We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and fancy setting”
Review of Ly Club Hanoi

Ly Club Hanoi
Ranked #120 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Inspired by the legacy of this great dynasty, Ly Club invites our esteemed guests to enjoy a sensory feast by indulging in the tastes and textures of our innovative cuisine while opening their hearts and minds to the visual and acoustic pleasures of a variety of traditional Vietnamese performance art.
Grimaud, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fancy setting”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went there on our last evening after all the great and delicious street food, it was quite a change from the noisy city street corners. Wanted to try a fancy Vietnamese restaurant and enjoyed our meal there although found it over priced for Vietnam. The atmosphere was pleasant with nice and soft live music. The service was good and not too stuffy. The soft shell crab I ordered was the highlight of the meal. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailotuszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    175
    69
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fancy ambience, but over priced”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

didn't know such a fancy restaurant existed in hanoi and dropped in due to a lonely planet advice. it was refreshing to find a place that served cocktails and wine, but food was only average. we liked our appetizers (crab and pumpkin soup and banana-shrimp spring rolls) but our duck entree was on the dry side. dinner for two with drinks came out to $75, which would have gotten us a nicer meal in the US.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thanhophelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice location but average food and expensive”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner (2 couples) on a Saturday night to wrap up our stay in Hanoi

Location was great and decor was really nice

Food menu was quite interesting but the dishes were a bit average

Artichoke soup was bland, snapper was good but not fantastic, beef in bamboo was quite good

Overall a nice enough meal but don't expect fantastic taste and quite pricey at 170 USD for 4 with no wine

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank caribu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After reading some very good TripAdvisor reviews I was looking forward to visiting the Ly Club. Many reviews have praised the interesting decor, which whilst period-style does look a little tired. There was an unusual, subdued atmosphere more akin to a museum than a restaurant. The signature starter was interesting and good but the steak I ordered for my main was pretty ordinary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilLeivesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Ordered their set menu (if I recall, its Set Menu 3 from their fusion menu). There were some hits and misses, but overall it was still a rather pleasant meal. Their minced scallops were highly recommended, but I actually found it a bit lacking in scallop flavour. The steamed snowfish was fantastic - one of the best I have eaten so far. And their sauteed vegetables (cauliflower, broccoli, carrots) - something so plain and simple - was actually done very well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ly Club Hanoi also viewed

 

Been to Ly Club Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing