We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Rubbish”
Review of Fanny

Fanny
Ranked #18 of 79 Dessert in Hanoi
Price range: $2 - $40
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Not far from the previous Fanny ice cream parlor near Hoan Kiem Lake, new Fanny ice cream parlor located at 51 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoan Kiem District (at the corner of Ly Thuong Kiet and Quang Trung Street) is more spacious with 2 indoor elegant levels and a wide outdoor sitting space. New Fanny ice cream parlor with nice and delicious French ice cream combine with professional staffs will bring to customers the best experience ever.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We came on Monday evening 7:15 PM so not exactly closing time.

The place was a mess, the waitresses were more concentrated in picking their nose and chatting on their hand phone.

One waiter was sleeping on the terrace in front of the customers (picture herewith he didn't even notice).

I ordered Café Liegois 97,000 VND (first ice cream on the menu so it's not a rare order). The Vietnamese coffee had certainly be prepared the day before because the taste was terrible.
My daughter had cookies & cream & caramel: cookies weren't even Oreo and the caramel had much more water than cream.

It used to be a very nice place but now there is no longer a professional management. Avoid that place at all costs except if you intend to dump your partner: in this case that could do the trick...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Brice B, we feel very sorry about the problems that you encountered at our parlor. I admit that the guy was sleeping at the terrace is our staff and it is our mistake that allow him to sleep there. However, he is just a maintenance guy and he is not a waiter. The second thing about the bad quality of the ice cream you and your daughter ordered that day, again, we admit it is our mistake and we really thank you for taking your time to communicate us on Tripadvisor while our ice cream quality did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincerest apology for making you suffer this experience. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us to prevent this problem from occurring again in the future and assist us to improve our total quality. We really want to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Fanny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very surprised to find an excellent ice cream in Hanoi. Natural aromas, green tea and coconut flavour above all!!!
A little noise due children but accettable...after all they are the first customers of ice cream!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AntoSettantaSette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear AntoSettantaSette, thank you for your time to visit and review Fanny on Tripadvisor. We feel very happy to hear that you enjoyed our green tea and coconut ice cream. Also, we are sorry about the noise that made you feel uncomfortable. We hope that you will come back again to try our other flavors and specialties before leaving Ho Chi Minh City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

They had a good range of flavours, but we weren't impressed with the flavour at all. Everything looked much better on the menu.

The service wasn't great either. To make matters worse the paint was peeling off the walls and there was a huge damp patch on a corner. On top of that you could see a lot of dead insects inside the lampshade.

I wouldn not go back there and I wish i'd never been.

It looks like the type of place that was very good at some point, but it's past its prime and the venue is not taken care off or mantained.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amytao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Amytao01, thank you for your very useful review for Fanny on Tripadvisor, we are sorry about the problems about our parlor and our service that make you feel disappointed. We will fix those problems as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stumbled upon this whilst looking for a frozen yoghurt place. Took one look at the menu and we were sold. So many flavours (although some are seasonal) and so many intricate and pretty desserts made from different ice cream flavours! We had a few different things, all were delicious, and works of art as well. Definitely worth visiting. Nice to sit outside and enjoy the delicious (and cheap) ice-cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear PrincessBella67, thank you for your time to visit and review Fanny on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to that you enjoyed our ice cream and our place. We hope that you will come back again soon to try all of our new specialties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I try not to eat Ice Cream but my family thought this place was brilliant. Wide range and good quality.

1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannyicecream2013, Marketing Department at Fanny, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Christopher S, thank you for your time to visit and review us on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoy our ice cream. We hope to see you and your family soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanny also viewed

 

Been to Fanny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing