't the place. But if you want good quality Vietnamese food where you can get pretty much all of the classics that any Westerner would dare try, then you should pay this restaurant a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Scott H,

Thank you so much for taking time to share with us about your experience at Quan An Ngon. We are delighted to hear that you had good experience here. Don'y forget to come back to visit us next time when you have free time.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan An Ngon also viewed

 

Been to Quan An Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing