We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst service in vietnam!”
Review of La Salsa

La Salsa
Ranked #480 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst service in vietnam!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we fancied a change from pho bo so decided to splash out and try this restaurant as it looked so lovely. We had a lovely view of the cathedral from the 2nd floor balcony HOWEVER our waiter soon disappeared (when he wasnt totally absorbed in his phone and studiously ignoring our piled up dirty plates)and we had to keep walking up and downstairs to order more food and drinks. we had tapas and the food was nice, but very small portions (even for tapas!!) especially for the price!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    60
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great little bar/restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This restaurant is located very close to Hanoi Cathedral (the balcony upstairs has a view of the cathedral front) and is very popular. It offers decent food and a good selection of drinks. It's a great escape from the chaos of Hanoi after a few hours of touring the streets of the Old Quarter and the endless game of "dodge the mopeds".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely French food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We loved the atmosphere and decor in this little gem. Stick to the French classics and you won't be disapointed. The Cassoulet is the best we'd tasted outside of France and the duck and carpaccio are excellent. You can tell there's an authentic French hand in those dishes. Pasta and Goats cheese were a little underwhelming but all over great value and well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapa, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“THE BEST TAPAS”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The best Tapas, friendly staffs, great atmostphere, good wine, perfect sangria and music . I been here maybe 10 times and i will come back, Thanks La Salsa!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caumay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A bar with half hearted food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you're a smoker who like a beer (or three) then this might be just the place for you. Unfortunatley it bills itself as an up-market eatery and is listed in trip advisor as 'french' although this is essentially a tapas bar.
The food quality is not high. Neither in presentation nor substance. I was told that 'potatoes' would accompany my meal - I got chips or more acurately french fries (and not very good ones)
Go there for a few beers, a smoke and some snacks - don't go for dinner - there are literally hundreds of better or more interesting places to eat in the streets surrounding this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solar_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salsa also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to La Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing