We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sample of Vietnamese food”

Le Tonkin Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #284 of 2,187 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good sample of Vietnamese food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

this was our lunch stop while on day tour of vietnam with Dang ofg Tours by Locals and it gave uis a good sampling of soime local Vietnamese foods.
Service was good and serving sizes ample.
The building was an old French Colonial building and well preserved with berautiful agrdens.
Worth visiting for lunch experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwe003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    69
    27
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“appalling and worst treatment in a restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife ordered beef veg and noodle and rice. Noodles came cold rest hot. Wife explained cold. head waiter shouted at my wife saying that "how we serve it and if want can put it in micro wave" which she accepted. In 18 days never had hot food with cold noodles. The rice that came with the meal was not warmed up but left on table to get cold till reheated food came.

Mine- squid with vegatables on 2 skewre- agreed with waiter no chili. When came all meat with miniscule squid. I was told that is what I ordered (pork squid and veg) so got menue. Showed order just squid and veg which waiter accepted. Also sauce so hot could not eat- full of chilli

Agreed to have squid and veg with sauce-lime vinigar and sugar. Squid was okay but sauce was mix of prawn cocktail combined with chinese red sauce- Just eat squid and left sauce.

Expected and paid bill in full as on holiday and not want to spoil our holiday any more than it had.

when left head waiter just walked by ignoring us- no apology or other suitable words

AVOID

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were invited to Le Tonkin by a friend who had eaten there previously and he had really enjoyed the food and the ambience. I really liked the historical setting and the decor as a number of reviewers have pointed out and this was really the standout of the visit. I enjoyed my food although my two companions weren't bowled over by their choices. I think a restaurant which looks that good means you anticiapte brilliant food. Service was efficient if not enthusiastic and it felt a bit odd as we had the inside room to ourselves. I made the mistake of going to the restroom and passing the kitchen. Not a good experience. The management really need to upgrade/clean the facilities if they want to maintain a reputation as a decent restaurant in a capital city. There really is no excuse for poor toilets these days surely? A mixed review really. This should be a great restaurant - it has everything going for it but at the moment it's only good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gone !”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice setting in an Old Colonial Mansion... but a vietnamese cuisine without the modern touch needed nowadays. Expensive & it seems we were the only customers for the whole evening... not surprising though !
Do not go !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joamiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience with authentic Vietnamese live music but poor service and average food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Le Tonkin has a beautiful outside courtyard that makes you feel like you are tucked away from the noisy chaotic hustle and bustle of dirty Hanoi. This large restaurant has several levels and the first time we were there it was all locals.
The manager is a warm and gentle man who patiently explains many of the over 100 menu options. The rest of the staff appear inpatient and completely disinterested. On the first visit we watched a young Vietnamese man and woman play authentic Vietnamese music and it was lovely and charming. We really enjoyed our food choices and the evening. Upon our second visit the same Maître d' went over our menu choices again. If it weren't for him the service would be abysmal. We had several people deal with us but no one consistently waited on our table although we are the only person in that particular room. We had to wait a long time for bill and finally I had to get up and look for someone to get it. The food the second time was an interesting array of choices although I felt it was mediocre at best. This time we heard the same couple playing outside in the courtyard which was more suitable to us as it was quite loud on our first visit.
My recommendation to LeTonkin is instead of offering over 100 choices and doing them in a mediocre fashion to offer a quarter of that and do them well.
The atmosphere, live music, and quaint nature of this restaurant makes it overall worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tonkin Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Le Tonkin Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing