We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place for ice cream”
Review of Fanny

Fanny
Ranked #14 of 82 Dessert in Hanoi
Price range: $2 - $40
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Not far from the previous Fanny ice cream parlor near Hoan Kiem Lake, new Fanny ice cream parlor located at 51 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoan Kiem District (at the corner of Ly Thuong Kiet and Quang Trung Street) is more spacious with 2 indoor elegant levels and a wide outdoor sitting space. New Fanny ice cream parlor with nice and delicious French ice cream combine with professional staffs will bring to customers the best experience ever.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We received a recommendation to come to Fanny's Ice Cream. Everything on the menu looked great! However, the ice cream flavors were okay. Nothing too special, and the flavors weren't as rich as I expected. I ordered the Microrazon Amazon with white chocolate, strawberry, and mulberry. The dish came out of the freezer so it was too hard to eat. Had to let it thaw for a few minutes in order to enjoy. I'm surprised the waitress served us something so hard!

Pretty expensive for ice cream, especially for the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KeroppiQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear KeroppiQueen, thank you for your visit and review for us on Tripadvisor. We will take your idea seriously about how hard for you to eat the Micorazon specialty and may develop some ideas for improvement. Thank you again to support us and hope you will continue to visit Fanny in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went there today (note that if you have an older Lonely Planet - the address is wrong). We ordered two ice cream treats - spring roll and wonder nest. They were so delicious and wonderfully prepared. We then ordered the banana boat.

My only advice - don't go BEFORE dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JillinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear JillinSingapore, thank you for your time to visit and review us on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our ice cream specialties. We hope that you will visit us again before leaving Ho Chi Minh City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here twice in a day and could well end up returning again. The desserts are over-the-top fun and there's definitely something for everyone (assuming you like ice cream…)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmythieSmythington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear SmythieSmythington, we are really happy to hear that you enjoy our ice cream and such a pleasure for us to have an ice cream lover to support us like you did. We hope to see you very soon in the future and Fanny always welcome you. Thank you again for your visit and review for Fanny on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We came on Monday evening 7:15 PM so not exactly closing time.

The place was a mess, the waitresses were more concentrated in picking their nose and chatting on their hand phone.

One waiter was sleeping on the terrace in front of the customers (picture herewith he didn't even notice).

I ordered Café Liegois 97,000 VND (first ice cream on the menu so it's not a rare order). The Vietnamese coffee had certainly be prepared the day before because the taste was terrible.
My daughter had cookies & cream & caramel: cookies weren't even Oreo and the caramel had much more water than cream.

It used to be a very nice place but now there is no longer a professional management. Avoid that place at all costs except if you intend to dump your partner: in this case that could do the trick...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Brice B, we feel very sorry about the problems that you encountered at our parlor. I admit that the guy was sleeping at the terrace is our staff and it is our mistake that allow him to sleep there. However, he is just a maintenance guy and he is not a waiter. The second thing about the bad quality of the ice cream you and your daughter ordered that day, again, we admit it is our mistake and we really thank you for taking your time to communicate us on Tripadvisor while our ice cream quality did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincerest apology for making you suffer this experience. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us to prevent this problem from occurring again in the future and assist us to improve our total quality. We really want to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very surprised to find an excellent ice cream in Hanoi. Natural aromas, green tea and coconut flavour above all!!!
A little noise due children but accettable...after all they are the first customers of ice cream!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AntoSettantaSette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear AntoSettantaSette, thank you for your time to visit and review Fanny on Tripadvisor. We feel very happy to hear that you enjoyed our green tea and coconut ice cream. Also, we are sorry about the noise that made you feel uncomfortable. We hope that you will come back again to try our other flavors and specialties before leaving Ho Chi Minh City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanny also viewed

 
 

Been to Fanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing