We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best I had”
Review of Pho Gia Truyen

Pho Gia Truyen
Ranked #35 of 2,258 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best I had”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Big queue of locals is evidence enough this place is good. 50k for a big bowl with two types of beef and bags of flavour. Go here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJDGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    102
    29
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went looking for an authentic Vietnamese Pho restaurant and decided to try after seeing how many locals were slurping on a steaming bowl of Pho Bo. Ordered 2 bowls of Pho Bo with my girlfriend and sat shoulder to shoulder with locals (we were the only foreigners in there) and got stuck into the tasty broth with amazingly tender beef. Lots of flavour and was a decent size for $2.50. Restaurant is dirty and doesn't look very appealing but this is part of the appeal of the place. Don't be a snob and give it a go as you won't believe how good it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dookie_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unforgettable pho”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is the best pho I've ever had. Went there around 6.30AM. Some people were already there having their pho. Ordered pho tai nam, the most expensive menu they have, paid $2 for one bowl of pho with 2 kind of meat. The pho is perfect, especially for breakfast !! Love it. Will surely go to Hanoi again for this pho.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silviahtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely the best pho in Hanoi”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I heard about Pho Gia Truyen several times but only managed to try it last weekend. There was quite a long queue when I arrived. Fortunately the owner work very efficiently so I don't have to wait long. When I taste the pho, it definitely worth the wait under the cold weather. The broth is excellent and meat is generous. On the table they have choices of vinegar and chili sauce, I tried the chili sauce and it's a good combination with the broth. The only thing I would like them to improve probably use less MSG because it always left me with strange after taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having eaten Pho Bo all over Vietnam and the world imho this is the best Pho Bo that I have eaten by far. The soup is divine and the beef is tender. And the ambience (which a number of reviewers have negative feelings) enhances the taste. Just the way street food should be eaten. In my stay in Hanoi I have been here THREE TIMES for breakfast! I have also tried Pho 10 but it doesn't compare. Now that I am back in Sydney I still dream about this heavenly bowl of Pho Bo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lookingfornirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Gia Truyen also viewed

 

Been to Pho Gia Truyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing