We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nam Phuong

Nam Phuong
Ranked #429 of 2,204 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were looking for a local restaurant, and at first sidestepped this as it had very noisy music blaring from the front of it. However, as we had not found anything else, we returned and checked that the music was not audible inside, and went in to give it a try.
Everything we ordered was beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious, and the ambience was great. A very classy restaurant, but expensive by Vietnamese standards at $50 USD for 2 of us, including 3 beers...but cheap by Australian standards!
We would definitely have gone again, but it was our last night before returning home.
RAM is the manager, and an outlandish person!
In my opinion, this restaurant deserves to be much more highly rated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbcabroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I think the food taste alright especially the seafood spring roll and cheese bake lobster. However, I think it is over price. Lobster is almost USD120/kg if I am not wrong. Myself and 3 guests order. Spring Roll, Cheese Bake Lobster, and Fried Rice with some fruit juice eventually cost us around USD300++

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_LoverFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The best tamarind soft shell crab. Great atmosphere service and variety of food on offer. Every thing we ate was outstanding.Must eat one meal there in Hanoi. You can carry your own liquor and they have a good selection of beverages also.

Helpful?
Thank peejay2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi/vietnam
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“this restaurant is dagerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I eat many times here but 60% of the time i got diarhea. Food is good but not hygene. Maybe they have change something in recent time or i will never come back.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
““a more refined local dining experience””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was just in Hanoi for a short business trip and was invited to the Nam Phuong for dinner by a local associate.

Hanoi still has some great examples of French colonial architecture and the restaurant sits nicely inside the former French quarter. I was told that the Nam Phuong has hosted many top level diplomats and high profile guests in its time so was rather interested to see if the food and service would live up to some lofty expectations.

In a nutshell, the ambience, food and service didn’t disappoint. The food was well presented and tasty and service genuine and smooth. The menu prices were high by local standards but reasonable in the context of the quality of location, food and service - matching the clientele which seemed to be mostly business people, some locals and a few tourists (not on backpacker budgets). There were many interesting local dishes so it was difficult to choose. I ended up ordering the grilled beef in bamboo which was tender and aromatic. I didn’t order a dessert and only drank sparkling water with my meal.

Keep this place in mind for a more refined local dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nam Phuong also viewed

 

Been to Nam Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing